Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Full root for A10x and A5xx ICS. Simple method.

OP ZeroNull

26th April 2012, 09:13 PM   |  #121  
jschall's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mont Saint-Hilaire, Québec
Thanks Meter: 22
 
138 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
More
@NoSudo: I know what "binary" means, in both the original definition and the neologism. I asked what @Goofball meant by "update binary".

Thanks for your explanation, @Goofball. I did that, and it worked. I am rooted, woohoo! A simple check like that should be added to ZeroNull's instructions, along with the need to install Acer's USB Driver on your PC.

Now, can anybody explain why ZeroNull's script won't detect the USB connection without the Acer driver, even though the stock Windows 7 drivers show the tablet is connected?
26th April 2012, 10:20 PM   |  #122  
marlopainter's Avatar
Senior Member
Milwaukee, WI
Thanks Meter: 23
 
137 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jschall

Now, can anybody explain why ZeroNull's script won't detect the USB connection without the Acer driver, even though the stock Windows 7 drivers show the tablet is connected?

The Windows driver is incomplete and generic.
Acer specifically says to cancel any hardware wizards that pop up
and to NOT have the tablet connected when installing.
27th April 2012, 04:29 AM   |  #123  
Senior Member
Flag Kalifornia
Thanks Meter: 84
 
188 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by jschall

@NoSudo: I know what "binary" means, in both the original definition and the neologism. I asked what @Goofball meant by "update binary".

Thanks for your explanation, @Goofball. I did that, and it worked. I am rooted, woohoo! A simple check like that should be added to ZeroNull's instructions, along with the need to install Acer's USB Driver on your PC.

Now, can anybody explain why ZeroNull's script won't detect the USB connection without the Acer driver, even though the stock Windows 7 drivers show the tablet is connected?


Yea I see now, You had been asking about the settings inside superuser. I just miss understood your query the first time.
27th April 2012, 06:11 AM   |  #124  
Member
Flag ChongQing
Thanks Meter: 0
 
43 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
Thank you,I've got it!
28th April 2012, 08:45 AM   |  #125  
mjybarr's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 584
 
1,144 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by marlopainter

If you are like me, you are getting the error:

"mempodroid isn't created"

I found a solution. I'm not sure if this is anywhere else,
but I will post it here.

I am using Win7 64bit, Iconia a510

I installed Superuser BEFORE I did these steps.

I opened runit-win.bat in a text editor and found the step
sending me to the error and simply deleted it.

I deleted lines 19 -21:

Code:
adb pull /data/local/tools/mempodroid
if not exist mempodroid goto ermem
del mempodroid >nul
I "saved as" and just added a "2" to the filename: runit-win2.bat
I ran it again, got the reboot, got root

Have fun.

Worked like a charm!

Sent from pure meXdroidmod!
30th April 2012, 04:25 PM   |  #126  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
29 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2005
Question
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jesse6749

Just so everyone knows, this root kit also works on the new Iconia A510.
I just got my Acer Iconia A510 from Amazon this morning and decided to install the USB drivers and tried this rooting kit and low and behold I got full root access.

Thanks ZeroNull!!!!

Root is OK but...
Can you mount the system as R/W ????
In my case it's not working.
1st May 2012, 03:17 AM   |  #127  
Senior Member
Flag Ottawa
Thanks Meter: 162
 
750 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chib

Root is OK but...
Can you mount the system as R/W ????
In my case it's not working.

What are you using to try to get r/w access? I use ES File Explorer and in the options, enable root access and then enable system r/w access.
1st May 2012, 07:20 AM   |  #128  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jesse6749

Just so everyone knows, this root kit also works on the new Iconia A510.
I just got my Acer Iconia A510 from Amazon this morning and decided to install the USB drivers and tried this rooting kit and low and behold I got full root access.

Thanks ZeroNull!!!!

Yes! It`s Works on A510.

before 4...
download a new drivers for Acet Iconia Tab a510 from ACER SITE (name USB_Acer_1.0_A40I_A.zip) and install it without USB connected A510.
1st May 2012, 11:19 PM   |  #129  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
29 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by goofball2k

What are you using to try to get r/w access? I use ES File Explorer and in the options, enable root access and then enable system r/w access.

yes I've tryed it too... in settings all is the same but writing to system\app is failed

---------- Post added at 09:19 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:17 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by vniko

Yes! It`s Works on A510.

same question can you write to system\app especially rewrite some apps?
3rd May 2012, 04:50 PM   |  #130  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Acer Composite ADB Interface Not Installed Properly
I'm posting this in case others find themselves in this situation with "Wait for Connect Device".

I installed 4.0.3, Builder Acer_AV041_A100_1.014.00_WW_Gen1. Running the batch file to root my tablet gave me Wait for Connect Device. I reinstalled the drivers from Acer's website twice. I reset my tablet through "settings" and then with the pinhole. Still nothing.

So I checked Device Manager (Windows XP SP3), and saw that Acer Composite ADB Interface has a yellow exclamation mark. I tried getting that to update, but Windows couldn't find anything more suitable than what's installed already.

Next I uninstalled Acer Composite ABD Interface (in Device Manager), unplugged my USB cable, replugged the cable, and it installed fine. I reran the root script, it ran through it's thing, my tablet rebooted, and was rooted! YAY! Got Superuser and Titanium Backup installed fine.

Thanks to everyone who's worked so hard on this tablet. Much appreciated!!

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes