Unofficial CM12 for Android One, Disabling Encryption on Nexus 6 – XDA TV

Android One devices have received an Unofficial CyanogenMod … more

Pushbullet Universal Copy/Paste Availabe for Linux, Mac OS X

Pushbullet is one of those useful utilities that once installed, permanently … more

Enable the Hidden Notification LED on the Google Nexus 6!

LED notification lights have existed on Android devices since the very beginnings … more

MX Player Ready to Rock on Lollipop

A good video player should be reliable and free. One of the XDA Community Apps, MX Player, meets both of … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

navigation and gps solutions.

OP shindai.china

25th January 2012, 07:12 PM   |  #21  
Lock-N-Load's Avatar
Senior Member
Under Your Skin
Thanks Meter: 272
 
1,216 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by theandies

My solution so far. I'm still figuring out what map software I will ultimately use but the Pharos BT receiver and BT GPS app work great.

Curious, were you able to use this with the good old stock Google Maps and have Maps function as expected? I could be interested in this device, but have wondered if once connected to the GPS receiver, does Maps work? I am not interested in a bunch of other apps or Map replacements, I would just like this BT GPS receiver and Maps.
26th January 2012, 08:42 AM   |  #22  
SoTacMatt's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Tacoma, WA
Thanks Meter: 19
 
247 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lock-N-Load

Curious, were you able to use this with the good old stock Google Maps and have Maps function as expected? I could be interested in this device, but have wondered if once connected to the GPS receiver, does Maps work? I am not interested in a bunch of other apps or Map replacements, I would just like this BT GPS receiver and Maps.

I used mine with Google Maps. It worked perfectly! Even as I drove around, heading was correct and everything.

Sent from my Transformer Prime TF201 using Tapatalk
21st April 2012, 02:27 AM   |  #23  
SoTacMatt's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Tacoma, WA
Thanks Meter: 19
 
247 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
I just got my GPS Extension Kit.

Sent from my Transformer Prime TF201 using Tapatalk 2
24th April 2012, 04:11 AM   |  #24  
TheWerewolf's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Surrey, BC
Thanks Meter: 148
 
244 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2006
More
I use the QStarz BT-1000X. It has a two day battery life. You can just turn it on and leave it on all the time, then hook it up to any USB port to charge it (even the Prime's if you have the dock...)

It's a 66 channel GPS, which means it's VERY good at getting fixes even in poor conditions and holding onto the fix, and it can log your trips while being a GPS for the Prime. It's very compact and light.

http://www.qstarz.com/Products/GPS%2...-Q1000XT-F.htm

Another choice would be the QStarz BT-Q1300S which is even smaller and lighter.

http://www.qstarz.com/Products/GPS%2...-Q1300ST-F.htm

---------- Post added at 06:11 PM ---------- Previous post was at 06:07 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lock-N-Load

Curious, were you able to use this with the good old stock Google Maps and have Maps function as expected? I could be interested in this device, but have wondered if once connected to the GPS receiver, does Maps work? I am not interested in a bunch of other apps or Map replacements, I would just like this BT GPS receiver and Maps.

Short answer: it works fine with Maps and Navigation.

Slightly longer answer: With the various BT GPS apps, they rely on the 'mock location' provider that's built in for developers. The app acts like a driver for the information coming in from the external GPS and feeds it to the system as if it were an internal GPS. Typically, you'll have to turn this feature on yourself when you want to use the external GPS as it disables the internal GPS (which isn't really much of an issue - or you wouldn't be here.. so you'll probably just leave it on all the time )

I don't know how that affects the GPS Dongle - but again, if you have that you don't really need ANOTHER GPS, so you'll leave the setting off.

It works with pretty much everything - but so far, all the ones I've tried do not feed the satellite signal strength and discovery messages through - so if you run Chartcross, for example, you probably won't see the satellite status - it'll just suddenly go bang and there you have a fix.
Last edited by TheWerewolf; 24th April 2012 at 04:13 AM.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes