Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,781,506 Members 39,424 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Still having data connection issues:chicago

Tip us?
 
davidbudd1
Old
#11  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 133
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: chicago
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaRkL3AD3R View Post
Hey rygel411, does this sound like your situation?

1) Boot phone up fresh full reboot
2) Phone grabs a 3g/4g signal instantly and holds it for several hours fine
3) Randomly when you power on the display, you are missing a 3g/4g icon but have full bars
4) Checking under Wireless Network settings, Mobile Networks is OFF and WON'T turn on
5) Reboot solves the problem or Wait approx 2-4 hours and it solves itself randomly without doing anything

Does this sound like your situation? No 3g/4g icons and no data connection, and unable to turn data back on without a reboot or waiting a long time? Cuz if so this is exactly what happens to me and I live in central NJ. I always get perfect 3G signal on all my phones, even in my house. And my data speeds are generally good; 1500-3000kbps on 3G.

I am running MR2 Das BAMF Gingerstripped with Imoseyon's 3.4.0 GB Kernel. It IS related to Gingerbread, as my girlfriends Thunderbolt running full stock does not see this issue at all.
I'm in Chicago and I do have this same problem from time to time. Over the last couple days it has been better but still happens
 
DaRkL3AD3R
Old
#12  
DaRkL3AD3R's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 225
Posts: 744
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by davidbudd1 View Post
I'm in Chicago and I do have this same problem from time to time. Over the last couple days it has been better but still happens
Just wondering but are you on MR2? Because if anything its either that or the ROM, and I am more or less thinking its the radio. Could be why we didn't see this radio OTA yet.
 
davidbudd1
Old
#13  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 133
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: chicago
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaRkL3AD3R View Post
Just wondering but are you on MR2? Because if anything its either that or the ROM, and I am more or less thinking its the radio. Could be why we didn't see this radio OTA yet.
I'm on 2.5, not sure of it's radio related or their network because I had Zero problems before with this configuration.
 
rygel411
Old
#14  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 15
Join Date: Jun 2010
I was on 2.5. Then I downloaded the cm7 update that dropped a couple of hours ago and I was getting horrendous speeds with it, barely 1mbps. So I downgraded to mr2 and now I'm back between 7 and 13. I'm thinking about downgrading to the froyo radio and installing the cm7 compatible version with it.

Sent from my ThunderBolt using XDA App
 
clintonroche
Old
#15  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 44
Posts: 261
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Tampa

 
DONATE TO ME
I was in Chicago this past weekend and noticed that my data was spacing out a lot. My GF on an un-rooted Tbolt was fine the whole weekend as best as I could tell.

I am on Sense 3.0 MR 2.5 Radio.
 
DaRkL3AD3R
Old
#16  
DaRkL3AD3R's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 225
Posts: 744
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by clintonroche View Post
I was in Chicago this past weekend and noticed that my data was spacing out a lot. My GF on an un-rooted Tbolt was fine the whole weekend as best as I could tell.

I am on Sense 3.0 MR 2.5 Radio.
This is exactly my finding, just in New Jersey instead of Chicago. I would like to see explicit details on what exactly happens when you folks lose your data connection, and what happens when you try to toggle certain settings (ie - plane mode, mobile network, etc)

Especially one particular detail. When you lose your data connection, is there a 1x icon in the notification bar, or are there NO icons next to your signal. That will determine if we're having a connection problem to Verizon, or if our ROM's/Radio's are the culprit.
 
dbisch
Old
#17  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 29
Posts: 373
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Chicago
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaRkL3AD3R View Post
This is exactly my finding, just in New Jersey instead of Chicago. I would like to see explicit details on what exactly happens when you folks lose your data connection, and what happens when you try to toggle certain settings (ie - plane mode, mobile network, etc)

Especially one particular detail. When you lose your data connection, is there a 1x icon in the notification bar, or are there NO icons next to your signal. That will determine if we're having a connection problem to Verizon, or if our ROM's/Radio's are the culprit.
I have the same exact problem as the OP. I live in Wheaton, work in Carol Stream and go to Chicago every weekend because my girlfriend lives there. 4G and 3G CONSTANTLY go in and out when trying to use them. The 4G icon diappears and then reappears. It doesn't switch over to 3G or 1X. The icon just disappears, displays full bars for a second in grey, 4G icon comes back in grey with 1-2 bars in grey and then goes green after 10-20 seconds or so. It's so ****ing annoying.

I'm running the latest CM7 build with 0223r radio. I've tried MR2 and MR 2.5 and have no luck. It's driving me nuts. It's not CM7 either. I was running rooted stock and it was doing the same thing.
 
clintonroche
Old
#18  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 44
Posts: 261
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Tampa

 
DONATE TO ME
I was getting symptoms like it was shutting on and off. Mine works fine with no changes in the Tampa area.

BAMF THUNDERBOLT
 
sg1dan
Old
#19  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 19
Posts: 234
Join Date: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbisch View Post
I have the same exact problem as the OP. I live in Wheaton, work in Carol Stream and go to Chicago every weekend because my girlfriend lives there. 4G and 3G CONSTANTLY go in and out when trying to use them. The 4G icon diappears and then reappears. It doesn't switch over to 3G or 1X. The icon just disappears, displays full bars for a second in grey, 4G icon comes back in grey with 1-2 bars in grey and then goes green after 10-20 seconds or so. It's so ****ing annoying.

I'm running the latest CM7 build with 0223r radio. I've tried MR2 and MR 2.5 and have no luck. It's driving me nuts. It's not CM7 either. I was running rooted stock and it was doing the same thing.
i only see this problem while tethering. if i try too many connections (open windows at same time) the 4g disappears for a second or two then it comes back. other than that (chicago north side) my 4g has been flawless. never switched to 3g either.
 
hifromkate
Old
#20  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Apr 2012
Default mobile connection issues on HTC Thunderbolt

Hi,
Did anyone ever figure out connection issues with HTC Thunderbolt? I have the exact issue that DaRkL3AD3R discussed in July.
My Thunderbolt just started doing almost the identical thing as he posted. Can't get on internet unless I wait, boot, whatever - almost identical to what you stated. Connection seems to be connected but it is not. I am new to "messing" around with my phone but this cuased me to root and boot but still on the Gingerbread os. It is driving me batty! It started about Mar 25 or so and I thought booting would help. Do you know if it may be the radio and are there other versions I can try? Someone mentioned new PRI version? Thanks for any pointing in the right direction!

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Integrate Social Networks Into Your Project With ASNE Library

Social network applications and services have developed into major parts ofour … more

Give Your Android Wear Device a Lock Screen with Lockable

Without a doubt,Android Wear is one of the most frequently talked abouttopics of … more

Forums Added for the LG G Watch R and Samsung Gear S

A little over a week ago, LG “inadvertently” let the world know about the … more

Secrecy App Goes Open Source, New LG Android Wear Device! – XDA Developer TV

Secrecy encryption app goes open source! That and much … more