FORUMS

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (Apr 17 – 24)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

Glimpse Notifications: Easier Lockscreen Notifications

Lollipop brought a revamp to the lockscreen, taking away custom widgets but … more

What Are the Best Looking Apps on Android?

As more developers are updating their apps with Material Design elements, we’re … more

Cyngn Explained: Who’s Cyanogen, What’s Cyanogen OS?

While Cyanogen, Inc has been the source of many headlines lately, there … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Time Warner Cable app for ICS (Fixed for Rooted Users)

20th April 2012, 01:51 AM |#81  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 46
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by b00sted

stuff said he does programing for 50 a hr I hear :P

if i could afford that amount.I would freaking subscribe to timewarner haha
 
 
20th April 2012, 10:53 PM |#82  
scm_crash's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 60
 
More
First, I want to thank everyone involved in making this work for rooted phones.


Now, my little rant:

I don't like Time Warner. I'm sure most of us don't and we're forced to use them because they have a geographic monopoly. Of course, their cable box is the absolute worst. I preferred my parent's U-Verse boxes and while I hate AT&T more than Time Warner, given the opportunity I would switch to U-Verse.

Now Time Warner gives you the ability to watch Live TV. But, like others have mentioned, there's virtually no point to having Live TV on your phone at home when you have a TV connected to a higher quality stream. Of course, there is the "crapper" scenario, but I just pause the TV while I'm on the crapper. Not like I'm missing anything.

Time Warner continuously strives to suck more and more. There is no end to their suckiness. They provide sub-par HD service, sub-par internet service, and sub-par customer service. They even gave me a DVR box that's so old it doesn't have 1080p support.

::rant off::

I can't get this app to work at all, but I realized it won't benefit me in any way. I have a 50" screen in my living room and I'm picking up a 46" for my bedroom, so I can't think of where having TV on my phone inside my house would be useful.

But I wanted to mention for the developers (hope this helps):

When I try to log in, I have to turn my WiFi off first so it can authenticate, then when I want to hit the live TV button, I have to turn the WiFi on again. However, for whatever reason my phone just goes unresponsive for about 10 seconds before Android tells me that the app isn't responding and asks me to wait or close. If I keep the WiFi off and try to use the TV it tells me I need to be on the home network.
24th April 2012, 02:52 PM |#83  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
I am running the app on my rooted 4g Xoom running peter alfonsos ics rom.

Never have I seen the rooted error, on either version of the app.

However, here is my situation. I have roadrunner for internet, and directv for cable. My parents however have roadrunner and twc cable. So I log in as them, it sees their dvr but won't work with my roadrunner. So until a tweak, it has to be the same wifi in the same house.

Haven't tried it over on their wifi yet.

Can't wait to get this working off of the home network
24th April 2012, 05:15 PM |#84  
Member
NYC
Thanks Meter: 42
 
More
works like a charm on my HP TouchPad. Used it for about a hr or two continuously
24th April 2012, 06:25 PM |#85  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 46
 
More
Have you tried to reinstall the app from the link?

Sent from my DROID RAZR using XDA Premium App
24th April 2012, 06:27 PM |#86  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 46
 
More
You have to be using wifi in the house which has twc subscription. They have some kind of authentication for that. Currently this app works only with wifi.

Sent from my DROID RAZR using XDA Premium App
30th April 2012, 03:58 AM |#87  
Junior Member
Flag dallas
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
thanks working perfectly on transformer ics 4.0 rooted,, wish i could get rid of the jitter but thats the apps fault
30th April 2012, 05:04 AM |#88  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 335
 
More
Working great on my TeamEOS Nightly running Xoom as well! Great Job!
14th May 2012, 01:10 AM |#89  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
I take it no one found a way to get around the home network issue?
14th May 2012, 05:29 AM |#90  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 46
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyMan386

I take it no one found a way to get around the home network issue?

Nope still does not work. Just fyi that HBO go is available on ics and you can stream stuff over the network.

Sent from my DROID RAZR using XDA Premium App
Last edited by droidxrooting; 15th May 2012 at 03:35 AM.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Droid RAZR General by ThreadRank