FORUMS

Moto X Style, Moto X Play and Moto G Forums Are Here!

The latest family members of the new generation of Motorola devices are … more

Galaxy Unpacked: What is Samsung Going to Unveil?

Amidst all the hype of the OnePlus 2 and the rain of Moto 2015 news, Samsung tried … more

Arrow Launcher: Good Effort Without Direction

Microsoft’s Android expansion has been well received on the productivity front, but … more

Two New Moto X and New Moto G – Specs & Details

Today’s Moto event just ended and now we have a clear look at all of … more

[ROM][SGH-I777][4.0.4] CyanogenMod 9 nightly builds | DISCUSSION THREAD

2,184 posts
Thanks Meter: 3,728
 
By atinm, Retired Recognized Developer on 28th March 2012, 11:39 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
24th April 2012, 06:22 PM |#1891  
R2D2_SW's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 39
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by beerbaronstatic

Have any of your apps updated recently? An app update is always a potential cause

Good point. However, when I restore, I get the message saying that some apps have updates available but I don't download the updates. So this means, my apps status is the same as it was when I originally made the backup, and therefore I should not get an RILJ wakelock I would assume.
 
 
24th April 2012, 06:50 PM |#1892  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 28
 
More
GPS was working great on 4/17 but now it stopped and can't find a lock (navigation is always searching for GPS)

What happened? I haven't flashed anything new (still on 4/17)

Sent from my SGH-I777 using xda premium
24th April 2012, 08:33 PM |#1893  
KJ7409's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Buffalo
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by harleydad82

I would like this to be true, but i've been reading so many ppl having problems, and some are doing a full wipe. Anyone else? I'm wanting to keep up but, don't want to start a bunch of problems. Once i flash the latest nightly, what needs to be done with the storage?

the full wipe was required if you installed the NFC enabler mod, as it is now implemented into the ROM. you should be fine.
The Following User Says Thank You to KJ7409 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th April 2012, 08:33 PM |#1894  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 105
 
More
It never locked for me on 4/17 unless I used a GPS fix app, I currently use faster fix and have to use it every time I use navigation
Edit: just used GPS for first time on 4/23, locked in a few seconds with no fix needed.
Last edited by butikofer08; 24th April 2012 at 08:37 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to butikofer08 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th April 2012, 09:07 PM |#1895  
Senior Member
Flag Las Vegas
Thanks Meter: 19
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by butikofer08

It never locked for me on 4/17 unless I used a GPS fix app, I currently use faster fix and have to use it every time I use navigation
Edit: just used GPS for first time on 4/23, locked in a few seconds with no fix needed.

That's good to hear thanks for the update. I do have a question how did the gyro (compass) work for you when you were using gps? I heard from a few post that it was a lil wonky in the past few nightlies. thanks in advance.
24th April 2012, 09:11 PM |#1896  
thracemerin's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 5,825
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by aj9507

That's good to hear thanks for the update. I do have a question how did the gyro (compass) work for you when you were using gps? I heard from a few post that it was a lil wonky in the past few nightlies. thanks in advance.

Compass works while GPS is active since the GPS can figure out which direction you are facing, without GPS however the compass is still wonky, it has to do with the open source sensor HAL, Entropy said in the GT-I9100 thread that atm its either the light sensor or the compass, only one will work at a time, they're working on it.
The Following User Says Thank You to thracemerin For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th April 2012, 09:13 PM |#1897  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 28
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by butikofer08

It never locked for me on 4/17 unless I used a GPS fix app, I currently use faster fix and have to use it every time I use navigation
Edit: just used GPS for first time on 4/23, locked in a few seconds with no fix needed.

Did 4/23 or another update since 4/17 fix something GPS related?

If not, this observation might just be noise-- like my initial improved GPS performance on 4/17

Sent from my SGH-I777 using xda premium
24th April 2012, 09:22 PM |#1898  
Lekerstein's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 80
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by KJ7409

the full wipe was required if you installed the NFC enabler mod, as it is now implemented into the ROM. you should be fine.

Ah, right, that's why I didn't have to do full wipe - I didn't previously have the NFC hack. As such, I haven't had any issues with just wiping cache and dalvik from 4/17 to 4/22.

So to make this as simple as possible: if coming from 4/17 or earlier and you DIDNT have the NFC hack, just wipe cache and dalvik. Don't even worry about dealing with anything concerning mount points - its under the hood and does not affect anything you do as long as you haven't previously fracked it up (as they would say in Battlestar Galactica). Do the full wipe if you had the NFC hack previously.

Someone else can correct me if this is wrong, but it has worked perfectly for me.

Sent from my SGH-I777 using XDA
The Following User Says Thank You to Lekerstein For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th April 2012, 09:27 PM |#1899  
Senior Member
Flag Las Vegas
Thanks Meter: 19
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by thracemerin

Compass works while GPS is active since the GPS can figure out which direction you are facing, without GPS however the compass is still wonky, it has to do with the open source sensor HAL, Entropy said in the GT-I9100 thread that atm its either the light sensor or the compass, only one will work at a time, they're working on it.


K thanks for the clarification. Again thanks to the CM team and all who are involved
24th April 2012, 11:10 PM |#1900  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 25
 
More
4/23 build is working great!! For some reason I had to go back to CWM and flash gapps a second time after fresh install but no big deal. Rom is running great and GPS is fantastic! On older builds my GPS location at work was always on the other side of the road down the block (only noticed at work). Now it shows me exactly where I am at.

Data speeds/stability seem like they are better as well?! Oh, I tested beam functionality and it works! I had some contact info passed over from an a Nexus S.
Last edited by avus_m3; 24th April 2012 at 11:13 PM.
24th April 2012, 11:52 PM |#1901  
Senior Recognized Developer
Flag Owego, NY
Thanks Meter: 25,323
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by CNLiberal

Entropy,

I've heard you make the 650mA comment before. But you never cited your source. So I did a Google Search (imagine that!) and found what you were referring to here. That shows the I9100 only capable of a 650mA charge. Freaking ridiculous!

Let's think about this. Samsung makes the I9100/I777. They produce/sell a car dock device. Using the stock Samsung ROM, you could not have auto-brightness set, and have Google Nav working, and be using this car charger and have the battery actually charge. How did Samsung even think this would work? Tell me I'm mathing wrong somewhere, because it makes no sense to me.

Also, I don't think I ever heard back on CM9 having USBAudio implemented? I asked a while ago in this thread.

Thanks for all the hard work! I'm loving this ROM! The phone however, leaves a little to be desired in the power department :)

My source is that video, the MAX8922 datasheet, and my own measurements with CurrentWidget.

As to USB DACs - I don't own one so nothing I can do to implement.
The Following User Says Thank You to Entropy512 For This Useful Post: [ View ]

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
cm9, cyanogenmod, ice cream sandwich, ics, teamhacksung
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes