Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Anyone run their TF201 straight stock?

OP acdcking12345

23rd April 2012, 09:43 AM   |  #21  
Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
68 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by acdcking12345

I ma wondering if anyone runs without rooting or putting on custom roms..

I ask because I just got the prime and have not updated to the .21 yet.

Doesnt seem like I would miss a ton. Just curious..

Are you kidding you miss a ton. Swipe pad, gesturecontrol, overclocking up to 1.8 ghz, cornerstone, act.

Sent from my Transformer Prime TF201 using XDA
23rd April 2012, 09:45 AM   |  #22  
Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
68 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Not to mention Asus sometime screws up their Roms and you made have random reboots.

Sent from my Transformer Prime TF201 using XDA
23rd April 2012, 01:39 PM   |  #23  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
16 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
I would root it, if I could (having .21).
Mainly because my phone only supports ad-hoc tethering and I now am not able to tether at all with my prime

I also would like to have the ability of titanium backups and gestures.

Hope somebody finds a new way for rooting soon
23rd April 2012, 04:37 PM   |  #24  
EnemyOfGlaDOS's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Boulder, Colorado
Thanks Meter: 1,286
 
5,059 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gruinelli

I would root it, if I could (having .21).
Mainly because my phone only supports ad-hoc tethering and I now am not able to tether at all with my prime

I also would like to have the ability of titanium backups and gestures.

Hope somebody finds a new way for rooting soon

Only way to get root on .21 is to unlock the boot loader and install CWM- flash a custom ROM and that will give you root.. but unfortunately no way to just root .21

Sent from my SGH-I777 using Tapatalk 2
23rd April 2012, 05:08 PM   |  #25  
Member
Flag Charleston, SC
Thanks Meter: 33
 
37 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
I'm running mine completely stock and without any problems so far. I may be missing things, but since I don't know what they are, it doesn't really matter. My Prime does everything I need it to.
23rd April 2012, 05:11 PM   |  #26  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
16 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coreym

Only way to get root on .21 is to unlock the boot loader and install CWM- flash a custom ROM and that will give you root.. but unfortunately no way to just root .21

Thats what pessimists say.
I still hope somebody finds another way.
No software is without bugs.
The Following User Says Thank You to gruinelli For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd April 2012, 07:50 PM   |  #27  
Member
Flag New York City
Thanks Meter: 1
 
30 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
I am running stock. I have been using this thing pretty much everyday for 3 months now and I have yet to have a need to root. I bought the keyboard/mouse which is great and I sold my windows laptop on ebay. With the USB port on the side of the keyboard, its amazing that crap you plug into that it recognizes. I still have my desktop for gaming, web design, photoshop etc.
24th April 2012, 12:44 AM   |  #28  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 185
 
696 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by acdcking12345

Ok, so it sounds like I am not crazy for wanting to not root it.

I just upgraded to the latest firmware and it seems to run very fast and without issues.


Just wanted to make sure I wasn't missing out on too much.

I rooted my TF101 and slapped custom roms all over the place. A bit scared to do so on my Prime.. Seems the risk is a lot higher..

Oh i want to root it with a passion.... titanium backup, linux, custom stuffs up the wazoo.... only problem is .21 cant be rooted without rootkeeper. If you DO update, i suggest you root, use rootkeeper, then update. you will miss it later.
24th April 2012, 04:04 AM   |  #29  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 831
 
4,330 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
Running stock but rooted mainly so I can use titanium back up and restore game apps with data from my Acer a100 so I can play them where I left off.


Sent from my PG86100 using Tapatalk 2
24th April 2012, 07:53 AM   |  #30  
Papichulo06's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Houston, TX
Thanks Meter: 30
 
182 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
More
Have my prime rooted. I've had a rooted AND unlocked Android device ever since the HTC G1. I would love to be able to unlock my Prime and slap the best ROM on it but I'm too afraid of voiding warranty. After my 1yr though... you better believe I'm unlocking. There is just no match in performance when it comes to custom vs stock.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes