Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] how to install french menu

OP franckyb

21st April 2012, 11:44 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
hello,

i'm new in here, and in smart phones also..
i bought a samsung galaxy S, and i would like to set up a french menu..
for now the languages i have in it are:
English (uk)
English (usa)
russian
Hebrew
Arabic

i would like to have french also, with the possibility to write and read hebrew too.
i added a screenshot..

can u please help me?

thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	SC20120422-003812.jpg
Views:	24
Size:	31.4 KB
ID:	1017826  
23rd April 2012, 03:59 PM   |  #2  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
23rd April 2012, 04:22 PM   |  #3  
BladeZero's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Joberg
Thanks Meter: 249
 
866 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by franckyb

hello,

i'm new in here, and in smart phones also..
i bought a samsung galaxy S, and i would like to set up a french menu..
for now the languages i have in it are:
English (uk)
English (usa)
russian
Hebrew
Arabic

i would like to have french also, with the possibility to write and read hebrew too.
i added a screenshot..

can u please help me?

thanks!

Best solution would be to Google how to add language to android 2.3.3 to get french and if you wanna have a different keyboard just download a french keyboard or a Hebrew keyboard from the market

If you like my posts please hit thanks
Rom: Dark Knight 4
Kernel: Devil Kernel
KEEP IT ANDROID!!!!!!!
23rd April 2012, 05:08 PM   |  #4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
69 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
Hi, in purpose to add a locale to the menus, you need to decompile the apk "framework-res.apk" with an apk manager and translate from english to hebrew every string.xml so it isn't easy.

if i helped you, you should hit thx button
23rd April 2012, 05:14 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Flag Pau
Thanks Meter: 4
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
I think the best way to have the french language is to flash another rom with a factory reset.
This one for example : http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1061946
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes