FORUMS

Android 5.1.1 Omni ROM For Motorola Xoom

Back in Feb 2011, the Motorola Xoom became the first device to be sold with Android 3.0 … more

CleanSlate Brings Fingerprint Scanner Mod to HTC One M9+

Work of XDA Recognized Developer tbalden, CleanSlate custom kernel for the HTC … more

Sunday Debate: Which Factors Caused HTC’s Woes?

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on HTC’s situation. Come with your … more

HTC’s New Ad Campaign And What It Really Means

HTC has just released three new blind test adverts comparing app loading … more

[Development discussion] FIREFIREFIRE Extended (dualbooting)

159 posts
Thanks Meter: 319
 
By eldarerathis, Senior Member on 15th March 2012, 04:28 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
23rd April 2012, 05:08 PM |#111  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 319
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by three-p-o

I think this is going to work as I had nowhere near the correct settings for my rebuild of the boot.img.

Code:
Working folder's boot.img information
-------------------------------------

 Kernel Size                : 3141360 bytes
 Kernel Base Address        : 0x80000000
 Ramdisk Size               : 187920 bytes
 Ramdisk Load Address       : 0x81000000
 Second Stage Size          : 0 bytes
 Second Stage Load Address  : 0x80f00000
 Page Size                  : 4096 bytes
 ASCIIZ Product Name        : (None)

 Command Line: "console=ttyO2,115200n8 mem=463M@0x80000000 init=/init vram=5M omapfb.vram=0:5M"
Ok, so that failed too. I'm going to match the same partition numbers and redo the script/init to use the numbers you use.

Were you using the 3.0 kernel? FWIW, I haven't gotten that to boot on a non-standard boot partition yet. It seems like it's going to start up fine, but then it hangs in the middle with a (IMHO) not-so-helpful and possibly irrelevant logcat message.
 
 
23rd April 2012, 05:12 PM |#112  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 28
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by eldarerathis

Were you using the 3.0 kernel? FWIW, I haven't gotten that to boot on a non-standard boot partition yet. It seems like it's going to start up fine, but then it hangs in the middle with a (IMHO) not-so-helpful and possibly irrelevant logcat message.

Actually, I'm trying to use the kindle fire 6.3 insecure rom that was posted a few weeks ago.
Maybe that is the issue :P
23rd April 2012, 05:18 PM |#113  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 319
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by three-p-o

Actually, I'm trying to use the kindle fire 6.3 insecure rom that was posted a few weeks ago.
Maybe that is the issue :P

Oh, okay, nevermind then. For some reason I thought you were using the 3.0 kernel (I should have just gone back to double check your other thread). I did get the 6.2.2 to work eventually with minimal bugs so I would think it's possible to do it with 6.3 unless Amazon changed something significant.
23rd April 2012, 05:30 PM |#114  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 28
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by eldarerathis

Oh, okay, nevermind then. For some reason I thought you were using the 3.0 kernel (I should have just gone back to double check your other thread). I did get the 6.2.2 to work eventually with minimal bugs so I would think it's possible to do it with 6.3 unless Amazon changed something significant.

My original idea was to get 3.0 working there, but that was before 3.0 became as reliable as it is now. The only reason I would need to boot to alt, is for recharge, and netflix audio sync issues.

Update: So, apparently my issue was that I was using your original release and not the v2 release. I am now dual booting 3.0 as primary and kindle 6.3 as alternate.
Last edited by three-p-o; 23rd April 2012 at 07:05 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to three-p-o For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th June 2012, 02:38 PM |#115  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 55
 
More
eldarerathis, tried to send you a PM, but I'm not sure it went through.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes