Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,772,523 Members 50,408 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Kindle FIre and Google Play Store

Tip us?
 
LanQiao
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Freeport, Trinidad
Default [Q] Kindle FIre and Google Play Store

When Amazon updated to 6.3 my Kindle Fire had to be rooted again. This time, although I have the Google Play Store app, when I launch it, the following message appears: "You must add an account to the device to continue. Do you want to add one now?" When either Yes or No is selected, the app force closes.
Tried unrooting and re-rooting, rebooting, but nothing works.
Hope someone out there can help, please.
 
tedr108
Old
(Last edited by tedr108; 25th April 2012 at 01:00 AM.)
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 118
Posts: 362
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Los Angeles area, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by LanQiao View Post
When Amazon updated to 6.3 my Kindle Fire had to be rooted again. This time, although I have the Google Play Store app, when I launch it, the following message appears: "You must add an account to the device to continue. Do you want to add one now?" When either Yes or No is selected, the app force closes.
Tried unrooting and re-rooting, rebooting, but nothing works.
Hope someone out there can help, please.
Install GoogleServicesFramework.apk and this should stop happening. You can extract it from the GB (GingerBread) GoogleApps zip file. I always put that .apk into /system/app, but that may not be necessary (not sure on that). Just try installing the gsf apk and see if it works -- I personally would also reinstall the market at this point (Vending.apk). If this doesn't work, you will probably have to get into adb and push the .apks to /system/app while in recovery. Then, you can work your way to them with a file explorer that can get into root (ES File Explorer works) and install both .apks by simply tapping them.
Nexus 4 -- PLSX or OmniROM; Nexus 7 3G -- OmniROM; Asus TFP -- CM10.1; Kindle Fire -- CM11
The Following User Says Thank You to tedr108 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
LanQiao
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Freeport, Trinidad
Default Kindle Fire and Google Play Store

Thank you very much for your response. Will try and let you know if I was successful.
 
LanQiao
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Freeport, Trinidad
This worked!! I have a different problem now where my Kindle cannot connect to the Tootle server.
The error response is that my phone is not provisioned for data services.

Any suggestions?

Thanks again.
 
LanQiao
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Freeport, Trinidad
Sorry - autocorrect...should be Google server
 
brainchow
Old
#6  
Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 38
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Boston, MA
i would recommend flashing modacos rom if you want a smooth bugless stock amazon experience.. not trying to be an ad, but just saying.
The Following User Says Thank You to brainchow For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
LanQiao
Old
(Last edited by LanQiao; 30th April 2012 at 02:16 AM.)
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Freeport, Trinidad
It seems to have been a server problem. I was able to log in and use Google Play Store.

Many many thanks for your help, tedr108!!
 
LanQiao
Old
#8  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Freeport, Trinidad
UPDATE - After I tried to download an app, I received the following message: "The application Google Play Store (process com.android.vending) has stopped unexpectedly. Please try again." and force closes.

I tried rebooting as well as uninstalling/reinstalling the Play Store, but no change.

Thanks in advance for your help.
 
colphoenix
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 14
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Houston
Same error here... what am I doing wrong?
 
nayoula
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: May 2012
Me too! I thinks it's a GoogleServicesFramework.apk version issue.
Can anyone advise what gapps version to use?

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes