FORUMS

What Are the Best Looking Apps on Android?

As more developers are updating their apps with Material Design elements, we’re … more

Cyngn Explained: Who’s Cyanogen, What’s Cyanogen OS?

While Cyanogen, Inc has been the source of many headlines lately, there … more

Verizon Moto X 2014 Receives Root On Kitkat 4.4.4

The Verizon Moto X 2014 has finally received root, albeit only on Kitkat 4.4.4 … more

Android 5.1.1 Released, Google Cell Service – XDA TV

Android Lollipop 5.1.1 has been released. That and much more news is covered … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

GPS Antenna Hardware Hack only 2 seconds to fix GPS status ;)

11th April 2012, 02:52 PM |#161  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I did it
good job bro

Thanx
 
 
12th April 2012, 10:45 AM |#162  
zenga's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Aveiro Portugal
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
Amayzing
It really worked for me.
At the begining 2/3 sattelites, in the end 8/9.

Thank you very much.
12th April 2012, 10:58 AM |#163  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 132
 
More
Can someone please take a picture of the wire he used ?
I have only really thin single core or thicker multy core, can you please take a picture of the wire you used ? and if it's has a specific description i would love that too

Thanks
12th April 2012, 11:00 AM |#164  
zenga's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Aveiro Portugal
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
Hi

I used a thin copper wire, and didn't solder. Just wrap it arround.
12th April 2012, 11:56 PM |#165  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Smile
Quote:
Originally Posted by zenga

Hi

I used a thin copper wire, and didn't solder. Just wrap it arround.





It really worksDont need soldering.Thanks for advise
13th April 2012, 09:42 AM |#166  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
worked for me
Done this mod and worked well for me, now frequently get 10 sats and a fix outdoors in a couple of seconds, i used single strand copper wire.No software mods at all required
13th April 2012, 02:29 PM |#167  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 132
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by zenga

Hi

I used a thin copper wire, and didn't solder. Just wrap it arround.

Can you please post an image of it ?

Thanks
13th April 2012, 08:54 PM |#168  
zenga's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Aveiro Portugal
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by SagiLo

Can you please post an image of it ?

Thanks

I used a wire from a pc fan. Don't have any image of it.
25th April 2012, 09:14 PM |#169  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
I tried it with a copper wire but it didn't work.

I got no GPS Signals with soldered wire and without gps cover. Maybe i took the wrong strenth or the wrong length.

Then i unwired it but tinned the spring contacts and on the GPS Cover antenna the contacts.

Now i have a signalstrength from 8-10 satellites within 5-10 seconds.

So my question to you guys who solded the copper wire. Did you tried gps just with copper wire but without gps cover?

Regards
Daimonion
25th April 2012, 09:43 PM |#170  
Darunion's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ohio
Thanks Meter: 881
 
More
This might help for those looking to boost the gps (without just soldering a random length of wire)

http://www.rfm.com/corp/appdata/antenna.pdf
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes