Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,772,773 Members 51,866 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Full root for A10x and A5xx ICS. Simple method.

Tip us?
 
jschall
Old
#121  
jschall's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 21
Posts: 136
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Mont Saint-Hilaire, Québec
@NoSudo: I know what "binary" means, in both the original definition and the neologism. I asked what @Goofball meant by "update binary".

Thanks for your explanation, @Goofball. I did that, and it worked. I am rooted, woohoo! A simple check like that should be added to ZeroNull's instructions, along with the need to install Acer's USB Driver on your PC.

Now, can anybody explain why ZeroNull's script won't detect the USB connection without the Acer driver, even though the stock Windows 7 drivers show the tablet is connected?
- Jeff Schallenberg
Mont Saint-Hilaire, Québec
Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 7.0, SONY Smartwatch, SONY Google TV
 
marlopainter
Old
#122  
marlopainter's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 23
Posts: 137
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Milwaukee, WI

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by jschall View Post
Now, can anybody explain why ZeroNull's script won't detect the USB connection without the Acer driver, even though the stock Windows 7 drivers show the tablet is connected?
The Windows driver is incomplete and generic.
Acer specifically says to cancel any hardware wizards that pop up
and to NOT have the tablet connected when installing.
"There is no such thing as TMI on the internet."
========================

http://forum.xda-developers.com/signaturepics/sigpic2022493_1.gifThe Vape Apes : Premier Vaping eLiquids and eJuices
 
NoSudo
Old
#123  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 84
Posts: 188
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kalifornia
Quote:
Originally Posted by jschall View Post
@NoSudo: I know what "binary" means, in both the original definition and the neologism. I asked what @Goofball meant by "update binary".

Thanks for your explanation, @Goofball. I did that, and it worked. I am rooted, woohoo! A simple check like that should be added to ZeroNull's instructions, along with the need to install Acer's USB Driver on your PC.

Now, can anybody explain why ZeroNull's script won't detect the USB connection without the Acer driver, even though the stock Windows 7 drivers show the tablet is connected?

Yea I see now, You had been asking about the settings inside superuser. I just miss understood your query the first time.
Tablet: Acer Iconia A100 unlocked cwm FlexReaper ROM and Hulu enabled

Need help figuring out how to customize your Acer A100/101? Look here for Help

Author of Flashex 2.05 (Enables watching Hulu and others in browser by hex-editing libflashplayer.so file from AND back to WIN, then copies it back to Abobe Flash and checks Adobe Flash for updates, and will re-edit libflashplayer.so when a new version is detected. Compatible with ANY Flash version and any device that can run it )
 
willhard1986
Old
#124  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 43
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: ChongQing
Thank you,I've got it!
 
mjybarr
Old
#125  
mjybarr's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 584
Posts: 1,142
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by marlopainter View Post
If you are like me, you are getting the error:

"mempodroid isn't created"

I found a solution. I'm not sure if this is anywhere else,
but I will post it here.

I am using Win7 64bit, Iconia a510

I installed Superuser BEFORE I did these steps.

I opened runit-win.bat in a text editor and found the step
sending me to the error and simply deleted it.

I deleted lines 19 -21:
Code:
adb pull /data/local/tools/mempodroid
if not exist mempodroid goto ermem
del mempodroid >nul
I "saved as" and just added a "2" to the filename: runit-win2.bat
I ran it again, got the reboot, got root

Have fun.
Worked like a charm!

Sent from pure meXdroidmod!
John 14:6

Jesus answered, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me."

Worship the Creator and not the Creation
 
Chib
Old
#126  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 29
Join Date: Dec 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jesse6749 View Post
Just so everyone knows, this root kit also works on the new Iconia A510.
I just got my Acer Iconia A510 from Amazon this morning and decided to install the USB drivers and tried this rooting kit and low and behold I got full root access.

Thanks ZeroNull!!!!
Root is OK but...
Can you mount the system as R/W ????
In my case it's not working.
 
goofball2k
Old
#127  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 159
Posts: 725
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ottawa
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chib View Post
Root is OK but...
Can you mount the system as R/W ????
In my case it's not working.
What are you using to try to get r/w access? I use ES File Explorer and in the options, enable root access and then enable system r/w access.
 
vniko
Old
#128  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Jan 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jesse6749 View Post
Just so everyone knows, this root kit also works on the new Iconia A510.
I just got my Acer Iconia A510 from Amazon this morning and decided to install the USB drivers and tried this rooting kit and low and behold I got full root access.

Thanks ZeroNull!!!!
Yes! It`s Works on A510.

before 4...
download a new drivers for Acet Iconia Tab a510 from ACER SITE (name USB_Acer_1.0_A40I_A.zip) and install it without USB connected A510.
 
Chib
Old
#129  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 29
Join Date: Dec 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by goofball2k View Post
What are you using to try to get r/w access? I use ES File Explorer and in the options, enable root access and then enable system r/w access.
yes I've tryed it too... in settings all is the same but writing to system\app is failed

---------- Post added at 09:19 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:17 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by vniko View Post
Yes! It`s Works on A510.
same question can you write to system\app especially rewrite some apps?
 
jhsband84
Old
#130  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 15
Join Date: Feb 2011
Default Acer Composite ADB Interface Not Installed Properly

I'm posting this in case others find themselves in this situation with "Wait for Connect Device".

I installed 4.0.3, Builder Acer_AV041_A100_1.014.00_WW_Gen1. Running the batch file to root my tablet gave me Wait for Connect Device. I reinstalled the drivers from Acer's website twice. I reset my tablet through "settings" and then with the pinhole. Still nothing.

So I checked Device Manager (Windows XP SP3), and saw that Acer Composite ADB Interface has a yellow exclamation mark. I tried getting that to update, but Windows couldn't find anything more suitable than what's installed already.

Next I uninstalled Acer Composite ABD Interface (in Device Manager), unplugged my USB cable, replugged the cable, and it installed fine. I reran the root script, it ran through it's thing, my tablet rebooted, and was rooted! YAY! Got Superuser and Titanium Backup installed fine.

Thanks to everyone who's worked so hard on this tablet. Much appreciated!!

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes