FORUMS

AOSP 5.1 Lollipop for Nexus Q

Google Nexus Q is an intriguing device released with Android 4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich. It was abandoned by … more

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (Apr 17 – 24)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

Glimpse Notifications: Easier Lockscreen Notifications

Lollipop brought a revamp to the lockscreen, taking away custom widgets but … more

What Are the Best Looking Apps on Android?

As more developers are updating their apps with Material Design elements, we’re … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Rooting the Asus Eee Pad Slider??

24th April 2012, 09:13 PM |#1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Hi everyone! First off i want to say im pleased to be a new owner of this machine and im struggling to get some straight forward info on rooting/unlocking the device. i am struggling to get adb commands sent to my device and my windows 7 x86 machine will not pick it up after installing all the drivers and suite from asus site. I understand at this point that eveb the serial number is critical to identifying what device i have to clarify if i can root so with that i will give the basics here
Slider SL101
HTK75.US_epad-8.6.5.21_20111216
Honeycomb 3.2.1
serail starts with B90KA....


thanks everyone!
 
 
25th April 2012, 01:27 AM |#2  
Thing O Doom's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Phoenix
Thanks Meter: 729
 
Donate to Me
More
Sorry to ask this, but did you turn on USB debugging in the settings -> Development menu? If not then it won't be picked up.
If it still doesn't work you can try doing it in a virtualbox running linux or on linux, which is easier driver wise.
25th April 2012, 04:13 AM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
yes i did, but thank you for asking. Im now trying to do a root on my linux machine (Ubuntu 11.10) any guidance to this process would be greatly appreciated.
25th April 2012, 05:42 AM |#4  
Thing O Doom's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Phoenix
Thanks Meter: 729
 
Donate to Me
More
Linux ADB: (Extract the Tar-Gz, contains the adb drivers you need, no need for ASUS Sync) http://developer.android.com/sdk/index.html (shouldn't need for razorclaw)

Root:
Razorclaw: (All can be done on your TF, gotta downgrade firmware then use this to gain root) http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1345049
Vipermod (Use Option-1 I think):
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1427125
26th April 2012, 12:54 AM |#5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thing O Doom

Linux ADB: (Extract the Tar-Gz, contains the adb drivers you need, no need for ASUS Sync) http://developer.android.com/sdk/index.html (shouldn't need for razorclaw)

Root:
Razorclaw: (All can be done on your TF, gotta downgrade firmware then use this to gain root) http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1345049
Vipermod (Use Option-1 I think):
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1427125

the vipermod link for linux will not work. how do i downgrade?
26th April 2012, 12:59 AM |#6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
adb push nachoroot.bin /data/local/
adb shell chmod 777 /data/local/nachoroot.bin
adb shell /data/local/nachoroot.bin --stage1
adb reboot
<wait for boot>
adb shell /data/local/nachoroot.bin --stage2
adb reboot
<wait for boot>
adb shell id
<if id is 0 / root then continue, else start over>
adb remount
adb push su /system/xbin/su
adb shell chown 0.0 /system/xbin/su
adb shell chmod 06755 /system/xbin/su
adb shell /data/local/nachoroot.bin --undo
adb reboot

can i run these commands on terminal if im on .21? I wont brick right? I know the nacho root doest work for me. and vipermod is just a bunch of scipt to auto root right?
26th April 2012, 01:06 AM |#7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
sorry for back-to-back -back responses. I type adb devices in terminal and get..

charlie@charlie-EP43-UD3L:~/android/tools$ '/home/charlie/android/tools/adb' devices
* daemon not running. starting it now on port 5037 *
* daemon started successfully *
List of devices attached
???????????? no permissions

I cant see the slider??? Why
26th April 2012, 12:41 PM |#8  
Thing O Doom's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Phoenix
Thanks Meter: 729
 
Donate to Me
More
http://wiki.cyanogenmod.com/wiki/Udev <-- Did you do this when setting up ADB on your ubuntu? its easy to miss and important.
The Following User Says Thank You to Thing O Doom For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th April 2012, 05:27 AM |#9  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
pperho Thn
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thing O Doom

http://wiki.cyanogenmod.com/wiki/Udev <-- Did you do this when setting up ADB on your ubuntu? its easy to miss and important.

Thanks so much man! That worked great!

Here is a helpful link along with yours, gave some more clarification.
http://www.joescat.com/linux/android_rules.html
Rock and Rooted!
Last edited by charliefowle; 27th April 2012 at 05:29 AM.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes