Post Reply

GPS Antenna Hardware Hack only 2 seconds to fix GPS status ;)

OP TylerDurben

11th April 2012, 02:52 PM   |  #161  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
I did it
good job bro

Thanx
12th April 2012, 10:45 AM   |  #162  
zenga's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Aveiro Portugal
Thanks Meter: 10
 
234 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
More
Amayzing
It really worked for me.
At the begining 2/3 sattelites, in the end 8/9.

Thank you very much.
12th April 2012, 10:58 AM   |  #163  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 112
 
289 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
Can someone please take a picture of the wire he used ?
I have only really thin single core or thicker multy core, can you please take a picture of the wire you used ? and if it's has a specific description i would love that too

Thanks
12th April 2012, 11:00 AM   |  #164  
zenga's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Aveiro Portugal
Thanks Meter: 10
 
234 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
More
Hi

I used a thin copper wire, and didn't solder. Just wrap it arround.
12th April 2012, 11:56 PM   |  #165  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
Smile
Quote:
Originally Posted by zenga

Hi

I used a thin copper wire, and didn't solder. Just wrap it arround.





It really worksDont need soldering.Thanks for advise
13th April 2012, 09:42 AM   |  #166  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
worked for me
Done this mod and worked well for me, now frequently get 10 sats and a fix outdoors in a couple of seconds, i used single strand copper wire.No software mods at all required
13th April 2012, 02:29 PM   |  #167  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 112
 
289 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by zenga

Hi

I used a thin copper wire, and didn't solder. Just wrap it arround.

Can you please post an image of it ?

Thanks
13th April 2012, 08:54 PM   |  #168  
zenga's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Aveiro Portugal
Thanks Meter: 10
 
234 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by SagiLo

Can you please post an image of it ?

Thanks

I used a wire from a pc fan. Don't have any image of it.
25th April 2012, 09:14 PM   |  #169  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
131 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
More
I tried it with a copper wire but it didn't work.

I got no GPS Signals with soldered wire and without gps cover. Maybe i took the wrong strenth or the wrong length.

Then i unwired it but tinned the spring contacts and on the GPS Cover antenna the contacts.

Now i have a signalstrength from 8-10 satellites within 5-10 seconds.

So my question to you guys who solded the copper wire. Did you tried gps just with copper wire but without gps cover?

Regards
Daimonion
25th April 2012, 09:43 PM   |  #170  
Darunion's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ohio
Thanks Meter: 881
 
1,142 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
This might help for those looking to boost the gps (without just soldering a random length of wire)

http://www.rfm.com/corp/appdata/antenna.pdf

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes