Mural Watchface Brings 500px to Android Wear

On a traditional watch, you can’t really do too much to change its appearance once … more

Android 5.0 Favorite Features, Release November 3rd? – XDA TV

Google Confirms Android 5.0 Lollipop for November 3rd! That and much more … more

Prepare Your Build Machines: Ubuntu 14.10 Utopic Unicorn Now Official

Today is an important day for any and all Linux enthusiasts. One of the … more

Track the Time You Waste on Social Media with Socials Addict

When you use your phone, you often don’t even realize how much time you … more
Post Reply

[Q] What is wrong with my EVO?

OP nolimit06

26th April 2012, 10:24 AM   |  #1  
nolimit06's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag North Carolina
Thanks Meter: 362
 
627 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
Hey guys, I have been having a ton of issues with my phone lately and I am at a loss on what to do from here... I am always having lag, random reboots, and on occasion complete data loss and nothing but force closings on every single app.

I have tried numerous roms both AOSP and Sense and several different kernel combos all with the same problems. My ROM install process is as follows...

1) Wipe Everything 3x
2) Transfer files needed for flashing to SD
3) Run VR_SUPERWIPE.zip 3x
4) Flash ROM
5) Flash Kernel
6) Flash GAPPS (if AOSP)
7) Flash dta2sd
8) Reboot

Phone Info:
White EVO HW 004
Recovery: AmonRA 3.11
SD: 8gb PNY Class 10
Battery: Stock

I usually get to the setup screen and I am able to get everything setup such as wifi and such. I let the phone sit for about 5 minutes then I reboot and procede with the rest of my setup process such as app installs, themeing, etc. On my initial reboot I go into recovery and fix permissions. 7 out of 10 times my phone will get borked right here and I can never get back to the system and I just get stuck at the white evo screen... I have tried cache and dalvik-cache wipes with no luck.

I have even unrooted my phone and tried to run everything as stock with the same results. I am pissed and frustrated and I do not know what to do anymore short of taking the phone and smashing it in to the ground and running it over with a truck

I hope someone has some idea of what is going on and I can get my issue resolved and if not tell me how to get a new phone out of Sprint

Thanks in advance!

EDIT: On reboot the phone makes a clicking noise while on the white htc EVO 4G screen...
Last edited by nolimit06; 26th April 2012 at 10:34 AM.
26th April 2012, 10:58 AM   |  #2  
Diablo67's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Ħ℃ ∃Ṽϴ 4Ḡ
Thanks Meter: 2,766
 
2,709 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
This is the best thing to do,"Format & Partition Your SD Card"!that is the most important thing to do to not only make the roms run smoother and less lagging,but your phone will have less errors and more memory,go here.... http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1158993 partition your sd card,then go here.... http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...k+Tremors+A2SD And install this,trust me you will be wondering why you didnt do it sooner.

Edit:Holy crap,i didnt notice it was you bro,whats up nolimits,you might be having issues with the internals.
Last edited by Diablo67; 26th April 2012 at 11:06 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to Diablo67 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th April 2012, 01:11 PM   |  #3  
nolimit06's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag North Carolina
Thanks Meter: 362
 
627 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diablo67

This is the best thing to do,"Format & Partition Your SD Card"!that is the most important thing to do to not only make the roms run smoother and less lagging,but your phone will have less errors and more memory,go here.... http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1158993 partition your sd card,then go here.... http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...k+Tremors+A2SD And install this,trust me you will be wondering why you didnt do it sooner.

Edit:Holy crap,i didnt notice it was you bro,whats up nolimits,you might be having issues with the internals.

LOL yup it's me

I have tried a different method of flashing by rebooting after flashing one item at a time and it seems to have worked for the most part... My issues all started back when I tried pb15 of Deck's ICS build and all hell broke loose from there.

I really hope my method has resolved it self but if not I am not sure what to do with Sprint about getting a new phone. I have TEP but I don't have $100 due to a work injury and I don't have any income at the moment.

Here is what I am currently running:

CM7.2 APR8 Build
Mason 0.14 G SBC
dtA2SD
SmurfedOut Script 6.6
Last edited by nolimit06; 26th April 2012 at 01:23 PM.
26th April 2012, 07:49 PM   |  #4  
jamieg71's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 7,528
 
2,998 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nolimit06

Hey guys, I have been having a ton of issues with my phone lately and I am at a loss on what to do from here... I am always having lag, random reboots, and on occasion complete data loss and nothing but force closings on every single app.

I have tried numerous roms both AOSP and Sense and several different kernel combos all with the same problems. My ROM install process is as follows...

1) Wipe Everything 3x
2) Transfer files needed for flashing to SD
3) Run VR_SUPERWIPE.zip 3x
4) Flash ROM
5) Flash Kernel
6) Flash GAPPS (if AOSP)
7) Flash dta2sd
8) Reboot

Phone Info:
White EVO HW 004
Recovery: AmonRA 3.11
SD: 8gb PNY Class 10
Battery: Stock

I usually get to the setup screen and I am able to get everything setup such as wifi and such. I let the phone sit for about 5 minutes then I reboot and procede with the rest of my setup process such as app installs, themeing, etc. On my initial reboot I go into recovery and fix permissions. 7 out of 10 times my phone will get borked right here and I can never get back to the system and I just get stuck at the white evo screen... I have tried cache and dalvik-cache wipes with no luck.

I have even unrooted my phone and tried to run everything as stock with the same results. I am pissed and frustrated and I do not know what to do anymore short of taking the phone and smashing it in to the ground and running it over with a truck

I hope someone has some idea of what is going on and I can get my issue resolved and if not tell me how to get a new phone out of Sprint

Thanks in advance!

EDIT: On reboot the phone makes a clicking noise while on the white htc EVO 4G screen...

Did you recently upgrade your radios? If so did you go do a profile and prl update immediately after?
I've seen this issue occur after updating radios, and not updating profile.
Just a thought, and if your answer is no to having updated radios, Diablo had the first best bet just above.

Sent from my PC36100 using Tapatalk
26th April 2012, 11:34 PM   |  #5  
imheroldman's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Chico
Thanks Meter: 119
 
641 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
Try the same setup with out dta2sd.
Had the same issue a while back and it was a2sd, everything would be fine until a reboot. Not sure what it is but the a2sd was the culprit...

Also, what ext are you using? ext 4 will bork in the same manner, make sure you are on ext 3.

Sent from my PC36100 using xda premium
27th April 2012, 03:17 AM   |  #6  
nolimit06's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag North Carolina
Thanks Meter: 362
 
627 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamieg71

Did you recently upgrade your radios? If so did you go do a profile and prl update immediately after?
I've seen this issue occur after updating radios, and not updating profile.
Just a thought, and if your answer is no to having updated radios, Diablo had the first best bet just above.

Sent from my PC36100 using Tapatalk

It's been over a month since I updated the radios and I did update my profile and prl. I was just on Tommy's Classic and did another update so I am pretty sure that was not the culprit.

Quote:
Originally Posted by imheroldman

Try the same setup with out dta2sd.
Had the same issue a while back and it was a2sd, everything would be fine until a reboot. Not sure what it is but the a2sd was the culprit...

Also, what ext are you using? ext 4 will bork in the same manner, make sure you are on ext 3.

Sent from my PC36100 using xda premium

I did try ext4 but like you did figure that was part of the problem so I hooked up my card to my pc and did a full format and repartitioned my card to ext3 with no swap. I did try not going with a2sd but it seems that if I flash that at the very end it seems to work. I never had a problem flashing everything at once but I guess my phone is just being a ass now :P
27th April 2012, 03:21 AM   |  #7  
GrimReaper24's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter: 1,089
 
5,473 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
If you wipe 3x and superwipe 3x that is over kill one wipe each is safe and fine..

Do you have that issue on all roms? Sounds like something isn't playing well on your phone.
27th April 2012, 02:08 PM   |  #8  
volk9029's Avatar
Senior Member
Brooklyn, NY
Thanks Meter: 2,641
 
3,059 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nolimit06

It's been over a month since I updated the radios and I did update my profile and prl. I was just on Tommy's Classic and did another update so I am pretty sure that was not the culprit.



I did try ext4 but like you did figure that was part of the problem so I hooked up my card to my pc and did a full format and repartitioned my card to ext3 with no swap. I did try not going with a2sd but it seems that if I flash that at the very end it seems to work. I never had a problem flashing everything at once but I guess my phone is just being a ass now :P

I noticed that you use amon ra 3.11. Have you tried amon ra 2.3?

Sent from my lair.
27th April 2012, 02:45 PM   |  #9  
jrollercoasters's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 367
 
1,711 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by reaper24

If you wipe 3x and superwipe 3x that is over kill one wipe each is safe and fine..

Do you have that issue on all roms? Sounds like something isn't playing well on your phone.

Agreed od's super wipe messed up my phone when I did it to much I had to fully clear out phone SD and all and factory reset via setting in phone not armon, worked fine after

Sent from my PC36100 using xda premium

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes