Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

HOW TO Decompile/Recompile /edit smali ICS

OP seanzscreams

23rd April 2012, 08:44 AM   |  #11  
roughneckboren's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag weatherford oklahoma
Thanks Meter: 591
 
964 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by silver03wrx

Those would be errors from .9pngs what were not edited properly on the decompile. And either same on recompile. Or xml errors.
Do u have the new aapt from the new sdk is also what i would make sure of .

---------- Post added at 01:46 AM ---------- Previous post was at 01:42 AM ----------

Also do apktool b -f SystemUI when u recompile

---------- Post added at 01:47 AM ---------- Previous post was at 01:46 AM ----------

And systemui/res\values doesnt look right

Systemui/res/values

Somethin funy going on with the /\ not a valid directory. / /

I have all the updated stuff and tried wanam's . Like I said I completely uninstalled and reinstalled the sdk and apktool files.
I've tried apktool b SystemUI.API, apktool -f........., but it won't matter if I can't decompile correctly right?
All of this is from the ROM I'm using(appdroids) and I've also tried to do a stock from with the same results.
I've put everything in my C:\ directory like every tutorial I've watched or read said to do. That's why I can't understand what I'm doing wrong.
I also have Ubuntu dual booted on my computer and still can't get it to work.

I really wanna figure this stuff out because I would love to start a ROM of my own.

Sent from my GT-P7510 using xda premium
Last edited by roughneckboren; 23rd April 2012 at 08:48 AM.
23rd April 2012, 09:08 AM   |  #12  
silver03wrx's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag westminster maryland
Thanks Meter: 2,688
 
3,314 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Donate to Me
More
Gots team viewer?
23rd April 2012, 11:33 AM   |  #13  
StolenVW's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Elizaville
Thanks Meter: 402
 
680 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by silver03wrx

Those would be errors from .9pngs what were not edited properly on the decompile. And either same on recompile. Or xml errors.
Do u have the new aapt from the new sdk is also what i would make sure of .

---------- Post added at 01:46 AM ---------- Previous post was at 01:42 AM ----------

Also do apktool b -f SystemUI when u recompile

---------- Post added at 01:47 AM ---------- Previous post was at 01:46 AM ----------

And systemui/res\values doesnt look right

Systemui/res/values

Somethin funy going on with the /\ not a valid directory. / /

The funny \ in the dir name is from not putting the new aapt into autoapktool dir.... I was getting that on recompile

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I727 using Tapatalk
23rd April 2012, 07:31 PM   |  #14  
roughneckboren's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag weatherford oklahoma
Thanks Meter: 591
 
964 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by silver03wrx

Gots team viewer?

No but it won't be hard to get

Sent from my GT-P7510 using xda premium
24th April 2012, 05:43 PM   |  #15  
slambkny's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
114 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by silver03wrx

Those would be errors from .9pngs what were not edited properly on the decompile. And either same on recompile. Or xml errors.
Do u have the new aapt from the new sdk is also what i would make sure of .

---------- Post added at 01:46 AM ---------- Previous post was at 01:42 AM ----------

Also do apktool b -f SystemUI when u recompile

---------- Post added at 01:47 AM ---------- Previous post was at 01:46 AM ----------

And systemui/res\values doesnt look right

Systemui/res/values

Somethin funy going on with the /\ not a valid directory. / /

Thanks for this. I'm trying to learn. I'm stuck tho. I decompiled my framework-Res.apk I made changes and rran compile script.
Now I have a file called singedframework-Res.apk
Please tell me what to do next so its ready to go back into the phone.Thank You

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-T989 using xda premium
25th April 2012, 02:24 AM   |  #16  
roughneckboren's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag weatherford oklahoma
Thanks Meter: 591
 
964 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Can anyone help?

Sent from my GT-P7510 using xda premium
25th April 2012, 05:54 PM   |  #17  
m4570d0n's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Houston
Thanks Meter: 1,023
 
1,288 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by slambkny

Thanks for this. I'm trying to learn. I'm stuck tho. I decompiled my framework-Res.apk I made changes and rran compile script.
Now I have a file called singedframework-Res.apk
Please tell me what to do next so its ready to go back into the phone.Thank You

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-T989 using xda premium

pretty sure you don't want to sign system apks. If you're useing the Autoapktool sean posted here, then after you choose option 11 to compile, it will ask you if it is a system app. you say yes. It will ask if you about using other files you did not edit, you say yes. It will generate a folder called "keep." Go to the keep folder and delete every file you edited and leave everything else. If you made any xml edits, then delete resources.arsc too. Then go back to the prompt and hit enter. It will create an unsigned apk.

Now, I dunno if this is necessary if you made sure to set compression level to zero but sean recommended this and it's worked for me. You right click on the new unsigned apk, and extract it with 7zip. Go into the extracted directory. Highlight everything and right-click > Add to Archives. In the winrar window that comes up select zip, change compression method to "Store", remove the "unsigned" part of the file name and change the end of it from zip to apk. Done.
25th April 2012, 11:43 PM   |  #18  
Member
Thanks Meter: 102
 
48 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
roughneckboren - I was having a similar issue when I was trying to decompile Systemui.apk's from the UCALC4 roms as well. I have no clue if this will help you, but what worked for me was saving the apktool.jar from the folder downloaded from Wanam to another name (I used apktool.jar.bak) and then copied the apktool.jar from apktool 1.4.2 and dropped it into the folder. At that point I was able to decompile the SystemUI.apk and modify it however I wanted. When finished, and before compiling, I just renamed the apktool.jar from 1.4.2 and named the original from Wanam back.

This only happened to me on UCALC4 roms and I haven't had a single issue with the UCLD2 roms that I have edited. Again, I have no clue if this is going to help you but it is what worked for me so I figured there is no harm in at least mentioning it...

Hope you get it figured out, or have already. Good luck! Also, thanks to Sean, Silver and the rest of everyone else here on the forums for getting this information out to everyone!
Last edited by PlagueBoy; 25th April 2012 at 11:44 PM. Reason: Forget to mention it was apktool 1.4.2 initially... sigh.
26th April 2012, 07:53 PM   |  #19  
iceofhavik's Avatar
Member
Flag Usa
Thanks Meter: 33
 
90 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Hey im actually having this problem here using your manager.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------
|Thu 04/26/2012 -- 10:50:25.59|
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
java version "1.6.0_31"
Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (build 1.6.0_31-b05)
Java HotSpot(TM) Client VM (build 20.6-b01, mixed mode, sharing)
Could Not Find C:\Users\Toria\Documents\Arc\Apk_Manager_ICS\place-apk-here-for-modding\../place-apk-here-for-modding/signedSystemUI.apk
Could Not Find C:\Users\Toria\Documents\Arc\Apk_Manager_ICS\place-apk-here-for-modding\../place-apk-here-for-modding/unsignedSystemUI.apk
I: Baksmaling...
I: Loading resource table...
I: Loaded.
I: Loading resource table from file: C:\Users\Toria\apktool\framework\1.apk
I: Loaded.
I: Decoding file-resources...
W: Could not decode attr value, using undecoded value instead: ns=android, name=drawable, value=0x010806fe
W: Could not decode attr value, using undecoded value instead: ns=android, name=drawable, value=0x0108073e
I: Decoding values*/* XMLs...
Exception in thread "main" brut.androlib.err.UndefinedResObject: resource spec: 0x010a010b
at brut.androlib.res.data.ResPackage.getResSpec(ResPa ckage.java:61)
at brut.androlib.res.data.ResTable.getResSpec(ResTabl e.java:55)
at brut.androlib.res.data.ResTable.getResSpec(ResTabl e.java:51)
at brut.androlib.res.data.value.ResReferenceValue.get Referent(ResReferenceValue.java:59)
at brut.androlib.res.data.value.ResReferenceValue.enc odeAsResXml(ResReferenceValue.java:46)
at brut.androlib.res.data.value.ResScalarValue.encode AsResXmlValue(ResScalarValue.java:54)
at brut.androlib.res.data.value.ResStyleValue.seriali zeToResValuesXml(ResStyleValue.java:56)
at brut.androlib.res.AndrolibResources.generateValues File(AndrolibResources.java:264)
at brut.androlib.res.AndrolibResources.decode(Androli bResources.java:137)
at brut.androlib.Androlib.decodeResourcesFull(Androli b.java:93)
at brut.androlib.ApkDecoder.decode(ApkDecoder.java:98 )
at brut.apktool.Main.cmdDecode(Main.java:128)
at brut.apktool.Main.main(Main.java:65)


Im actually trying to edit an xperia arc arconium ics systemui.apk which is deoxed.
7th June 2012, 02:42 PM   |  #20  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
25 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Hi,
i tried to follow the tutorial ( got an normal SII XD )
But the problem ist ...if i use apktool or apkmanager: I never get a smali folder.
I try to edit camera.apk (

Pls tell me what i'm doing wrong

Thank you

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes