Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,769,453 Members 42,087 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

help - 2 arias rendom reboot

Tip us?
 
dimon2242
Old
#11  
dimon2242's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 421
Posts: 832
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Moscow

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by yar2 View Post
I have performed factory resets and all other formats and clear functions in Clockworkmod. Should I refomate the SD card too?

Sent from my Liberty using XDA
Can, because possible errors on the SD card
Google Nexus 4 | Qualcomm Snapdragon S4 Pro
Android L ART runtime <=> Developer Preview
---------
My work:
Unofficial MIUI Xperia P
LG Optimus 4x Lock Screen for Xperia P
Neuro Kernel
HBOOT calculator
 
yar2
Old
#12  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 125
Join Date: Feb 2012
I still have not solved the random reboot issues. I have two Arias with the exact same problem. I think I somehow contaminated the 2nd phone by swaping SD cards and loading a Nandroid backup from the 1st phone. Both phones are rooted.

I have tried loading 4 roms -- Liberated, CM7.1 stable, CM7.2 RC and Menjeni's version of CM9 and have the exact same random reboot problem Seems like the phones works for anywhere from 5 minutes to over an hour and then reboot.

When I load the different ROMs I wipe everything -- the factory data reset, all the caches and re-formats that CWM offers. I also reformatted the SD card and reloaded CWM via Rom Manger in an effort to completely clean the phone. I also ran two a virus/malware scans on the phone and SD card -- which found no errors.

Is there something else I can do to further clean the phones? Since the same problem is with both phones, I seriously doubt its a hardware problem.

Anyone interested in purchasing 2 somewhat functioning Arias?
 
drumist
Old
#13  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 544
Posts: 1,726
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by yar2 View Post
I still have not solved the random reboot issues.
yar2, what HBOOT version do you have on the two devices?
 
yar2
Old
#14  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 125
Join Date: Feb 2012
HBOOT 6.02.1002

Thanks for trying to help me with this!
 
drumist
Old
#15  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 544
Posts: 1,726
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by yar2 View Post
HBOOT 6.02.1002

Thanks for trying to help me with this!
OK. I'm assuming you have an AT&T Aria. If not let me know.

Here's what I'd suggest you do. I'm basically trying the most extreme steps to correct the issue so we can verify if the issue is something that can be corrected or not.

1) Reformat your SD card(s) with SD Formatter 3.1. This tool sometimes fixes hard to detect problems that aren't corrected when formatting with other methods. (Default settings are fine.)

2) Run the AT&T 2.2.2 RUU to revert your phone to almost 100% stock. I say almost because the RUU will NOT change your HBOOT, which means even after doing this process, you will still have S-OFF.

3) Try using the phone with the stock unmodified ROM to see if you experience the random reboots you described. If you do, the rest of the steps are not necessary and it's probably a hardware issue.

4) Install CWM by putting your phone into FASTBOOT mode, then using the Android Flasher utility to install the latest version of Clockworkmod. Use this version: http://www.mediafire.com/?lg6b63aqpi1cvbg (source). If you know how to do this from command line with the fastboot command line tool, that is fine too.

5) Boot into CWM. Do factory reset/wipe data and format system partition. Then install the ROM of your choice. I'd suggest something like a recent version of CM7 since it is very stable. If using CM7, install 20110828 gapps immediately after flashing CM7. Reboot and see how it goes.

Even if you already downloaded any of the above files, delete them and download them again this time around (or check the md5 sums if you know how). It's possible the files were corrupted when you downloaded them before and that is why you keep having problems.

Also, as an aside: Are you using third-party batteries with your devices?
 
yar2
Old
#16  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 125
Join Date: Feb 2012
Default Aria random reboot

Thanks drumist for all you advice! When I did my last attempt at a clean install, I used a spare SD card that had never been in the phone.

Both phones are AT&T Arias with the original batteries. I liked the Aria size so much that I upgraded my wife's expired Iphone contract when AT&T was providing a free Aria upgrade just to have a spare in case I damaged one by rooting. Now I have managed to mess up both phones!

I was thinking my next step would be to go back to a stock state, as you recommend. I was thinking of going even further and un-rooting and S-On. Do you think the problem could be in the Hboot partition? And wouldn't going back to S-on replace the Hboot?

I still think I somehow contaminated the 2nd phone by restoring a Nandriod backup from the first phone. The 2nd phone was working find until I did the restore.

Regardless, I will try what you suggest and let you know the results.
 
drumist
Old
(Last edited by drumist; 24th April 2012 at 06:32 PM.)
#17  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 544
Posts: 1,726
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by yar2 View Post
I was thinking my next step would be to go back to a stock state, as you recommend. I was thinking of going even further and un-rooting and S-On. Do you think the problem could be in the Hboot partition? And wouldn't going back to S-on replace the Hboot?
Reverting the HBOOT to stock (and yes, returning to S-ON) has some risk -- i.e., if you make a mistake during the process, you can permanently brick the device, so I wouldn't recommend that except as a last resort. The RUU will reflash every other partition on your phone back to stock besides the HBOOT and is safe to do, so stick with that.

Quote:
I still think I somehow contaminated the 2nd phone by restoring a Nandriod backup from the first phone. The 2nd phone was working find until I did the restore.
Yeah, it's possible. If that is the case, though, the HBOOT wouldn't be the problem (because Nandroid backups do not touch the HBOOT). The RUU will reflash every partition that Nandroid touches.

If you already tried using a different SD card, then I wouldn't worry about using that SD Formatter tool.
 
yar2
Old
#18  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 125
Join Date: Feb 2012
Can't find a copy of the AT&T 2.2.2 RUU. They took it off the HTC website. The instructions there are for an OTA update, which I can't do since I'm not running the stock rom.

---------- Post added at 02:51 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:12 PM ----------

Never mind. I found a copy of the RUU on my laptop.
 
yar2
Old
#19  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 125
Join Date: Feb 2012
I have installed the hboot drivers and the phone shows up as a device on my computer, but the RUU says it can't find my phone. I am running Windows 7, if that makes any difference.
 
yar2
Old
(Last edited by yar2; 24th April 2012 at 10:48 PM.)
#20  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 125
Join Date: Feb 2012
Got the RUU to load from an XP machine. Bad news is that the phone still randomly reboots.

I guess the only other step is to un-root and S-On. What have I got to lose. Can't use the phones as they are now.

Got a good way to do this?

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Google Glass XE20.1 Update Brings Improved Contacts, Head Nudge, New Cards and Commands

Ever since Google unveiled Android Wear earlier this … more

Remote Control Your Android Device with Monitordroid

The Android OS showsgreat potential in many areas. One of most interesting things that … more

Intel Partners with Unity to Support Android on Intel-Based Devices

Intel, largely known for their long-standing reputation as the king of … more

Device Review: Samsung Gear Live

Recently, Google announced Android Wear to the world. Android Wear is the Android-based initiative from … more