5,594,564 Members 32,890 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Car Mount

Tip us?
 
Jeff1192
Old
#1  
Jeff1192's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 67
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Ottawa
Default Car Mount

Now that I`m getting my dongle I`m wondering if anyone out there has tried a car mount for their Prime. With the large screen and now functional GPS this would make a phenomenal in car GPS unit. My only concern would be damaging the Prime due to a bracket not supporting it properly causing it to fall. Anyone`s experience would be appreciated.

Jeff
 
collinsac24
Old
#2  
collinsac24's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 90
Posts: 483
Join Date: Feb 2012
+1

Sent from my Transformer Prime TF201 using XDA Premium HD app
 
robertg9
Old
#3  
robertg9's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 26
Posts: 217
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Sterling, VA.
I have this one from Arkon, and love it. The extension arm rests on my dash, and the suction cup is relatively low on the window. I have never experienced any problems with the Prime falling out, or the whole mount falling down, because since the arm rests on the dash, there is minimal weight applied to the suction cup.

http://www.arkon.com/tablet-accessor...eld-mount.html

Bob
Verizon TP2/Win6.5
Asus Transformer Prime
The Following User Says Thank You to robertg9 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
babymatteo
Old
#4  
babymatteo's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 697
Posts: 2,713
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: SoCal
Quote:
Originally Posted by robertg9 View Post
I have this one from Arkon, and love it. The extension arm rests on my dash, and the suction cup is relatively low on the window. I have never experienced any problems with the Prime falling out, or the whole mount falling down, because since the arm rests on the dash, there is minimal weight applied to the suction cup.

http://www.arkon.com/tablet-accessor...eld-mount.html

Bob
Got that same one but from Amazon. Only $30 w/ my Prime.

Also picked this one up for my little boy and my backseat passengers lol

http://www.amazon.com/Arkon-Tablet-H...5471406&sr=8-2
 
24dupo24
Old
#5  
24dupo24's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 59
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Allentown, Pa
I bought this http://www.ebay.com/itm/Arkon-TAB178...#ht_816wt_1163 one from Arkon. Love the sticky pad it has. Same sticky pad that is on the mount for my HTC phone. Same sticky material that the whacky wall walkers had in the 80s. sticks to ANYTHING. Still waiting for it to come in .... was very hard to find on ebay, its the only one of its kind that i found after days of searching for a non piece of crap.
Device: ASUS Transformer Prime 32gb rooted + unlocked on Androwook Rom
Device: HP Touchpad 32gb w/Android dual boot
Device: Samsung Galaxy S3 Stock (for now)
 
TeeT
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 25
Join Date: Aug 2007
Question GPS dongle ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by robertg9 View Post
I have this one from Arkon, and love it. The extension arm rests on my dash, and the suction cup is relatively low on the window. I have never experienced any problems with the Prime falling out, or the whole mount falling down, because since the arm rests on the dash, there is minimal weight applied to the suction cup.

http://www.arkon.com/tablet-accessor...eld-mount.html

Bob
How about adding the GPS dongle ?
 
robertg9
Old
#7  
robertg9's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 26
Posts: 217
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Sterling, VA.
Quote:
Originally Posted by TeeT View Post
How about adding the GPS dongle ?
I haven't got my dongle yet, but the tabs that hold the Prime are adjustable, so I'm guessing that they can spread far enough apart for the dongle to fit.

If someone can measure the length of the dongle, I can measure it.

Bob
Verizon TP2/Win6.5
Asus Transformer Prime
 
Jeff1192
Old
#8  
Jeff1192's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 67
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Ottawa
I just measured my dongle.....man that just doesn`t sound right. Anyways it`s 7 1/8 inch wide. Can you let me know if this would fit with your mount. I`ve looked at tons of mounts and yours seems to be one of the better solutions right now.

Thanks

Jeff
 
robertg9
Old
#9  
robertg9's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 26
Posts: 217
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Sterling, VA.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff1192 View Post
I just measured my dongle.....man that just doesn`t sound right. Anyways it`s 7 1/8 inch wide. Can you let me know if this would fit with your mount. I`ve looked at tons of mounts and yours seems to be one of the better solutions right now.

Thanks

Jeff
Well, the spread on the mount tabs only gives about 4" of clearance. BUT, in reality, you only need one tab on the top holding it. Attached is a pic of the keyboard (since I'm using the TP for the pic and it shows the edge of the dongle area) and the keyboard still holds solidly in there. Also notice my mounting. The extension arm (adjustable) rests on the dash, so, with the tablet supplying a downward weight, the suction cup would be "pushed" into the window so it's not like phone/gps attachments where everything tends to pull it off the window, the TP is actually doing the opposite.

The tabs are spring-loaded, so in order to insert the TP between the tabs, you would insert the top of the TP, push upward, then slide the bottom in.
I can't really tell you the force required, but it's definitely not minimal.

I think that the TP, in the mount, would stay in position even in a front or rear end collision.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Dock mounted as Tablet.jpg
Views:	480
Size:	249.6 KB
ID:	1031287  
Verizon TP2/Win6.5
Asus Transformer Prime
 
Lock-N-Load
Old
(Last edited by Lock-N-Load; 1st May 2012 at 02:49 AM.)
#10  
Lock-N-Load's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 265
Posts: 1,171
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Under Your Skin
I made one search my user name & you will find photos here

Here you go http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1444199
/** SGS3 (rooted & stock ROM) **/
/** OG Droid (rooted & OC'd & all hacked up) **/
/** Want TF201 Ad Hoc WiFi under ICS?? I SOLVED IT! - Asus fixed it **/

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...