Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,730,865 Members 45,015 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] S-off backup failed

Tip us?
 
buckifvr
Old
#21  
buckifvr's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 113
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kennnny1 View Post
SOLUTION!: V0.2 was the culprit. Using v0.1 I had no issues whatsoever. Here's a link to a thread where Graymonkey44 provided the older version: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=762

1. All files in same location as adb/fastboot.
2. Unlocked and rooted
3. USB debugging on
4. SD card is brand new, formatted and mounted.
5. ControlBear was run as admin.

Am I missing something? I see I'm not the only one with this problem, but I haven't seen a solution yet.

"======== ControlBear version 0.2 for JuopunutBear S-OFF ==========
Starting up......
Backing up......
adb server is out of date. killing...
* daemon started successfully *
Transferring backups....
Backup FAILED!!
Exiting!!
Press ENTER to exit....."

Update: Shutting off HTC Sync (I didn't even realize it was running...) Shortened the result to this:

"======== ControlBear version 0.2 for JuopunutBear S-OFF ==========
Starting up......
Backing up......
Transferring backups....
Backup FAILED!!
Exiting!!
Press ENTER to exit....."



Good Luck!
I just tried to run ControlBear version 0.2.1 and I get the exact same error message as Kennnny1. Anyone have a solution for this.
 
SteveDusa
Old
#22  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 135
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: LAX
I'll share my experience with the S-Off, which you can view it here:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...postcount=1034

Anyway I think the most critical part is the wire trick.
 
Kennnny1
Old
#23  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 58
Posts: 150
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by buckifvr View Post
I just tried to run ControlBear version 0.2.1 and I get the exact same error message as Kennnny1. Anyone have a solution for this.
Is "v0.2.1" a typo? Make sure you're running v0.1.

Sent from my ADR6425LVW using XDA
 
buckifvr
Old
#24  
buckifvr's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 113
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kennnny1 View Post
Is "v0.2.1" a typo? Make sure you're running v0.1.

Sent from my ADR6425LVW using XDA
No its not a typo, when I ran version 0.2.1 I got the exact same error as the original post.

I then tried version 0.1, but I just get "No beer for bear" It does not work either.

With both versions I am placing the 3 files in the folder with adb and fastboot. I connect my phone with the my PC using the usb cable. The phone is booted into CleanROM 4.3 Pro Edition. I right click and run controlbear as administrator. Then I get the error messages.

Any ideas what I am doing wrong
 
Kennnny1
Old
#25  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 58
Posts: 150
Join Date: Aug 2010
No idea, it's a very finicky little program. Check your recovery to make sure you're on the latest amon ra, reformat the sd card, and try again. If that doesn't help, you may need to wipe and reflash rom. Some people talk about re locking, running ruu, unlocking and trying again. I have no idea if any of this helps or not personally as I only needed to format sd, this is just what others have suggested. Keep searching, I'm sure somebody has a solution. And when you find it, post it in the s-off FAQ thread. Good luck :)

Sent from my ADR6425LVW using XDA
Tags
backup, failed, s-off
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Blast Those Flags with Knock the Flags

Lately, we have seen a rather drastic shift in the world of mobile device gaming. The infamous Angry … more

Hide Numbers on Your SMS and Call Logs with Reflection

How many times have you given your device to someone else in order to show them a … more

Implement Split View in Your LG G2 KitKat Rom with Automated Installer

Some of you may have remembered a story on the Portal a few weeks back … more

Cast Your Device Screen the Way it Was Meant to be with Second Screen

Not too long ago here on the XDA Portal, we covered how Google had made … more