APKTool Updated with Android Lollipop Support

One of the beauties of Android is the level of flexibility we have over our devices. Whether … more

Lollipop Leak for Sprint Galaxy S5, TWRP for Micromax Canvas Magnus – XDA TV

Android 5.0 Lollipop has been leaked for the Sprint … more

Velocity is Like OpenTable on Steroids

We all enjoy a night out with friends or our significant other from time to time. However, there is … more

Android Lollipop Lands for the Sony Xperia Z Ultra

The undisputed king of the beasts–at least in Sony’s current stable,is the … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Droid 3 ICS-Root?

OP y0himba

23rd April 2012, 11:06 PM   |  #1  
y0himba's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag In a house.
Thanks Meter: 46
 
412 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
Donate to Me
More
Hello. I will be receiving a Droid 3 as a warranty replacement tomorrow. It comes with ICS (Ice Cream Sandwich) pre-installed. I have been searching, and cannot find a way to root the Droid 3.

I am hoping I missed it. If someone can point me to the tutorial for rooting the Droid 3 with ICS, I would greatly appreciate it.

Thanks in advance.
23rd April 2012, 11:07 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag PA
Thanks Meter: 86
 
688 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by y0himba

Hello. I will be receiving a Droid 3 as a warranty replacement tomorrow. It comes with ICS (Ice Cream Sandwich) pre-installed. I have been searching, and cannot find a way to root the Droid 3.

I am hoping I missed it. If someone can point me to the tutorial for rooting the Droid 3 with ICS, I would greatly appreciate it.

Thanks in advance.

Where did you hear it will come with ICS...? Because it won't.
23rd April 2012, 11:09 PM   |  #3  
y0himba's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag In a house.
Thanks Meter: 46
 
412 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
Donate to Me
More
I was told this by the Verizon rep. It is a warranty replacement. he specifically said it has ICS on it. No, I am not mistaken. Maybe he was?


Even if it doesn't, I have been unable to find a tutorial for rooting the Droid 3.
23rd April 2012, 11:52 PM   |  #4  
Senate9690's Avatar
Member
Flag Pittsburgh, PA
Thanks Meter: 18
 
96 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
I can assure you that it will not be arriving with ICS, I'm sure he must have been mistaken. It will most likely be running Gingerbread 2.3.4 with the 5.6.890 system software.

Anywho... here is the tutorial you are looking for http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1240130
24th April 2012, 12:22 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag not saying
Thanks Meter: 19
 
360 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Donate to Me
More
If you do get one with ics on it then I will be calling Verizon and having them replace my phone for one like that

Sent from my XT862 using XDA
24th April 2012, 03:42 AM   |  #6  
Willis111's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Flag Ontario
Thanks Meter: 84
 
681 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by leerpsp

If you do get one with ics on it then I will be calling Verizon and having them replace my phone for one like that

Sent from my XT862 using XDA

If you get a phone w/ics system dump before anything else please, if you need a hand lots of people here will help (or on irc) but since moto still has the d3 listed as "evaluating" for ics and haven't even started working on a build I would say the rep is more than likely mistaken. Hopefully not but if moto had an ics build for the d3 I imagine we would have heard about a soak or something. As for your question I would probably try the root for d4 and if that didn't work check out what they're using on the nexus etc
Last edited by Willis111; 24th April 2012 at 03:46 AM.
24th April 2012, 04:09 AM   |  #7  
MrObvious's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Wichita KS
Thanks Meter: 273
 
1,960 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
More
If you do get ICS please tweet Hash. We really could benefit from it.

Sent from my DROID3 using XDA
24th April 2012, 06:57 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Flag PA
Thanks Meter: 86
 
688 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
We would still have a locked bootloader and the same kernel issues though. I'd put money on the rep being wrong, but I'd like to be proven wrong.
25th April 2012, 01:27 AM   |  #9  
Recognized Contributor
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 239
 
889 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Donate to Me
More
so what version of android did you end up getting on the d3?

Sent from my A100 using Tapatalk 2
25th April 2012, 01:30 AM   |  #10  
y0himba's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag In a house.
Thanks Meter: 46
 
412 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
Donate to Me
More
You folks were right. He was wrong. It has 2.3.4.

It runs pretty fast, compares well to the DX2. I wanted CM ROM on it, but none are completely working. Camera has issues GSM FCs and so forth. I just wish my DX2 would work. Haven't used a physical keyboard in a while either.

What do you folks think of your Droid 3s?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes