Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,738,819 Members 41,255 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Boot Manager on Rezound

Tip us?
 
trickster2369
Old
#41  
trickster2369's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 756
Posts: 2,279
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: SD

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Conap View Post
...
One more side note for those asking ext2/ext4 you should always use ext4 with the rezound. I will probably end up removing the ext2 choice as it's not really needed for our phone's.
Thanks for this answer.


Sent from my ADR6425LVW using xda premium
 
Conap
Old
#42  
Retired Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 233
Posts: 1,350
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by apophis9283 View Post
Conap, what do we do if we want to boot ics and we have gb firmware? The mounting points are different.

sent from my S-OFF, INCREDIBLE, faster than a THUNDERBOLT, REZOUND!
I'm still on gb firmware. A couple of the rom's have a zip file that will revert the mountpoints so I just flash that after flashing the ics rom and haven't had any issues. Also make sure you have the setting correct in BootManager for which ever hboot your using.
 
racinwarrior
Old
(Last edited by racinwarrior; 27th April 2012 at 04:14 PM.)
#43  
racinwarrior's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 496
Posts: 1,159
Join Date: Aug 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Conap View Post
I'm still on gb firmware. A couple of the rom's have a zip file that will revert the mountpoints so I just flash that after flashing the ics rom and haven't had any issues. Also make sure you have the setting correct in BootManager for which ever hboot your using.
email sent

*UPDATE* - seems like it was a problem with Joels BAMF 2.1 ROM and Superuser access. Boot manager was not requesting root and therefore was not able to manage the roms correctly. it never notified me so i had no idea. I switched to Clean ROM 4.3 and boot manager requested root right away. seems to be working now

thank you for the help and support
 
mjh68
Old
#44  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 359
Posts: 1,566
Join Date: Apr 2010
I just downloaded this app and working so far ! Takes a long time to load rom though from the boot manager app would it be faster to install rom in recovery then have boot manager load it in a slot from the nandroid ?
 
tekhna
Old
#45  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 332
Posts: 1,200
Join Date: Dec 2007
So I do the install, it installs, but it tells me I don't have a boot.img.
I extracted the kernel from the ROM, put it in a separate directory and included it in the queue, but it doesn't seem to have worked? If I use a file explorer to navigate to the directory where the ROM is installed there is indeed no boot.img. Any ideas on getting the kernel installed?

Edit: It says "Error Building new boot.img" FWIW
 
yojoe600
Old
#46  
yojoe600's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 427
Posts: 2,059
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Greensboro, NC

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by tekhna View Post
So I do the install, it installs, but it tells me I don't have a boot.img.
I extracted the kernel from the ROM, put it in a separate directory and included it in the queue, but it doesn't seem to have worked? If I use a file explorer to navigate to the directory where the ROM is installed there is indeed no boot.img. Any ideas on getting the kernel installed?

Edit: It says "Error Building new boot.img" FWIW
When u were in phone Rom did u hit setup phone before u flash a Rom bc u should

Sent from my Dinc... I mean Rezound

My Current Devices:
Blue HTC One


Previous:
HTC Rezound- Turning into a webcam?
Nexus 7 (2013)- Gave it to my Mother
Droid Incredible -Sitting in some drawer
Samsung Omnia SOLD

Follow me!
https://twitter.com/yojoe600
 
tekhna
Old
#47  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 332
Posts: 1,200
Join Date: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by yojoe600 View Post
When u were in phone Rom did u hit setup phone before u flash a Rom bc u should

Sent from my Dinc... I mean Rezound
Of course, but it's probably not relevant to being unable to build a boot.img on an external ROM, unless I'm missing something about how this program operates.
 
mjh68
Old
(Last edited by mjh68; 28th April 2012 at 08:07 PM.)
#48  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 359
Posts: 1,566
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by tekhna View Post
So I do the install, it installs, but it tells me I don't have a boot.img.
I extracted the kernel from the ROM, put it in a separate directory and included it in the queue, but it doesn't seem to have worked? If I use a file explorer to navigate to the directory where the ROM is installed there is indeed no boot.img. Any ideas on getting the kernel installed?

Edit: It says "Error Building new boot.img" FWIW
I installed 2 roms , 1 ics, other sense 4 no issues. Tried to load zones gb Rom with kernel included and got the same error..unable to build boot.img.

Re ran it was fine. Just finicky I guess
Sent from my ADR6425LVW using xda premium
 
yojoe600
Old
#49  
yojoe600's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 427
Posts: 2,059
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Greensboro, NC

 
DONATE TO ME
hmm well i have no problem on mine.. ( not saying i havent before... but its working right now).... maybe try uninstalling and reintalling bootmanager after clearing out the folders

My Current Devices:
Blue HTC One


Previous:
HTC Rezound- Turning into a webcam?
Nexus 7 (2013)- Gave it to my Mother
Droid Incredible -Sitting in some drawer
Samsung Omnia SOLD

Follow me!
https://twitter.com/yojoe600
 
mjh68
Old
#50  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 359
Posts: 1,566
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by yojoe600 View Post
hmm well i have no problem on mine.. ( not saying i havent before... but its working right now).... maybe try uninstalling and reintalling bootmanager after clearing out the folders
Thanks..its working fine. I just have to realize it maybe quirky at times.glad I waited for s -off so it has been a great app ! Just wish it was faster. Saw on the faq on the website that card class is a lot of it. So expected , I am still using card that came with the phone.

Sent from my ADR6425LVW using xda premium

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes