FORUMS

OnePlus 2 Announced: Specs, Price and Details

The OnePlus 2 has just had its Virtual Reality Launch event, and at the XDA Office we all … more

A Helpful Guide to Music Streaming Services

With the launch of Apple Music, music streaming services have recently gained a lot of … more

An Inside Look at the Redesign of Business Calendar

The much-acclaimed calendar app, Business Calendar, underwent a major design … more

New Android One Device Dead On Arrival

Today, Google announced the second generation of Android One devices, with the new Lava Pixel … more

[Guide] ICS for All htc holiday

339 posts
Thanks Meter: 50
 
By mohamed_moscow, Senior Member on 22nd April 2012, 10:35 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
22nd April 2012, 06:13 PM |#11  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 64
 
Donate to Me
More
I didn't do this 1111111 stuff and I had the HTC vivid

Sent from my HTC PH39100 using XDA
 
 
22nd April 2012, 06:24 PM |#12  
Senior Member
Flag Ajax
Thanks Meter: 42
 
More
Just curious..
Wondering why the need to flash the cingular ruu before flashing the att ruu? If they're both ics, and if we've got s-off, wouldn't we just need to flash the att official ruu from htc? I'm just curious.. if I'm missing something really obvious I'm sorry.
22nd April 2012, 07:01 PM |#13  
jerrycoffman45's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag ashland ky
Thanks Meter: 771
 
More
cingular is att
22nd April 2012, 07:13 PM |#14  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 50
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bproulx

Wondering why the need to flash the cingular ruu before flashing the att ruu? If they're both ics, and if we've got s-off, wouldn't we just need to flash the att official ruu from htc? I'm just curious.. if I'm missing something really obvious I'm sorry.

without flash first GB from vivid, ICS att will not be flash....
22nd April 2012, 07:21 PM |#15  
rquiett's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Santa Rosa, CA
Thanks Meter: 1,423
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by come at me bro

I didn't do this 1111111 stuff and I had the HTC vivid

Sent from my HTC PH39100 using XDA

And if you read the first line of the op this is to get the ics from vivid on the other versions of the phone

Sent from my HTC PH39100 using xda premium
22nd April 2012, 07:37 PM |#16  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
First off, THanks!
Secondly, The link is not working for step 3.
Also if I am already s-off I can skip step 1 correct?
And when I unlock bootloader thru HTC dev, I select HTC Vivid?

THanks again!
23rd April 2012, 02:06 AM |#17  
Senior Member
Flag Ajax
Thanks Meter: 42
 
More
Thumbs up Worked great!
Followed the directions and am now running ICS - flashed to the dark raider 1.1 rom from another thread after and it works great.. was going to try wc's illuminati rom but the link on his site starts out downloading at about 30k/sec and then steadily drops to zero before i get over 60mb.. anyone have a copy they want to mirror or know of another mirror hosting that rom? I know he's not on xda anymore..that's a shame tho he's a good dev.

Anyway thanks for the guide to get ics for us raider users! Worked perfectly!
Sorry for the dumb question about flasing the cingular ruu first, i didn't realize the first ruu it points to was a gb vivid ruu. makes perfect sense now.. lol...sense.. no pun intended..lol
23rd April 2012, 06:06 AM |#18  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 50
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by n4v1n

First off, THanks!
Secondly, The link is not working for step 3.
Also if I am already s-off I can skip step 1 correct?
And when I unlock bootloader thru HTC dev, I select HTC Vivid?

THanks again!

I link for step 3 is working just download from one of the servers provided.
Unlock as you unlocked before doing any changes. If your not having HTC vivid then don't select HTC vivid. If you have raider the simple select others.
23rd April 2012, 06:08 AM |#19  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 50
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bproulx

Followed the directions and am now running ICS - flashed to the dark raider 1.1 rom from another thread after and it works great.. was going to try wc's illuminati rom but the link on his site starts out downloading at about 30k/sec and then steadily drops to zero before i get over 60mb.. anyone have a copy they want to mirror or know of another mirror hosting that rom? I know he's not on xda anymore..that's a shame tho he's a good dev.

Anyway thanks for the guide to get ics for us raider users! Worked perfectly!
Sorry for the dumb question about flasing the cingular ruu first, i didn't realize the first ruu it points to was a gb vivid ruu. makes perfect sense now.. lol...sense.. no pun intended..lol

No problem, have fun
23rd April 2012, 03:52 PM |#20  
citsong's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 66
 
More
When I run the ruu's im in fastboot correct? Searching around I've seen different methods. Just trying to confirm. From the instructions it looks like everythings pretty much done while in the bootloader.

---------- Post added at 10:52 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:12 AM ----------

Trying to unlock the bootloader with my old token isn't working. Getting a remote unlocktoken check fail. Do I need to redo htc dev as a vivid? Sorry for the questions, after spending all that time trying to get s-off my brain is tired lol

Ok so I ran the ruu's while in fastboot and I had to redo the unlock as if the phone was a vivid and get a new token and now all is well. At least if anyone has a dead brain moment like me they will see this and know
Last edited by citsong; 23rd April 2012 at 03:58 PM.
25th April 2012, 07:56 PM |#21  
Senior Member
Flag The Hammer!
Thanks Meter: 11
 
More
Thanks for the thread!

I have a couple questions about the following steps:

Quote:
Originally Posted by mohamed_moscow

5) Enter to the fastboot and install ICS (http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1564776)
7) install the recovery - (http://www.multiupload.nl/JRQA22KXK5)
8) Root your phone - (http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1416836 )

In step 5, you link to a thread on applying the AT&T ICS RUU. In that thread, a user states that you need to have WCX recovery to do this.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Megatronisabeast

You need the wcx recovery not cwm. Also make sure you have a compatible kernel to go with the ROM.

In step 8 - Root your phone - you link to the Superguide thread where Slapshot30 advises to install CWM recovery in the rooting process.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slapshot30

2) Gain Perm Root and Custom CWM Recovery

Overwriting WCX recovery with CWM recovery here would undo step 7 so am I right in assuming that in step 8 we follow the Superguide, but ignore the CWM installation step?

Thanks
Last edited by Mad Medik; 25th April 2012 at 08:08 PM.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes