Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,731,235 Members 51,942 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Connection Setup

Tip us?
 
backlashsid
Old
#1  
backlashsid's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 99
Posts: 986
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New York
Default [Q] Connection Setup

So I am on Simple Mobile on an unlocked Tmobile HD7. The problem is that everytime I run the HTC Connection Setup the phone detects Tmobile as the default conncection (which is because Simple Mobile does use Tmobile networks)

however when I manually select Simple Mobile from the provider list. MMS/Picture Message seems to work fine. Of course given the fact that Data Connection is active and we don't have much APN settings for MMS on Windows Phone Mango (yet).

So I was wondering if instead of using the HTC Connection Setup if I use some other OEM connection setup app like that of Nokia or Samsung using the xap marketplace changer,

would it still work ??? I don't want to run HTC Connection Setup again and again for it might relock my deepshining custom ROM.

Please answer.
 
sh4d0w86
Old
#2  
sh4d0w86's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 792
Posts: 1,757
Join Date: Apr 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
why not just run CS once and uninstall?
if you found me helpful, click the thanks button or consider donating.
for quick & efficient replies, ask in a related forum rather then PM'ing.

schubert links. xspl tutorial. shipped roms. radios.
current devices. goldc. eternity. leo. lumia 710. lumia 810. mondrian. mozart.
applications. device reset. device volume. ie fav backup. market select.
 
backlashsid
Old
#3  
backlashsid's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 99
Posts: 986
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New York
Quote:
Originally Posted by sh4d0w86 View Post
why not just run CS once and uninstall?
and how would that help ?
 
sh4d0w86
Old
#4  
sh4d0w86's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 792
Posts: 1,757
Join Date: Apr 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by backlashsid View Post
and how would that help ?
hmm, perhaps i misunderstood you...

what is the issue that you are attempting to solve?

you can only use HTC Connection Setup.
the other OEM versions of CS cannot be used on HTC devices.
if you found me helpful, click the thanks button or consider donating.
for quick & efficient replies, ask in a related forum rather then PM'ing.

schubert links. xspl tutorial. shipped roms. radios.
current devices. goldc. eternity. leo. lumia 710. lumia 810. mondrian. mozart.
applications. device reset. device volume. ie fav backup. market select.
 
backlashsid
Old
#5  
backlashsid's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 99
Posts: 986
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New York
Quote:
Originally Posted by sh4d0w86 View Post
hmm, perhaps i misunderstood you...

what is the issue that you are attempting to solve?

you can only use HTC Connection Setup.
the other OEM versions of CS cannot be used on HTC devices.
The problem is that even after running HTC Connection Setup.....the MMS works fine for the next few tries...but then it stops working itself...as if the connection has been reset back to Tmobile instead of Simple Mobile....so I have to run HTC Connection setup everytime...sometimes it solves the prob...some times it doesn't....so I was thinking if there was another app to write the data settings....


However I followed you and uninstalled HTC Connection setup...after installing the carrier settings...lets see if it solves the problem..in the meantime if you think this is related to something else..then let me know.
 
sh4d0w86
Old
#6  
sh4d0w86's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 792
Posts: 1,757
Join Date: Apr 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by backlashsid View Post
However I followed you and uninstalled HTC Connection setup...after installing the carrier settings...lets see if it solves the problem..in the meantime if you think this is related to something else..then let me know.
if that doesn't solve the problem, send a PROVXML file to your device with the carrier settings.
if you found me helpful, click the thanks button or consider donating.
for quick & efficient replies, ask in a related forum rather then PM'ing.

schubert links. xspl tutorial. shipped roms. radios.
current devices. goldc. eternity. leo. lumia 710. lumia 810. mondrian. mozart.
applications. device reset. device volume. ie fav backup. market select.
 
backlashsid
Old
#7  
backlashsid's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 99
Posts: 986
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New York
Quote:
Originally Posted by sh4d0w86 View Post
if that doesn't solve the problem, send a PROVXML file to your device with the carrier settings.
Well its working for now...can you tell me where can I find the provxml file ?? for Simple Mobile ?? I didn't get it...explain !
 
sh4d0w86
Old
#8  
sh4d0w86's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 792
Posts: 1,757
Join Date: Apr 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by backlashsid View Post
Well its working for now...can you tell me where can I find the provxml file ?? for Simple Mobile ?? I didn't get it...explain !
i doubt there is one. you'll need to make one.
if you found me helpful, click the thanks button or consider donating.
for quick & efficient replies, ask in a related forum rather then PM'ing.

schubert links. xspl tutorial. shipped roms. radios.
current devices. goldc. eternity. leo. lumia 710. lumia 810. mondrian. mozart.
applications. device reset. device volume. ie fav backup. market select.
 
backlashsid
Old
#9  
backlashsid's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 99
Posts: 986
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New York
Quote:
Originally Posted by sh4d0w86 View Post
i doubt there is one. you'll need to make one.
ok I know the custom settings...just tell me how to make one...like give me a template or something....I am guessing we can use a text editor to change the values ?
 
sh4d0w86
Old
#10  
sh4d0w86's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 792
Posts: 1,757
Join Date: Apr 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by backlashsid View Post
ok I know the custom settings...just tell me how to make one...like give me a template or something....I am guessing we can use a text editor to change the values ?
from Schubert TMO US 4.05.531.03...
Attached Files
File Type: txt mxipupdate_TMOUSAPNMMS_100.provxml.txt - [Click for QR Code] (2.8 KB, 41 views)
if you found me helpful, click the thanks button or consider donating.
for quick & efficient replies, ask in a related forum rather then PM'ing.

schubert links. xspl tutorial. shipped roms. radios.
current devices. goldc. eternity. leo. lumia 710. lumia 810. mondrian. mozart.
applications. device reset. device volume. ie fav backup. market select.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...