Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,733,331 Members 39,058 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[help] Problems flashing ROMs

Tip us?
 
Vilq85
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 21
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Warsaw / Rzeszˇw
Default [help] Problems flashing ROMs

Hi.

My girlfriend is really fed up with the low amount of memory on her Wildfire S, so I've decided to help I've spent large portions of today and yesterday on:
unlocking the bootloader (using htcdev.com),
rooting (using SuperOneClick http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=803682),
partitioning her microSD (kingston 4 GB, class 2, fat32 + 1GB EXT4 + 256 Swap if I remember correctly),
installing recovery (installed ROMManager and flashed CWM recovery from there)
and experimenting with ROMs.

The problem is that I can't get the ROMs to boot.
I've tried:
1. m1ndh4x8r GB2.3.5 - http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1432259 both odexed and deodexed - bootloop on the white HTC logo
2. Wildfire S Cracker GB2.3.5 - http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1479002 - waited almost 30 minutes for the HTC logo to disappear and boot animation to start, but that never happened.
3. HenseMod 6 - http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1434497 - the only ROM that managed to boot without problems. However I need all the HTC widgets, so I'm intending to switch to a different one.

I've also tried staying with the stock ROM and flashing a different kernel (OC Kernel http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1430677) so that link2SD would work with EXT4, but that didn't boot also.


Does anyone here have any idea what could be the source of all these problems? Maybe you could suggest something? A different Sense ROM, some "procedure" that could help me.
Please, I just want her to be happy

Cheers!
 
Cold Ice
Old
#2  
Cold Ice's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 71
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Warstein
Sound's like a Kernel Panic. I dont know how to solve it. But I had a great Sense rom this worked for me.
Here you are:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1359727

I hope this will fix the Problem, and it's a really great rom.
The Following User Says Thank You to Cold Ice For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
gq455402012
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 29
Posts: 122
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: hamburg
before you flash the rom,did you wipe data and wipe cache,and what is the version of your recovery?you need use the newest 5.028 is better.
The Following User Says Thank You to gq455402012 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
striker280
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 309
Join Date: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vilq85 View Post
Hi.

My girlfriend is really fed up with the low amount of memory on her Wildfire S, so I've decided to help I've spent large portions of today and yesterday on:
unlocking the bootloader (using htcdev.com),
rooting (using SuperOneClick http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=803682),
partitioning her microSD (kingston 4 GB, class 2, fat32 + 1GB EXT4 + 256 Swap if I remember correctly),
installing recovery (installed ROMManager and flashed CWM recovery from there)
and experimenting with ROMs.

The problem is that I can't get the ROMs to boot.
I've tried:
1. m1ndh4x8r GB2.3.5 - http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1432259 both odexed and deodexed - bootloop on the white HTC logo
2. Wildfire S Cracker GB2.3.5 - http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1479002 - waited almost 30 minutes for the HTC logo to disappear and boot animation to start, but that never happened.
3. HenseMod 6 - http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1434497 - the only ROM that managed to boot without problems. However I need all the HTC widgets, so I'm intending to switch to a different one.

I've also tried staying with the stock ROM and flashing a different kernel (OC Kernel http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1430677) so that link2SD would work with EXT4, but that didn't boot also.


Does anyone here have any idea what could be the source of all these problems? Maybe you could suggest something? A different Sense ROM, some "procedure" that could help me.
Please, I just want her to be happy

Cheers!
try cm7 to see if the rom boots up. Remember to wipe data,cache and dalvik cache
The Following User Says Thank You to striker280 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Vilq85
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 21
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Warsaw / Rzeszˇw
Quote:
Originally Posted by striker280 View Post
Remember to wipe data,cache and dalvik cache
Quote:
Originally Posted by gq455402012 View Post
before you flash the rom,did you wipe data and wipe cache,and what is the version of your recovery?you need use the newest 5.028 is better.
I always wipe data, cache and dalvik, just in case.
I can't check it now, but I installed Rom Manager just yesterday so I assume, that it flashes the latest version of the recovery.

I'll be able to experiment more on Wednesday. I'll try different roms, maybe the same roms, but immediately flash different kernel etc.

I'll let you know how it turns out.

Thanks
 
gyanos422
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 5
Join Date: Mar 2011
I have the MetroPCS version of the WFS that I've been messing with. I got the bootloader unlocked, I got it rooted, and I got S-off (without xtc clip).

When I try to flash cm7, it throws up an error and won't install. I tried m1ndh4x8r sense 3.5 and it 'worked' except com.Android.phone kept fc'ing making it unusable. wifi also didn't work. I'd like to have sense 3.5 but would also like cm7. i also tried the cm9 roms but they don't want to install either. Is there a ROM that has both (cm7 and sense) that's stable with working wifi? I'm not using the phone for calling, just messing with mods and such but may activate it at some point if I find a suitable ROM for it.

Sent from my LG-VM670 using XDA
 
gq455402012
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 29
Posts: 122
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: hamburg
[QUOTE=gyanos422;25221611]I have the MetroPCS version of the WFS that I've been messing with. I got the bootloader unlocked, I got it rooted, and I got S-off (without xtc clip).
you unlocked the bootloader,your hboot is 1.080099 or 1.090099,but you can s-off without XTC?how you did it?I know if you want s-off,the hboot ony 0.90000,how you downgrade the hbooot from 1.080099 to 0.90000?

Tags
can't flash rom, problem flashing roms, wildfire s
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes