FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

TF101 USB Kit

33 posts
Thanks Meter: 5
 
By denhib, Member on 24th April 2012, 01:53 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
 
 
24th April 2012, 02:09 PM |#2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 18
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by denhib

http://www.amazon.com/BLACK-TF101-ep...pd_sim_sbs_e_1

Has anyone used one of these before?

Yeah, I've got one. It does what it says but a word of warning, it sits loosely when connected to the transformer. It's very handy though as I don't have a dock and so far everything I've plugged into it works well.
24th April 2012, 03:23 PM |#3  
Goatshocker's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 416
 
More
I just got mine today (actually 30mins ago).
Already taken it apart and are going to modify it. I dont fancy having 1dm extra height on my tablet, especially not on the underside. (edit: ok I lied, its actually only 8.3cm..... only...)

And yes, it sits quite loosely.

Im going to post a guide if my mod is successful. I am also going to try and add a charger port on it.
24th April 2012, 03:48 PM |#4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 18
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Goatshocker

I just got mine today (actually 30mins ago).
Already taken it apart and are going to modify it. I dont fancy having 1dm extra height on my tablet, especially not on the underside. (edit: ok I lied, its actually only 8.3cm..... only...)

And yes, it sits quite loosely.

Im going to post a guide if my mod is successful. I am also going to try and add a charger port on it.

I don't know if it would be possible but how about adding another usb port. This would save using a USB hub to connect more than one peripheral to the transformer.
24th April 2012, 08:17 PM |#5  
Goatshocker's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 416
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by michael_duvalle

I don't know if it would be possible but how about adding another usb port. This would save using a USB hub to connect more than one peripheral to the transformer.


Simply adding another usb port isnt possible, you still need the hub control chip.
That would be possible to do but would require you to make a new 'case' for the adapter, and it would get quite big (relatively).
25th April 2012, 03:44 AM |#6  
denhib's Avatar
OP Member
Florida
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by michael_duvalle

Yeah, I've got one. It does what it says but a word of warning, it sits loosely when connected to the transformer. It's very handy though as I don't have a dock and so far everything I've plugged into it works well.

That was what I was hoping as I don't have a dock either. I wonder if you can plug a wireless keyboard/mouse adapter into it.
25th April 2012, 07:11 AM |#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Anyone know of a good place I can get this from in the UK. Can't seem to find it anywhere!
25th April 2012, 09:04 AM |#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 91
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by denhib

That was what I was hoping as I don't have a dock either. I wonder if you can plug a wireless keyboard/mouse adapter into it.

Yes, you can. I tried with my set (from Acer Aspire PC) and it worked without any problems.
25th April 2012, 12:10 PM |#9  
Junior Member
Flag Perth
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
You can find them on ebay. Relatively expensive though.

---------- Post added at 12:10 PM ---------- Previous post was at 12:08 PM ----------

In fact, there's one going right now, fairly cheap, but you might be bidding against me....

seller is 'buyspry'
25th April 2012, 12:30 PM |#10  
Goatshocker's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 416
 
More
I really miss a right-click feature when using a mouse while remote controlling a PC :/... not that that has anything to do with the adapter though.

Im not sure I should post my guide on how to add a cable to the adapter... It wasnt my best day and it turned out quite disasterous I somehow managed to kill 2 solder points so had to find alternative source lol

And I gave up on the charging port... I couldnt for the life of me figure out which pins is for charging. The ones I thought (by comparing to the original charger cable) turned out to just short-circut the TF
22nd May 2012, 10:37 PM |#11  
rafael_mfr's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Recife
Thanks Meter: 68
 
Donate to Me
More
Just ordered this item on DX:



Let's see if I got a default USB port while without the dock, using my plain cable from TF101 attached to this usb female adapter.

Yes, I've a dock but most of the time I don't use it. I preffer use it inside a leather case which doesn't fits the dock.


LINK ON DX
2 pieces for only USD$2.20

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes