OnePlus Indian Ban Lifted, Android One Expanding – XDA TV

Android 5.0.1 Lollipop is available for the Nvidia SHIELD Tablet! That and … more

Nvidia and Robotics w/ Barrett Williams – XDA:DevCon 2014

Robotics continues to dominate our videos from this years XDA:DevCon 2014 in … more

Speed Up Deodexing with JoelDroid Batch Deodexer

Android 5.0 Lollipop brings many under-the-hood changes like changing the default compiler … more

Top 5 Apps for 2014 + Top Xposed Mod of 2014 – XDA TV

Its that time of year where you look back and remember the things that happened … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] WP Dev tools & Application Deployment Tool

OP redred1

20th November 2011, 06:05 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
More
I have a Samsung Focus v 1.3 running 7720.68 mango. I am trying to enable "internet sharing" by following instructions from forums below but didn't get it to work. Here is my response to each step:
Quote:

1.) First install the WP Dev Tools and unlock your Samsung phone.

What is WP Dev Tools? Where to get it for Samsung Focus v1.3? And also, my phone is already unlocked (I can use both T-Mobile and ATT sim) so do I even need this?
Quote:

2.) Use the Application Deployment tool to send THIS to your phone. You do not need to run it and you can delete it after it has been deployed.

what application deployment tool? where to get it?
Quote:

3.) Install the Diagnosis app by typing ##634#

I did this and Diagnosis app is showing-up. ver.0103)

Quote:

4.) After the Diagnosis app starts type *#9908# and select 'System Tweaks' press 'Save' then 'Close' and restart your phone.

when I do this, all I see is "GPRS MANAGER"
and then a drop-down "Select GPRS"
-> Gumi Test Bed
-> Suwon2g Test Bed
-> Suwon3g Test Bed
(I don't see option to select "System Tweaks")

Quote:

5.) Your phone now has internet sharing and as a bonus is interop unlocked!

No, it doesn't
Last edited by redred1; 20th November 2011 at 06:09 AM.
20th November 2011, 08:11 AM   |  #2  
valuxin's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Donate to Me
First, download & install WP 7.1 SDK from here (Application Deployment is part of this SDK).
Next, unlock your phone (it's not sim-unlocking, it's like jailbreaking). "How to" in this thread
Then, you should install the app to your phone and only if you do this, you'll can select 'System Tweaks' in Diagnosis app.
20th November 2011, 11:26 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by valuxin

First, download & install WP 7.1 SDK from here (Application Deployment is part of this SDK).

Thanks! Installed.
Quote:

Next, unlock your phone (it's not sim-unlocking, it's like jailbreaking). "How to" in this thread

Thanks. I don't completely follow this. I will continue trying. All threads seem to have instructions pre-Mango update and my phone is already running Mango.

EDIT:
I found something called ChevronWP7 - can I use this to jailbreak/unlock Samsung Focus (v 1.3) Mango phone? My OS version etc. are as follows:
OS-version 7.10.7720.68 ,
Firmware: 2103.11.8.1 ,
Hardware revision: 3.1.0.7,
Radio Software: 2103.11.8.1 ,
Radio Hardware: 0.0.0.3,
BOOTloader: 5.8.0.2 ,
CHIP SOC version: 0.36.2.0
Last edited by redred1; 20th November 2011 at 11:31 PM. Reason: adding version numbers
21st November 2011, 12:03 AM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
More
Never mind. I downloaded Chev WP and unlocked using that. Now internet-sharing works. It's amazing. I had to pay $9 for CWP though.

One more question (for everyone): Samsung Focus v 1.3 ear-peice volume is very low. It's set to 10/10 but it's still low. I know that from Diagnostic app we can increase it but I am not sure what values to set.

Here are my current values, what should I change to increase volume of phone earpeice/speaker? (not using any bluetooth or corded handset)?
Quote:

Sound tuning (what's this/what does it do?)
1, 1c, 74, 4, 23, 9d, 9b, 12

System Gain Attenuation (what's this, what does it do?)
7, 130, 0

Class Gain Attenuation: (what's this, what does it do?)
7, 0, 5

Device Gain Attenuation (what is this?):
7, 1500, -500

audience.cfg -on

21st November 2011, 07:28 AM   |  #5  
valuxin's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Donate to Me
You could just downgrade to 7004 and unlock your device free, and then install updates in zune

Quote:
Originally Posted by redred1

Here are my current values, what should I change to increase volume of phone earpeice/speaker? (not using any bluetooth or corded handset)?

Ok, here is the answer:
Click Get under the Device Gain (max/min)
In the first box keep the number 7
In the second box put 16000
In the third box put 0
Click Set
Click Start
Click the home button.
Restart your phone.
21st November 2011, 09:06 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by valuxin

You could just downgrade to 7004 and unlock your device free, and then install updates in zune

Oh! I unlocked using Cheveron WP already.Paid for it already.

Quote:

Ok, here is the answer:
Click Get under the Device Gain (max/min)
In the first box keep the number 7
In the second box put 16000
In the third box put 0
Click Set
Click Start
Click the home button.
Restart your phone.

Whoa! Isn't 16,000 too high? I mean, did you mean 1600? Right now, it's 1500. 16,000 is like 10x! Not that I understand what these values are and how they work but I just want to be sure it's not a typo before I change it on my phone. Don't want to accidentally brick it as I did an iPhone last year
12th February 2012, 08:17 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Flag East Coast
Thanks Meter: 11
 
360 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
More
when I do this, all I see is "GPRS MANAGER"
and then a drop-down "Select GPRS"
-> Gumi Test Bed
-> Suwon2g Test Bed
-> Suwon3g Test Bed
(I don't see option to select "System Tweaks")


Hopefully someone can help me. Also if I am hi-jacking this thread a little my bad. Anyway, my device is not dev-unlocked and I accidently changed my GPRS settings and now the device Data does not work at all. I tried all three and none seem to work.

I have ATT in US. Is there someother settings I need to change to get my data to work again? Which profile is supposed to me default?

Edit: I ended up fixing my own issue. For any Googlers out there I did it by doing:

Try Phone Control > [7] Network Control > [1] GCF > [3] Setting Cancellation > Wait for it to say success. Then reboot. Then I just re-did the process and the phone unlocked again and the internet is working fine.
Last edited by Bjd223; 13th February 2012 at 06:04 AM.
23rd April 2012, 12:10 PM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Future Upgrades
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bjd223

when I do this, all I see is "GPRS MANAGER"
and then a drop-down "Select GPRS"
-> Gumi Test Bed
-> Suwon2g Test Bed
-> Suwon3g Test Bed
(I don't see option to select "System Tweaks")


Hopefully someone can help me. Also if I am hi-jacking this thread a little my bad. Anyway, my device is not dev-unlocked and I accidently changed my GPRS settings and now the device Data does not work at all. I tried all three and none seem to work.

I have ATT in US. Is there someother settings I need to change to get my data to work again? Which profile is supposed to me default?

Edit: I ended up fixing my own issue. For any Googlers out there I did it by doing:

Try Phone Control > [7] Network Control > [1] GCF > [3] Setting Cancellation > Wait for it to say success. Then reboot. Then I just re-did the process and the phone unlocked again and the internet is working fine.



This may be a dumb question, if we do this kind of unlocking, will I be able to upgade to future version of OS updates?
23rd April 2012, 03:56 PM   |  #9  
EnderPsp's Avatar
Senior Member
Lost in Europe :)
Thanks Meter: 223
 
1,078 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by nvijay

This may be a dumb question, if we do this kind of unlocking, will I be able to upgade to future version of OS updates?

Yes, you would, but only when the carrier (the one that the phone is registered to) releases the update. In many cases, that's too late but you can manually update, read this thread.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes