Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,741,401 Members 39,062 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

GPS Antenna Hardware Hack only 2 seconds to fix GPS status ;)

Tip us?
 
Masoun Mardini
Old
#161  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Feb 2010
I did it
good job bro

Thanx
 
zenga
Old
#162  
zenga's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 234
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Aveiro Portugal
Default Amayzing

It really worked for me.
At the begining 2/3 sattelites, in the end 8/9.

Thank you very much.
 
SagiLo
Old
#163  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 106
Posts: 286
Join Date: May 2008
Can someone please take a picture of the wire he used ?
I have only really thin single core or thicker multy core, can you please take a picture of the wire you used ? and if it's has a specific description i would love that too

Thanks
 
zenga
Old
#164  
zenga's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 234
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Aveiro Portugal
Hi

I used a thin copper wire, and didn't solder. Just wrap it arround.
 
skiboom
Old
#165  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by zenga View Post
Hi

I used a thin copper wire, and didn't solder. Just wrap it arround.




It really worksDont need soldering.Thanks for advise
 
muppetofdoom
Old
#166  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 12
Join Date: Feb 2008
Default worked for me

Done this mod and worked well for me, now frequently get 10 sats and a fix outdoors in a couple of seconds, i used single strand copper wire.No software mods at all required
 
SagiLo
Old
#167  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 106
Posts: 286
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by zenga View Post
Hi

I used a thin copper wire, and didn't solder. Just wrap it arround.
Can you please post an image of it ?

Thanks
 
zenga
Old
#168  
zenga's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 234
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Aveiro Portugal
Quote:
Originally Posted by SagiLo View Post
Can you please post an image of it ?

Thanks
I used a wire from a pc fan. Don't have any image of it.
 
Daimonion1980
Old
#169  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 124
Join Date: Feb 2009
I tried it with a copper wire but it didn't work.

I got no GPS Signals with soldered wire and without gps cover. Maybe i took the wrong strenth or the wrong length.

Then i unwired it but tinned the spring contacts and on the GPS Cover antenna the contacts.

Now i have a signalstrength from 8-10 satellites within 5-10 seconds.

So my question to you guys who solded the copper wire. Did you tried gps just with copper wire but without gps cover?

Regards
Daimonion
 
Darunion
Old
#170  
Darunion's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 881
Posts: 1,142
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Ohio
This might help for those looking to boost the gps (without just soldering a random length of wire)

http://www.rfm.com/corp/appdata/antenna.pdf
Let me google that for you -The best way to help someone and also tell them they are lazy at the same time.

Trolls are like stray cats, if you stop feeding them, eventually they move on.

Answer a users question, he's smart for a day. Teach a user how to research his own questions, he's smart for a lifetime!

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes