Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

No official ICS for unlocked bootloaders ?

OP o0o.paw

23rd April 2012, 04:22 PM   |  #1  
o0o.paw's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Perth
Thanks Meter: 30
 
68 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Donate to Me
More
I just read on the Sony Developer site that the ICS update will not be available for those with an unlocked bootlader WTF ?

"Also, if you unlock the boot loader, you will not be able to download and install the final Ice Cream Sandwich software upgrade for Xperia™ phones."

Just look for the article "ICS beta ROM now available for unlocked Xperia™ PLAY smartphones" .. it's about 3/4 down the page :?(
23rd April 2012, 04:55 PM   |  #2  
Member
Flag Salzburg
Thanks Meter: 4
 
69 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
More
Good thing I unlocked via Testpoint method...

I think it could be possible that SEUS or PC Companion are checking IMEI, if the phone was unlocked via Sony...
simple relock won't do it I guess :/

But don't worry, a few days after our devs will come up with a flashable generic and prerooted rom
23rd April 2012, 05:00 PM   |  #3  
mdfzhi's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3,742
 
4,055 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrBrightside

But don't worry, a few days after our devs will come up with a flashable generic and prerooted rom

definitely.
in xda we trust
23rd April 2012, 05:09 PM   |  #4  
Someguyfromhell's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 2,040
 
4,005 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by o0o.paw

I just read on the Sony Developer site that the ICS update will not be available for those with an unlocked bootlader WTF ?

"Also, if you unlock the boot loader, you will not be able to download and install the final Ice Cream Sandwich software upgrade for Xperia™ phones."

Just look for the article "ICS beta ROM now available for unlocked Xperia™ PLAY smartphones" .. it's about 3/4 down the page :?(

That is because DRM keys are lost, which are needed to use PC Companion and Update Service to update phone firmware.

It is not sure, if relocking will do the deal or not, as least not before it is released.
23rd April 2012, 05:15 PM   |  #5  
whalesplaho's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Treasure Island
Thanks Meter: 1,374
 
5,978 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Relocking with Flashtool will definitely work & also if yhu unlock BL via Testpoint Method den yhu can update via SEUS, PCC!
23rd April 2012, 06:54 PM   |  #6  
metalrawk's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag kurukshetra
Thanks Meter: 123
 
542 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
Dude, didn't you read when unlocking bootloader? its written in big red fonts on bootloader unlock page that you will not get further updates after unlocking.
23rd April 2012, 08:32 PM   |  #7  
Member
Flag Tallinn
Thanks Meter: 25
 
41 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
Officially, the bootloader can only be unlocked, that's why the warning with red letters.
Unofficially, it is possible to relock the bootloader and after that it's possible to update software again. I tested it multiple times.
The only thing You loose permanently is the DRM. Cheers!
23rd April 2012, 10:26 PM   |  #8  
whalesplaho's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Treasure Island
Thanks Meter: 1,374
 
5,978 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by zariin

Officially, the bootloader can only be unlocked, that's why the warning with red letters.
Unofficially, it is possible to relock the bootloader and after that it's possible to update software again. I tested it multiple times.
The only thing You loose permanently is the DRM. Cheers!


hope yhu all can now believe me now......!
24th April 2012, 11:45 AM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Flag manila
Thanks Meter: 6
 
105 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
is there a way to relock boot loader again??
24th April 2012, 01:54 PM   |  #10  
Someguyfromhell's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 2,040
 
4,005 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bhovoi

is there a way to relock boot loader again??

Yes, you can read my tutorial, a guide is there.

Sent from my Xperia Live using xda premium

The Following User Says Thank You to Someguyfromhell For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes