Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,769,519 Members 42,794 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Valhalla-BlackEdition Q & A

Tip us?
 
wizard7926
Old
(Last edited by wizard7926; 6th April 2012 at 06:10 PM.)
#391  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 53
Join Date: Sep 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by eollie View Post
wizard try this. It is a long shot but for some reason it seems to fix mms issues from time to time. Download gosms and use it as your default mms app. My old phone the "stock" messenger app wouldnt let me get mms until I used gosms then it would start working. You can uninstall it and more than likely it will work properly. Not sure why it does this just does.
I actually use GoSMS as my main app, but you mean I should uninstall the stock Messaging app?

Basically, my story goes like this:

- Installed VB, everything was just dandy for a while, MMS works
- Started experiencing slowdown, force closes, battery issues, MMS works
- Installed JuiceDefender, still slowdown, still force closing, battery much better, MMS begins to get spotty
- Adjusted JD settings somehow, MMS completely stops working
- Use Gremlin remover, reinstall fresh VB, left off JD.. MMS still doesn't work

I'm so perplexed, haha. What did I do that my internet works great but MMS doesn't?
 
lumin30
Old
(Last edited by lumin30; 6th April 2012 at 06:21 PM.)
#392  
lumin30's Avatar
Recognized Contributor - OP
Thanks Meter 1161
Posts: 2,204
Join Date: Oct 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
In that case it might be an APN setting.

Go into [Settings], [Wireless and network], [Mobile networks], [Access Point Names], select whatever network it shows, scroll to bottom to [APN type] and see if it says "internet + mms".
If you appreciate my help - Please Hit Thanks!

> > [GUIDE] Stock Froyo to Custom GB Made Easy < <
> > [GUIDE] Heimdall One-Click For Dummies < <
> > [GUIDE] Stock GB 2.3.6 APK Repository < <


THE THANKS BUTTON IS BELOW --------------------------------------------------
 
tozo3
Old
#393  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 16
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Birmingham
Is anyone's phone freezing when you slide the SMS icon to unlock screen. using a different lock screen option now but i noticed that option was freezing my phone
 
lumin30
Old
#394  
lumin30's Avatar
Recognized Contributor - OP
Thanks Meter 1161
Posts: 2,204
Join Date: Oct 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
Did you set the custom app?
If you appreciate my help - Please Hit Thanks!

> > [GUIDE] Stock Froyo to Custom GB Made Easy < <
> > [GUIDE] Heimdall One-Click For Dummies < <
> > [GUIDE] Stock GB 2.3.6 APK Repository < <


THE THANKS BUTTON IS BELOW --------------------------------------------------
 
tozo3
Old
#395  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 16
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Birmingham
Yes under the lockscreen preferences menu
 
lumin30
Old
#396  
lumin30's Avatar
Recognized Contributor - OP
Thanks Meter 1161
Posts: 2,204
Join Date: Oct 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
Try clearing cache partition and dalvik cache, then fix permissions. Remember to let your phone sit 5-10 mins after reboot. Let me know if that works.
If you appreciate my help - Please Hit Thanks!

> > [GUIDE] Stock Froyo to Custom GB Made Easy < <
> > [GUIDE] Heimdall One-Click For Dummies < <
> > [GUIDE] Stock GB 2.3.6 APK Repository < <


THE THANKS BUTTON IS BELOW --------------------------------------------------
 
tozo3
Old
#397  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 16
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Birmingham
I had already done those steps in recovery to no avail. i put ROM manager on phone and run fix permissions from that and reboot -> BOOM/Fixed. Uninstalled rom mgr now but it weird how that ll work.
 
lumin30
Old
#398  
lumin30's Avatar
Recognized Contributor - OP
Thanks Meter 1161
Posts: 2,204
Join Date: Oct 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
***bump****
If you appreciate my help - Please Hit Thanks!

> > [GUIDE] Stock Froyo to Custom GB Made Easy < <
> > [GUIDE] Heimdall One-Click For Dummies < <
> > [GUIDE] Stock GB 2.3.6 APK Repository < <


THE THANKS BUTTON IS BELOW --------------------------------------------------
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to lumin30 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
sixstringsg
Old
#399  
sixstringsg's Avatar
Recognized Developer / Retired Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter 7006
Posts: 5,168
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Dallas, TX

 
DONATE TO ME
Please stay on topic, and resist the urge to flame. Use the report button, that is what it is there for.
Don't like my answer? Whatch this or read this
Are you a dev still using mediafire or dropbox for hosting? PM me up and we'll get that fixed.
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to sixstringsg For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
RaverX3X
Old
#400  
RaverX3X's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 5272
Posts: 4,281
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Cali

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by tozo3 View Post
I had already done those steps in recovery to no avail. i put ROM manager on phone and run fix permissions from that and reboot -> BOOM/Fixed. Uninstalled rom mgr now but it weird how that ll work.

under cwm provided u haven't solved the issues..

Format system data cache

then re install. :P normally clears up alot of leftovers.



So don't you worry your pretty little mind
People throw rocks at things that shine
And life makes love look hard
The stakes are high, the water's rough
But this love is ours

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes