Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,780,441 Members 44,373 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Best TMobile Plan

Tip us?
 
ctowne
Old
#21  
ctowne's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 701
Posts: 4,034
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Orono, Maine
Doesn't google voice use plan minutes?? And just wanted to rant somewhere and say T-mobile's coverage is absolutely horrible in Maine. No 4G anywhere and portland is the only city with 3G. The whole state is 2G/EDGE and it gets very depressing
 
creglenn
Old
#22  
creglenn's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 36
Posts: 254
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Raleigh, NC

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by ctowne View Post
Doesn't google voice use plan minutes?? And just wanted to rant somewhere and say T-mobile's coverage is absolutely horrible in Maine. No 4G anywhere and portland is the only city with 3G. The whole state is 2G/EDGE and it gets very depressing
The Google voice app does use minutes but the groove ip is a 3rd party app that uses Google servers to connect. This way only uses data not minutes

Sent from my Porn Infested G2x using Tapatalk 2
Blackberry 8330> G1> Moto Cliq> Blackberry 8520> MyTouch> Blackberry 9700> HTC Touch Pro 2> iPhone 3Gs> Unlocked HTC Hero(UK)> MyTouch Slide> HD2> Samsung Vibrant> Nexus One> Dell Streak> Sidekick 4G> Samsung Infuse> HTC Inspire> Nexus S> MyTouch 4G> HTC Sensation> iPhone 4> G2x--Who knows what's next!!!!!
 
jaywillsoul
Old
#23  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 101
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Vineland
Quote:
Originally Posted by ctowne View Post
Doesn't google voice use plan minutes?? And just wanted to rant somewhere and say T-mobile's coverage is absolutely horrible in Maine. No 4G anywhere and portland is the only city with 3G. The whole state is 2G/EDGE and it gets very depressing
Then out of curiosity, guess this would be more directed to T-Mobile, but then why in hell would they sell phones claiming 4G if you can't even get it? I'd sell you 3G say nothing of 4G so as not to piss you off. Welcome to the world of corporate sales associates who can't do their jobs.
 
creglenn
Old
#24  
creglenn's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 36
Posts: 254
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Raleigh, NC

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaywillsoul View Post
Then out of curiosity, guess this would be more directed to T-Mobile, but then why in hell would they sell phones claiming 4G if you can't even get it? I'd sell you 3G say nothing of 4G so as not to piss you off. Welcome to the world of corporate sales associates who can't do their jobs.
The small print hides the important stuff lol. I get very good 4g signal. They just cater to the bigger market's to get 4g first which is stupid

Sent from my Porn Infested G2x using Tapatalk 2
Blackberry 8330> G1> Moto Cliq> Blackberry 8520> MyTouch> Blackberry 9700> HTC Touch Pro 2> iPhone 3Gs> Unlocked HTC Hero(UK)> MyTouch Slide> HD2> Samsung Vibrant> Nexus One> Dell Streak> Sidekick 4G> Samsung Infuse> HTC Inspire> Nexus S> MyTouch 4G> HTC Sensation> iPhone 4> G2x--Who knows what's next!!!!!
 
kookooktchoo
Old
#25  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 23
Posts: 135
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by creglenn View Post
I have a G2x and I have the TMobile $30 unlimited text and 5GB data plan with 100 minutes. I never go over 5GB so it's like I have I unlimited since I never get throttled SMS it's like I have unlimited calls since I use Google voice voip apps to get free minutes. I use either talkatone or groove IP...both are great and work great as long as you have wifi or 4G. This is the cheapest and best plan I have found plus not to mention it's prepaid so I'm not even in a contract.

Sent from my Porn Infested G2x using Tapatalk 2
How do you go about getting this plan? Do you have to call or something? I remember when I first set up my phone, they told me the $30 plan was only available to people who bought a phone from prepaid-phones.t-mobile.com
 
IRASadPanda
Old
#26  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 296
Posts: 1,750
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Johns Creek
Quote:
Originally Posted by creglenn View Post
I'm not saying this is for everybody but where I live I get great TMobile reception and fast 4g so I choose not to pay extra for minutes. the 5GB of data is what I'm paying for kuz at the end of the day anything you need to do on a smartphone can be done thru data. This plan fits me.

Sent from my Porn Infested G2x using Tapatalk 2
I have around 4GB upload with the same DL as you

Sent from Narnia
The sun is slowly fallin', we all should surely die eventually.
So what's your calling? Oh, you left your phone behind?
 
creglenn
Old
#27  
creglenn's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 36
Posts: 254
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Raleigh, NC

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by kookooktchoo View Post
How do you go about getting this plan? Do you have to call or something? I remember when I first set up my phone, they told me the $30 plan was only available to people who bought a phone from prepaid-phones.t-mobile.com
You can only get it if you are using a new sim card

Sent from my Porn Infested G2x using Tapatalk 2
Blackberry 8330> G1> Moto Cliq> Blackberry 8520> MyTouch> Blackberry 9700> HTC Touch Pro 2> iPhone 3Gs> Unlocked HTC Hero(UK)> MyTouch Slide> HD2> Samsung Vibrant> Nexus One> Dell Streak> Sidekick 4G> Samsung Infuse> HTC Inspire> Nexus S> MyTouch 4G> HTC Sensation> iPhone 4> G2x--Who knows what's next!!!!!
 
creglenn
Old
#28  
creglenn's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 36
Posts: 254
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Raleigh, NC

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRASadPanda View Post
I have around 4GB upload with the same DL as you

Sent from Narnia
Wow I'm in NC

Sent from my Porn Infested G2x using Tapatalk 2
Blackberry 8330> G1> Moto Cliq> Blackberry 8520> MyTouch> Blackberry 9700> HTC Touch Pro 2> iPhone 3Gs> Unlocked HTC Hero(UK)> MyTouch Slide> HD2> Samsung Vibrant> Nexus One> Dell Streak> Sidekick 4G> Samsung Infuse> HTC Inspire> Nexus S> MyTouch 4G> HTC Sensation> iPhone 4> G2x--Who knows what's next!!!!!
 
IRASadPanda
Old
#29  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 296
Posts: 1,750
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Johns Creek
Quote:
Originally Posted by creglenn View Post
Wow I'm in NC

Sent from my Porn Infested G2x using Tapatalk 2
GA here

Sent from Narnia
The sun is slowly fallin', we all should surely die eventually.
So what's your calling? Oh, you left your phone behind?
 
ciscisc
Old
#30  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 11
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by kookooktchoo View Post
How do you go about getting this plan? Do you have to call or something? I remember when I first set up my phone, they told me the $30 plan was only available to people who bought a phone from prepaid-phones.t-mobile.com
it needs to be a new SIM activation... not necessarily a new PHONE.

So.. order a SIM off t-mo ($1).

Then activate it online, choosing the $30 plan.

Close your other account... Port the Number to Google Voice if you are attached to it.. and you are all set!

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Pushbullet Updated with SMS Send Ability

Pushbullet is one of thoseapplications that every Android lover should have installed on his or … more

[OTA] Nvidia Shield Tablet Receives its First Update

The Nvidia Shield Tabletis the latest toy from one of the largest desktop graphics … more

Quick Control Panel Updated, Adds Notification Support

As some of you may remember, earlier this year we spoke about Quick Control Panel by … more

Narrate Makes Note Taking Efficient and Beautiful

Technology has put life on the fast track. Whether its travelling to multiple places or … more