Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,784,939 Members 50,618 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[ROM] Archos ICS - Firmware 4.0.5(4.0.3) - ROOT & BUSYBOX , Only for SDE

Tip us?
 
antoustas
Old
#101  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 4
Join Date: May 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by gen_scheisskopf View Post
1. Gain temp root
2. Install SDE
3. Remove temp root (it brakes things in system)
4. Install whichever custom (rooted) rom you want
5. Make any changes/mods you want to custom rom

You can't make any changes to official firmware- it's designed that way.
thank you gen_scheisskopf for your prompt reply. I have one more question, how do i remove temp root after SDE.

thx
 
gen_scheisskopf
Old
#102  
gen_scheisskopf's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 243
Posts: 1,084
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Poznań
It's all said in SDE enabling instructions
Code:
setprop persist.world.domination 1
Twitter
The Following User Says Thank You to gen_scheisskopf For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Mavamaarten
Old
(Last edited by Mavamaarten; 20th April 2012 at 05:43 PM.)
#103  
Member
Thanks Meter 29
Posts: 50
Join Date: Mar 2011
Okay, I think I'm pretty much ****ed.

First I installed this ROM and everything worked fine.
I wanted to play Asphalt though, so I edited build.prop and /system/etc/init/init.A80S.rc (I have a 80 normal one) to match a Galaxy Tab...
Now, when I rebooted (I just hit reboot in the rom) my tablet doesn't boot anymore. It just keeps on repeating the Archos animation. Is there any way to fix this? Can I get into ADB and restore the .rc file (I have renamed the original to .bak) or can I reflash this rom and if so, how?

I'm used to CWM recovery and flashing zips. I'd have formatted the data partition and reflashed the rom to fix this, but I have no idea what to do on this tablet.

Please, how can I fix this?

EDIT: I wanted to reflash the rom but of course I cannot put the files in the internal storage. Onto the SD card is no problem, but how do I get it onto the storage? :'(
 
alfick3
Old
#104  
Member
Thanks Meter 27
Posts: 96
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: DFW, TX
Please pardon my newbie status. As a little back ground, I am very familiar with rooting on my phone, but rooting on my tablet seems to be a different sort of animal.

I have a question; what is sde? I did a search and didn't really find anything to satisfactorily explain it. I found stuff about booting into it, but everything I found seems to go on the assumption that I should already know something about it. Please explain, for me, in as simple method as possible. Thank you so much.
 
gen_scheisskopf
Old
#105  
gen_scheisskopf's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 243
Posts: 1,084
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Poznań
SDE= Special Development Edition.
It allows to run unsigned kernel (official firmware and kernel are signed so we can't mod them)

Tapatalked from Xperia Arc S
Code:
setprop persist.world.domination 1
Twitter
The Following User Says Thank You to gen_scheisskopf For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
alfick3
Old
#106  
Member
Thanks Meter 27
Posts: 96
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: DFW, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by gen_scheisskopf View Post
SDE= Special Development Edition.
It allows to run unsigned kernel (official firmware and kernel are signed so we can't mod them)

Tapatalked from Xperia Arc S
Thank you. How do we get it installed so we can use it?
 
surdu_petru
Old
(Last edited by surdu_petru; 20th April 2012 at 08:57 PM.)
#107  
surdu_petru's Avatar
Recognized Contributor - OP
Thanks Meter 7,641
Posts: 3,395
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Paris

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by alfick3 View Post
Thank you. How do we get it installed so we can use it?
HI!

First download this => http://www.4shared.com/zip/dZflFdoO/1_2.html
- for pre-rroted device !
-end for enable SDE take a look here => http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1360840

Connect your device with USB cable ( into device check on Settings-> USB Debugging ON);
- > adb push 1 /data/local
-> adb push 2 /data/local
-> adb shell
-$ chmod 755 /data/local/1
-$ chmod 755 /data/local/2
-$ ./data/local/1
-$ exit
-> adb reboot
********
-> adb shell
-$ ./data/local/2
-$ exit
-> adb reboot
**************
-> adb shell
-# rm /data/local.prop
-# exit
- > adb reboot
*******
....now you can install ( enable sde ) ......
*****
Huawei Ascend P6 | Quad Core 1.5GHz | 8GB | 2GB RAM ( Omni ROM 4.4.4 ! )
*****
HTC One M8 | Qualcomm MSM8974AB Snapdragon 801 2.3GHz | 16GB | 2GB RAM ( Stock 4.4.2 )

If you find my work useful, feel free to hit the THANKS button below !
The Following User Says Thank You to surdu_petru For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
tobst
Old
#108  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 14
Join Date: Apr 2012
Hi,

I have an Archos 101 G9 Turbo (SN 502057) with an OMAP 4460.

Every time I try to flash to ICS rooted rom or the custom blue rom with the drive405 files the device doesnt load.

Then i load the drive files from:

pocketpc.ch/archos-android-tablets/156565-root-fuer-archos-g9-android-4-ics

The device loads with this files but with a sum of memory of 371MB against 229GB.

Does the drive405 files run on the OMAP4460?
I hope anyone can help me or I had helped you with this info.

stay cool
best regards

tobst
 
ergoen
Old
#109  
ergoen's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 287
Posts: 174
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Göteborg

 
DONATE TO ME
405 should work on the 4460 as well :S but I have the 4430 so I don't really know.

I've got a question though to the devs out there:
What is the difference between this kernel and the stock one? (If I compile a kernel based on archos ics sources, can I use that directly or is there some patch I need to make?)
 
tobst
Old
#110  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 14
Join Date: Apr 2012
It was a question to petru because it is his thread and his rom. The drive405 files doesnt work and I dont know how.

Gesendet von meinem GT-S5830i

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes