Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,732,479 Members 48,415 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Motoactv

Tip us?
 
blaxer
Old
#1611  
blaxer's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 31
Join Date: Sep 2007
I am using the root tool 1.1.4, I can do a "stock rooted" works fine, CD 1.0.0 no problem, CD 1.1.0 no problem, CD 1.1.1_b stuck at "M", CD 1.1.2_A stuck at "M".... does that help? I have tried re-downloading everything several times...

Can't get any of these "stock" images to work, (stuck at "M"), http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1534073
 
sargist
Old
#1612  
Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 38
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by ClearD View Post
Nope, clockworkmod only. You might try re-rooting. There was also an update to clockworkmod a while back, that may very well be your problem. Download root tool version 1.1.4 and run the "root" function again to reinstall the latest one.
I re-rooted again as you said and got the same results, I wonder if my 1gb partition has anything to do or the app I use to enter clockworkmod (ROM Manager)

Any other piece of advice?

Thanks again for your support
 
Margino
Old
#1613  
Margino's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 28
Posts: 104
Join Date: Nov 2006
Are there any differences between MotoACTVs sold in the US and the EU that will cause problems with rooting or getting the ROM to work?
 
kensikora
Old
#1614  
Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 75
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by ClearD View Post
For the world to test:

ClearDroid MotoACTV Version 1.1.2

Wipe cache and dalvik, then flash. There is no launcher included, and the rom will reset your key layout (change it back to whatever you use with jay's easymodder script).

The market may freeze once or twice the first couple of times you open it and sign in, but do not worry. That is the market updating to the latest market version. Hit the back button, wait a few seconds, then open it again.

The search button does not work yet, but the rest of the market works. Be sure to keep watch over your app storage space, as apps won't download if it is too low.
Still no dice for me. It causes constant soft reboots. It's definitely the GoogleServicesFramework.apk, since removing that through ADB shell stops the reboots.

This was the same issue that I had when I tried pushing the Google Apps on my own.
 
dproldan
Old
(Last edited by dproldan; 23rd April 2012 at 09:32 AM.)
#1615  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 242
Posts: 190
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Malaga

 
DONATE TO ME
Default MotoACTV gapps and more

Hello

This is another approach for exploring the posibilities of the MotoACTV.
This zip is supposed to be flashed on top of Cennis91 rooted-5.6.0-signed.zip, and allows you to keep all the functionality of a stock MotoACTV, just adding a way to access everything else.

Again, you need to install Utkanos' CWR from here:

http://rootzwiki.com/topic/17022-rec...a/#entry506251

Put CEnnis91 rooted-5.6.0-signed.zip and gapps-gb-20110613-MotoACTV.zip in your sdcard.

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/5849675/moto...6.0-signed.zip

http://www.multiupload.nl/XJLKCXA1C6

Long instructions:

In recovery:
wipe data/factory reset
wipe cache partition
advanced, wipe dalvik cache
install zip from sdCard
choose zip from sdcard
choose rooted-5.6.0-signed.zip
choose zip from sdcard
choose gaps-20010613-MotoACTV.zip
reboot system now.

in the "complete action using…" window, scroll down and select Zeam
open apps tray
tap flit keyboard (icon has a big F in it)
tap step 1
Select InputMethod: Flit Keyboard
tap flit keyboard settings
tap select 1st keyboard: small Querty
tap select 2nd keyboard: small number
back, back,back

open apps tray
push superUser, okay
press Music (menu) button
tap preferences
set automatic response to allow
back, back

open apps tray
tap button savior, ok
set Auto Hide to 2-3 seconds
set hide on click
set hide close button
set Trigger mode to swipe from side, ok
set theme to something you like (I like Sense UI)
set sideBar orientation to horizontal bottom/center
back

press Music (menu) button
tap preferences
tap Applications grid
set type to Vertical Scrolling
set columns landscape to three, that's sliding to the left side.
back
tap Actions Bindings
set Swipe Up to Toggle fullscreen
set wipe down to Expand notifications
back

tap Dock
set Background to Transparent
set item Spacing to small
back, back, restart now

swipe from the left side of the display to its center and tap the house icon to choose "launcher" now and setup your MotoACTV as usual, even wifi network from device

when you are ready and have a wifi network added, go to Zeam Launcher. (swipe left-to-center, tap home button, choose Zeam)

Add a power control widget, tap and hold somewhere, add, Widgets, power control, 4x2, Ok.

turn off sync (circular arrows), Turn on wifi., wait a few seconds for authentication

open the apps tray and choose Talk, do your login until you see your contacts.
back to the desktop

Open NT Hidden settings
tap Applications Settings
in Development options, unselect the debugging mode. This is so the MotoACTV appears as a disk drive when connected to a computer, instead of ADB.
back to desktop

power cycle the MotoACTV, off and back on. select ZeamLauncher again
turn on wifi from the power widget, wait a few seconds for authentication

open the apps tray and select "market", accept the conditions, play a bit with it, without installing anything. and go back to the desktop.
It should have updated by itself now.

Open "Play Store" now. continue, accept.

That's it for me.

Some tips. Use Ianas' MarketSearch application to install whatever you like. If the "Done" button doesn't work, hold the menu button to hide the keyboard.

The moment you turn on AutoSync, some force closes will appear, get past them, and they shouldn't appear anymore.

Wifi will turn itself off after a few minutes when auto sync is off.

You can keep ButtonSavior's home button pressed for a recent apps list, menu button for keyboard on/off.

Once Button Savior is correctly setup, you can remap the music button to its default if you like.

Install Boat Mini Browser from the market, really good for this display size.
QuickPic for image browsing and setting wallpapers.

Enjoy.

---------- Post added at 08:34 AM ---------- Previous post was at 08:25 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by tansoftware View Post
I'll share what I've accomplished so far:

- Google Talk... Still working on this one. So far, text chatting works, incoming and
outgoing voice calls, incoming video chats crash.
Have you found a way to make the microphone input available for the android system?

It gives me errors with every program that tries to use it, sound recorders, VoiceSearch, etc.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to dproldan For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
goWYO
Old
#1616  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Apr 2012
Well all, I rooted, it worked fine (except I couldn't use the original motoactv functionality) and now I decided that I liked it better as a workout aid.... so I "returned to stock" with the root tool from ClearD... and now I have the same old motoactv... with less storage.. and no ability to connect to my computer. I can still manipulate it through with adb.. but I cannot get my computer to recognize it as storage to load music! Any help would be greatly appreciated!! Ideally I'd like to wipe the partition too... but I'd settle for just getting it to mount as a USB. Thanks!

Sent from my ADR6300 using Tapatalk 2
 
dproldan
Old
#1617  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 242
Posts: 190
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Malaga

 
DONATE TO ME
Open an ADB shell and isue this command
am start -a com.android.settings.APPLICATION_DEVELOPMENT_SETTI NGS

Untick the first option. This is permanent. You'll have to reroot for adb to work again.


Sent from my GT-I9100 using XDA
The Following User Says Thank You to dproldan For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
chino0131
Old
#1618  
chino0131's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 66
Posts: 514
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Washington, DC
Quote:
Originally Posted by goWYO View Post
Well all, I rooted, it worked fine (except I couldn't use the original motoactv functionality) and now I decided that I liked it better as a workout aid.... so I "returned to stock" with the root tool from ClearD... and now I have the same old motoactv... with less storage.. and no ability to connect to my computer. I can still manipulate it through with adb.. but I cannot get my computer to recognize it as storage to load music! Any help would be greatly appreciated!! Ideally I'd like to wipe the partition too... but I'd settle for just getting it to mount as a USB. Thanks!

Sent from my ADR6300 using Tapatalk 2
You should be able to use both the original functions as well as the rooted functions. Did you map buttons? I set my music button to "Home", which allowed me to choose between the stock Moto launcher and Zeam anytime I wanted. I can still use all functions perfectly. Only difference is when plugging in to the computer, I have to stop ADB to get the Moto app on my computer to recognize the Motoactv. Try the link below and use the MotoActv Easy Modder if you wana keep the rooted functions as well as the stock. If not, try ClearD's tool again to return to stock. If your Actv isnt recognized on the computer, try the Easy Modder option to stop adb, or type in the following command: adb shell stop adbd. Hope that helps
The Following User Says Thank You to chino0131 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
goWYO
Old
#1619  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Apr 2012
So i'm working through Jaysen's interface (easy modder?).. in the "run a custom ADB Command" feature, and i type :
adb shell (gets me into shell)
am start -a com.android.settings.APPLICATION_DEVELOPMENT_SETTI NGS

it says:

Starting: Intent { act=com.android.settings.APPLICATION_DEVELOPMENT_S ETTINGS }
.. then all i get is the $ sign for a new command


@ Chino - If i can't get it to return to stock correctly.. I'll go ahead and run it in split mode. Truth be told.. i bought this off a kid who was modding it and didn't know what he was doing... so i've been retracing his steps.. and getting it all pieced back together. I finally got Zeam working and ran the browser... and realized.. that this screen is ridiculously small haha.. i've got all the root functions that i need on my phone.. so i've just not been seeing the benefit to having my watch rooted. BUT, if i COULD do both, and have them both WORK... i'd do it i think. So, having used ClearD's "return to stock" ... do i have to root again and start all over? am i going to have to form another partition? (yep... i guess i'm THAT guy.)

---------- Post added at 04:59 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:39 PM ----------

Well, i'm not sure if it was the command from dproldan.. or what, but when i connected to my computer this time.. it gave me the option on my motoactv to disable usb debugging.. and viola.. all just like normal again. Does this mean i'm officially un-rooted, if the command didn't work like normal? or did my motoactv just finally remember to give me the option to turn debugging off??
 
dproldan
Old
#1620  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 242
Posts: 190
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Malaga

 
DONATE TO ME
Yes, that was the command I gave you. You had to untick the option on the motoactv display.

You are still rooted. But you can't access it from adb anymore, so there's no difference.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using XDA

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to dproldan For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes