TWRP for Nexus 6 and 9 Available, Unofficial CM12 Alpha for HTC Explorer! – XDA TV

Team Win Recovery Project for the Nexus 6 and Nexus … more

Jolla Tablet Announced: The Second Sailfish OS Device

A little over a year ago, Jolla released its first smartphone with the brand new Jolla … more

Android One Devices Get Unofficial CM12 Port

Android One was initially announced right before Android Lollipop. By releasing these cheap, yet … more

WhatsApp Decides to Protect Your Data

When Facebook bought WhatsApp for the absurdly large sum of $19bn back in February, they took the tech … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Mobile data won't reconnect after mobile network loss

OP Mazout360

20th April 2012, 06:04 PM   |  #1  
Mazout360's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Montreal
Thanks Meter: 1,923
 
478 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Donate to Me
More
I am currently using owain's rom with the latest harsh kernel, and whenever I lose my data connectivity (damn tunnels), the 4g won't reconnect by itselfand the mobile data toggle becomes unresponsive...any tips on how to fix that?

Envoyé depuis mon LG-P999 avec Tapatalk
20th April 2012, 10:49 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Davis, CA
Thanks Meter: 65
 
196 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
Are you losing the APN when that happens? Using airplane mode wipes mine

Sent from my LG-P999 using XDA
20th April 2012, 11:02 PM   |  #3  
moeahmad1995's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 157
 
848 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Hold volume up and power into it reboots. Battery pull works sometimes but the hard reboot always works for me

Sent from my LG-P999 using xda premium
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to moeahmad1995 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th April 2012, 11:34 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag Davis, CA
Thanks Meter: 65
 
196 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by moeahmad1995

Hold volume up and power into it reboots. Battery pull works sometimes but the hard reboot always works for me

Sent from my LG-P999 using xda premium

Learned something new. Thanks

Sent from my LG-P999 using XDA
21st April 2012, 02:07 AM   |  #5  
Mazout360's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Montreal
Thanks Meter: 1,923
 
478 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Donate to Me
More
So I do have to reboot every time...oh well gonna have to wait for a version that reconnects me adequately.
Thanks for the tips
21st April 2012, 05:08 AM   |  #6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
66 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by moeahmad1995

Hold volume up and power into it reboots. Battery pull works sometimes but the hard reboot always works for me

Sent from my LG-P999 using xda premium

Can you explain to me why this works and doing multiple reboots or power-off-on cycles doesn't? I've had similar inexplicable mobile data losses on multiple ROMs, and have tried a bunch of stuff. The power-volume up worked the first time...



Thanks, though!
Last edited by Bobomo; 21st April 2012 at 05:18 AM.
21st April 2012, 08:47 AM   |  #7  
moeahmad1995's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 157
 
848 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bobomo

Can you explain to me why this works and doing multiple reboots or power-off-on cycles doesn't? I've had similar inexplicable mobile data losses on multiple ROMs, and have tried a bunch of stuff. The power-volume up worked the first time...



Thanks, though!

To be honest, I can't explain to you why it works. I've learned it the first day I got my g2x when froyo had a problem connecting to wifi an its been working ever since

Sent from my LG-P999 using xda premium
22nd April 2012, 12:00 AM   |  #8  
GTWalling's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Birmingham
Thanks Meter: 66
 
313 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
It is like Windows XP. Restart (power off and then restart phone) just restart the OS not shutting the computer down, not clearing the memory and cache. Shut Down (pulling battery or hard restart volume up and power) turns the system off clearing the memory and cache.
22nd April 2012, 06:42 PM   |  #9  
Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
66 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by GTWalling

It is like Windows XP. Restart (power off and then restart phone) just restart the OS not shutting the computer down, not clearing the memory and cache. Shut Down (pulling battery or hard restart volume up and power) turns the system off clearing the memory and cache.

What's strange is that I have tried booting into recover, wiping cache partition and dalvik cache in order to fix the problem. It worked once but hasn't really worked since. I guess it must be a memory thing... ???
23rd April 2012, 09:25 PM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Flag Vineland
Thanks Meter: 12
 
101 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
At this point, I would suggest either a different kernel or a different ROM. Every ROM effects every phone differently. Try HellFire Sandwich v1.7 with the updated harsh kernel. Its what I'm using now and I haven't run into that issue yet.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes