Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,728,510 Members 55,087 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

help - 2 arias rendom reboot

Tip us?
 
yar2
Old
#21  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 125
Join Date: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by yar2 View Post
Got the RUU to load from an XP machine. Bad news is that the phone still randomly reboots.

I guess the only other step is to un-root and S-On. What have I got to lose. Can't use the phones as they are now.

Got a good way to do this?

Did the whole thing -- un-rooted and S-On. The phone still random reboots.

Got to get another phone. 2 Arias available -- one rooted one not, both randomly reboot.
 
drumist
Old
#22  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 544
Posts: 1,726
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by yar2 View Post
Did the whole thing -- un-rooted and S-On. The phone still random reboots.

Got to get another phone. 2 Arias available -- one rooted one not, both randomly reboot.
The only thing left are the SIM card(s). Have you tried booting the two devices without any SIM card inserted?
 
yar2
Old
#23  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 125
Join Date: Feb 2012
Yes, I tried it without an SD card. Sure is baffling. Sometimes the phone will run for several hours and other times just a minute. And it only happened on the 2nd phone after I swapped SD cards to transfer the Nandroid backup.

Maybe it damaged the phone's internal memory.

Again, thanks for all your help.
Sent from my Liberty using XDA
 
drumist
Old
(Last edited by drumist; 25th April 2012 at 07:04 AM.)
#24  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 544
Posts: 1,726
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by yar2 View Post
Yes, I tried it without an SD card.
I said SIM card, not SD card, but either way...

Maybe it's a faulty SD card that has caused physical damage to the phone? i.e., it shorted pins that weren't supposed to be shorted and burnt out something on the mainboard or something? Of course it's only speculation, but it seems like it's a hardware problem. And hardware problems don't just migrate from one phone to another unless something external to both devices is causing the problem.

If I was you, I'd probably stop using that SD card in any other device just in case it's the culprit. SD cards are pretty cheap these days -- definitely cheaper than having to replace another phone. Also to be on the safe side, I'd go get a brand new SIM card from the carrier -- even if you aren't having any issues -- just for peace of mind.
 
yar2
Old
#25  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 125
Join Date: Feb 2012
Misread your question, although I had tried it without the SIM card too. I also re-rooted/s-off'd, but no luck. At least I'm now an expert in rooting/un-rooting.

Thanks again!

Sent from my Liberty using XDA
 
yar2
Old
#26  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 125
Join Date: Feb 2012
One other thought. After un-rooting, loading stock ATT rom, and re-rooting and loading CM7.2, I noticed when logging into Wifi at work that the phone had remembered multiple Wifi settings! Where is this info stored? It maybe a clue to something else to wipe and possible sole my rebooting problem.

Sent from my Liberty using XDA
 
drumist
Old
#27  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 544
Posts: 1,726
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by yar2 View Post
One other thought. After un-rooting, loading stock ATT rom, and re-rooting and loading CM7.2, I noticed when logging into Wifi at work that the phone had remembered multiple Wifi settings! Where is this info stored? It maybe a clue to something else to wipe and possible sole my rebooting problem.
If you enable Google's backup features (Settings > Privacy > "Back up my data"), Google will sync your wifi passwords to their servers. Personally I'm surprised no one else thinks that it is wrong for Google to do that, but whatever. I always disable it.
 
loleary
Old
#28  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Jul 2009
Default Any Progress?

Hey,

I just stumbled across this thread and am having what seems to be the exact same problem. My issue seemed to start back in March and has not improved.

I had two Aria phones. One stock and one running CM7.1. They both developed the random reboot issue. I have restored them to stock and they still randomly reboot. With and without SIM or SD card.

I finally broke down and purchased a new HTC Aria which arrived yesterday. Stock... with Android 2.1 just like it came from AT&T back in 2010. And, sure enough, random reboots!

I have no clue what is causing this. I have contacted HTC and they suggest that I get a replacement for the new phone to see what "happens" and if the random reboots occur on the "replacement" of the replacement, I can send it to them under warranty but they did caution that the issue might be the cell network. Changes in the network could result in hardware incompatibilities that would require firmware updates which they are not planning on providing. To test that theory though, the phone would have to be used in an area where another Aria phone is successfully being used.

I talked to AT&T and they claim there have been no hardware upgrades or changes in my area in the past three months. However, I know this not to be true seeing that I have an LTE device which just recently started functioning in LTE mode.

Bottom line, I am at a loss for what could be wrong. I find drumist's idea of the SD card causing hardware damage to the phone to be interesting. That is one consistency here. I too have used the original SD card in all three devices as I moved data around (backup/restore/roms). The thought of an SD card damaging a device seems scary.
 
yar2
Old
#29  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 125
Join Date: Feb 2012
I am waiting for one of my Arias that is being repaired by HTC under warranty and will let you know how it works. I definitely will use a new SD card!

Sent from my MB860 using XDA
 
yar2
Old
#30  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 125
Join Date: Feb 2012
Just got the phone back from HTC repair today. I only put the battery in it to test, no SIM or SD cards. It still randomly reboots! 3 times in less than 1 hour.

I called HTC and they are having me send it back again. The HTC agent said he was surprised since they have had very few repair requests for the Ariia. Since the reboot problem is random, he said the repair office may have just turned it on for few minutes, checked it out and didn't find anything wrong.

I told him that I have 2 Arias that have the same problem and gave him my conjecture that I may have transmitted the problem to the 2nd phone by using the same SIM and SD card. He said he would add that information to the repair order.

I have since gotten new SIM and SD cards. Frustrating problem. Wouldn't bother if I didn't like this little phone so much.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...