5,594,748 Members 36,317 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

New Wifi Tether (integrated Charge profile)

Tip us?
 
Det0natoR
Old
(Last edited by Det0natoR; 23rd April 2012 at 04:07 PM.)
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 19
Posts: 65
Join Date: Feb 2010
Default New Wifi Tether (integrated Charge profile)

Just wanted to inform everyone that there is a new version of Wifi Tether that has native support for our Charge. This is not my work, I simply wanted to share this update with everyone!

Version 3.1 Beta 14

http://code.google.com/p/android-wif...downloads/list

Edit: Unchecking "WiFi-driver reload" yields me the best results...everything else is on auto.
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to Det0natoR For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
KarateExplosion6
Old
#2  
KarateExplosion6's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 51
Posts: 542
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: New Jersey
Quote:
Originally Posted by Det0natoR View Post
Just wanted to inform everyone that there is a new version of Wifi Tether that has native support for our Charge. This is not my work, I simply wanted to share this update with everyone!

Version 3.1 Beta 14

http://code.google.com/p/android-wif...downloads/list

Edit: Unchecking "WiFi-driver reload" yields me the best results...everything else is on auto.
Very interesting... Have you checked the DL speeds--are you getting 3G or 4G speed?
 
mromblad
Old
#3  
Member
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 54
Join Date: May 2008
I tested this out yesterday. Works fine. I didn't do a speed test but it connected and ran smooth with the charge setting. The only downside is that wifi would not work until a reboot after turning it off.
 
indyssee
Old
(Last edited by indyssee; 24th April 2012 at 02:54 PM.)
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 67
Posts: 196
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by mromblad View Post
I tested this out yesterday. Works fine. I didn't do a speed test but it connected and ran smooth with the charge setting. The only downside is that wifi would not work until a reboot after turning it off.
I used it and didn't have that problem. Did you uncheck the setting mentioned in OP? Also this is the way I installed it: uninstall previous version (I also wipe data with Titanium), reboot, install new version and setup way listed in OP, start and stop wifi tether, reboot again. Whether coincidence or not, thats how I did it and I can start and stop at will. Hope it helps for you.

Sent from my SCH-I510 using XDA
The Following User Says Thank You to indyssee For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
mromblad
Old
#5  
Member
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 54
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by indyssee View Post
I used it and didn't have that problem. Did you uncheck the setting mentioned in OP? Also this is the way I installed it: uninstall previous version (I also wipe data with Titanium), reboot, install new version and setup way listed in OP, start and stop wifi tether, reboot again. Whether coincidence or not, thats how I did it and I can start and stop at will. Hope it helps for you.

Sent from my SCH-I510 using XDA
thanks, missed that line in my excitement, works great now.
 
shrike1978
Old
#6  
shrike1978's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3094
Posts: 3,413
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Atlanta, GA

 
DONATE TO ME
They've released this version on the Play Store as well. I just tested it and it works wonderfully, as long as you uncheck the Wifi driver reload option. As an above posted mentioned, I did have to reboot my phone after I installed to get it to work correctly. I also cleared my old Wifi Tether settings from Superuser and let it create new ones.
My HTC Rezound Development:
CounterShrike (Heavily modified CM9 - Aroma Installer) - PAC-Man (CM10/AOKP/Paranoid Android hybrid) - Ermahgerd Kernel (ICS/JB AOSP kernel)

My smartphone history: iPhone (Retired) - iPhone 3G (Retired) - iPhone 3GS (Retired) - Samsung Droid Charge (Retired) - HTC Rezound (Dev phone) - Samsung Galaxy Note II (Current)

All of my work is open source: My Github
Donations are never expected, but always appreciated.
The Following User Says Thank You to shrike1978 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
KarateExplosion6
Old
#7  
KarateExplosion6's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 51
Posts: 542
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: New Jersey
Interesting indeed... I will have to Speed Test from my tethered PC later today to confirm 4G speeds. The project description still says "3G" without mention of 4G...

Sent from my SCH-I510 using xda premium

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Motorola Droid RAZR HD and M to Receive KitKat in a “Few More Weeks”

Verizon and Motorola shocked us all back in November when … more

[APK] YouTube Update to 5.6 Now Lets You Cast Live Video to Your Chromecast

Earlier today, we talked about how Google brought two new apps to … more

[OTA Captured] Android 4.4.2 Now Rolling Out to the AT&T Galaxy S 4 Active

A little under two months ago, AT&T started rolling out … more