FORUMS

Which IO Announcement Are You Most Excited About?

The keynote we had all been waiting for has just ended and it’s time to enjoy … more

Google Launches Google Photos At I/O 2015 Keynote

While rumors have been floating around for a while, the Google I/O 2015 has made … more

Google Now Marches Forward with ‘Now on Tap’

When Google Now was announced three years ago, it revolutionized the mobile … more

I/O 2015: Google Announces App Link Enhancements

During the Google I/O Keynote, VP of Engineering Dave Burke announced that the Android … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] CWM Backups not restoring

24th April 2012, 05:01 PM |#1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Brighton, MI
Thanks Meter: 593
 
Donate to Me
More
I have made multiple backups, but none of them will seem to restore properly. It always fails while restoring system! Any ideas? This is kind of a problem, as when I bootlooped yesterday, I had to wipe data and reinstall my rom.
 
 
24th April 2012, 05:11 PM |#2  
Senior Member
San Diego
Thanks Meter: 54
 
More
Did you try clearing data, cache and dalvik cache before restoring?

What rom were u coming from?
24th April 2012, 05:15 PM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Flag Brighton, MI
Thanks Meter: 593
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by eL_MeXiCaNo

Did you try clearing data, cache and dalvik cache before restoring?

What rom were u coming from?

I have cleared everything, did this from supercharged and Sonya, and possibly stock, but I don't remember
24th April 2012, 06:13 PM |#4  
Senior Member
San Diego
Thanks Meter: 54
 
More
Maybe you have a corrupt SD card and it's not backing up correctly? Did you change the names of the folders?

Because if you came from stock and tried to restore and it didn't work then there must be a physical problem because it sounds you have tried every software method.

You can always send the backed up data to me and ll try to restore it. If it restores for me then theres a software problem on your end, if it doesnt that means your backup got corrupted somehow
The Following User Says Thank You to eL_MeXiCaNo For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th April 2012, 06:29 PM |#5  
OP Senior Member
Flag Brighton, MI
Thanks Meter: 593
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by eL_MeXiCaNo

Maybe you have a corrupt SD card and it's not backing up correctly? Did you change the names of the folders?

Because if you came from stock and tried to restore and it didn't work then there must be a physical problem because it sounds you have tried every software method.

You can always send the backed up data to me and ll try to restore it. If it restores for me then theres a software problem on your end, if it doesnt that means your backup got corrupted somehow

can I just send you /system? I don't want you to have my data

Sent from my MB865 using XDA
24th April 2012, 06:46 PM |#6  
Senior Member
San Diego
Thanks Meter: 54
 
More
haha yea, thats what I meant, I don't need the data, the system is what counts
The Following User Says Thank You to eL_MeXiCaNo For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th April 2012, 08:28 PM |#7  
OP Senior Member
Flag Brighton, MI
Thanks Meter: 593
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by eL_MeXiCaNo

haha yea, thats what I meant, I don't need the data, the system is what counts

Thanks, i'll PM you with a link to download it.
24th April 2012, 08:38 PM |#8  
OP Senior Member
Flag Brighton, MI
Thanks Meter: 593
 
Donate to Me
More
Are there any settings in CWM that could effect this? just an idea as this is drivng me insane and seems to be a problem that only I have. should I wipe the system partition before restoring? or is that a bad idea.
30th April 2012, 09:40 PM |#9  
OP Senior Member
Flag Brighton, MI
Thanks Meter: 593
 
Donate to Me
More
Still having problem
Just want to get this back up top since I'm still having this problem. since others were able to restore it I think it is something on my end. I am working on my reviews project so I want this working, so I am kind of desperate for help. I get this feeling that it is going to be something really simple, but someone please help me.
30th April 2012, 09:49 PM |#10  
Senior Member
Flag New Orleans
Thanks Meter: 400
 
More
It might be your SD card. Try backing up your files, and then formatting the card. Then boot into CWM, make a backup, and try to recover it.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes