Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,814,319 Members 51,381 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Force close every time with the camera app

Tip us?
 
realoutlawdave
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 15
Join Date: Nov 2010
Default Force close every time with the camera app

i have a samgsung captivate i rooted and put cyanogenmod on for my girlfriend but the camera applicaton FC every time. ive searched this forum and xda to no avail. before anyone asks it was a clean install and i wiped everything....please help!!
 
bravomail
Old
#2  
bravomail's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 338
Posts: 949
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Detroit
There are also files on /sdcard which might affect your camera. Things like thumbnails, cache etc. Try to find and eradicate those.
Author of Nostalgia 8 for ATT SGS3, 1.5, 2.3 and 4.0.4 ICS ROMs for Samsung Captivate. ROM and APK compressor.
The Following User Says Thank You to bravomail For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
realoutlawdave
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 15
Join Date: Nov 2010
Default Force close every time with the camera app

I've cleared those...and as an update to this thread i have upgraded to ics...now the app doesn't crash but i get a black viewfinder for photo and video (multiple apps)
 
patrick8996
Old
#4  
patrick8996's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 756
Posts: 670
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Oregon

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by realoutlawdave View Post
I've cleared those...and as an update to this thread i have upgraded to ics...now the app doesn't crash but i get a black viewfinder for photo and video (multiple apps)
I thought cyanogenmod had problems with the camera, Try flashing another ICS rom and see if it FC's
TEAM REMICS
(CLICK ME FOR OFFICIAL WEBSITE)



My ROMS:

Captivate: CLICK HERE
Vibrant: CLICK HERE
The Following User Says Thank You to patrick8996 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
realoutlawdave
Old
(Last edited by realoutlawdave; 25th April 2012 at 10:21 AM.)
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 15
Join Date: Nov 2010
the ics rom i'm using isnt cyanogenmod btw.


no more force close but a black view instead
 
bravomail
Old
#6  
bravomail's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 338
Posts: 949
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Detroit
checkdisk your SDCard. then copy to PC and then delete every JPEG and PNG picture on SDCard.
Author of Nostalgia 8 for ATT SGS3, 1.5, 2.3 and 4.0.4 ICS ROMs for Samsung Captivate. ROM and APK compressor.
 
realoutlawdave
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 15
Join Date: Nov 2010
the black screen happened before there was a sd card in the phone and without any pictures being taken and with and without a sim card...
 
Wdustin1
Old
#8  
Wdustin1's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 318
Posts: 1,117
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Wichita, KS
I had this same issue before. Have you tried returning to stock to see if it happens.

Sent from my SGH-I897 using xda premium
 
realoutlawdave
Old
#9  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 15
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wdustin1 View Post
I had this same issue before. Have you tried returning to stock to see if it happens.

Sent from my SGH-I897 using xda premium
haven't tried that....could you perhaps direct me to where i can get the stock files?
 
4-2ndtwin
Old
#10  
4-2ndtwin's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2,481
Posts: 3,037
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Arkansas

 
DONATE TO ME
^
Sticky thread in the Captivate Development Forum.

Sent by XDA Premium App





The Following User Says Thank You to 4-2ndtwin For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes