Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Thread Closed

[mods can close this thread]Lets make an ICS device configuration tree

OP Emmanuel U

26th April 2012, 02:39 AM   |  #21  
AgentCherryColla's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Carpentersville
Thanks Meter: 511
 
1,471 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Hey, I have a Tip. Talk to Hashcode. He makes many, many, many kernels. Kinda like Faux. He's ported over many 3.0 Kernels. He might help with getting a compiled kernel.

Not Sent From a Galaxy Note :T
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to AgentCherryColla For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th April 2012, 02:43 AM   |  #22  
Emmanuel U's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag Chi-Town Suburbs
Thanks Meter: 2,253
 
1,530 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
do u think we have to set up a bounty or how are we going to convince him
26th April 2012, 03:17 AM   |  #23  
gtmaster303's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 407
 
1,448 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Donate to Me
More
No idea how you would get his attention.
Here's his profile page
http://forum.xda-developers.com/member.php?u=4243514

I guess just PM him?
If he needs a device to compile, just say the word. I'm the one that can get it to him
26th April 2012, 03:36 AM   |  #24  
Senior Member
Flag McAllen
Thanks Meter: 44
 
120 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by xmc wildchild22

Well i need proprietary-files because its the reference file on what extract-files.sh and setup-makefiles.sh work with. Why would the sue me? I wont be focusing on any errors until all the required stuff is in (but thanks for the feedback).

I don't think that he was referring to "proprietary-files.txt". Its just the binary files that the extract-files.sh script extracts that should not be on github. That was my fault. I took them down as far as I can tell (i'm still learning to use git, I much prefer svn).

just add "proprietary/" to your .gitignore and remove the cached files from github. it will still be in your local source tree. I believe the command I used was either "git rm -r --cached proprietary/" or "git rm -r --cached proprietary". I don't remember which one it was and I can't test currently because I'm booted into windows 7 at the moment :/

---------- Post added at 08:36 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:30 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by xmc wildchild22

do u think we have to set up a bounty or how are we going to convince him

He seems kind of busy, but asking nicely goes a long way. just not all everybody at once! haha
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to michaelmab88 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th April 2012, 06:19 AM   |  #25  
gtmaster303's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 407
 
1,448 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaelmab88

He seems kind of busy, but asking nicely goes a long way. just not all everybody at once! haha

As a general rule if you're non-dev, don't PM him. Leave it up to the devs, and people who know what they're doing.

I suggest one of you wizbangs shoot him a message.
Last edited by gtmaster303; 26th April 2012 at 09:51 AM.
28th April 2012, 12:21 AM   |  #26  
Emmanuel U's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag Chi-Town Suburbs
Thanks Meter: 2,253
 
1,530 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
Now open for beta testing...goto project home for more details
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Emmanuel U For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th April 2012, 01:57 AM   |  #27  
Senior Member
Flag McAllen
Thanks Meter: 44
 
120 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by xmc wildchild22

Now open for beta testing...goto project home for more details

Nice Work!
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to michaelmab88 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th April 2012, 02:48 AM   |  #28  
gtmaster303's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 407
 
1,448 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Donate to Me
More
I'm trying to get undeadk9 to help out with this as well
He has cooked an AOSP ICS rom, before anyone else did for our phone (pretty sure). I replied to his ICS thread over at rootz, but he seldom comes on anymore.
If anyone knows how to get in touch with him more directly, I encourage them to do so
28th April 2012, 03:19 AM   |  #29  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 28
 
214 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Thank you for getting this going! I don't know the least thing about code but I do know this is taking us closer to ICS and CM9, and I'm grateful.
The Following User Says Thank You to inkling For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th April 2012, 09:50 AM   |  #30  
Senior Member
Flag McAllen
Thanks Meter: 44
 
120 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by seidler2547

As far as I understand it means it's not using the correct binutils?!? I mean, I've been compiling Android hundreds of times, just never for ARM, only x86 - so can anyone point me to a solution

Stefan

What distribution/version are you running? I'm able to compile sensation on ubuntu 11.10 (I did have to edit the linker.cpp file, but that is well documented by now)

Did you try updating your os?
Last edited by michaelmab88; 28th April 2012 at 04:15 PM.

Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes