APKTool Updated with Android Lollipop Support

One of the beauties of Android is the level of flexibility we have over our devices. Whether … more

Lollipop Leak for Sprint Galaxy S5, TWRP for Micromax Canvas Magnus – XDA TV

Android 5.0 Lollipop has been leaked for the Sprint … more

Velocity is Like OpenTable on Steroids

We all enjoy a night out with friends or our significant other from time to time. However, there is … more

Android Lollipop Lands for the Sony Xperia Z Ultra

The undisputed king of the beasts–at least in Sony’s current stable,is the … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Rooting the Asus Eee Pad Slider??

OP charliefowle

24th April 2012, 10:13 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Hi everyone! First off i want to say im pleased to be a new owner of this machine and im struggling to get some straight forward info on rooting/unlocking the device. i am struggling to get adb commands sent to my device and my windows 7 x86 machine will not pick it up after installing all the drivers and suite from asus site. I understand at this point that eveb the serial number is critical to identifying what device i have to clarify if i can root so with that i will give the basics here
Slider SL101
HTK75.US_epad-8.6.5.21_20111216
Honeycomb 3.2.1
serail starts with B90KA....


thanks everyone!
25th April 2012, 02:27 AM   |  #2  
Thing O Doom's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Phoenix
Thanks Meter: 725
 
1,530 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
Donate to Me
More
Sorry to ask this, but did you turn on USB debugging in the settings -> Development menu? If not then it won't be picked up.
If it still doesn't work you can try doing it in a virtualbox running linux or on linux, which is easier driver wise.
25th April 2012, 05:13 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
yes i did, but thank you for asking. Im now trying to do a root on my linux machine (Ubuntu 11.10) any guidance to this process would be greatly appreciated.
25th April 2012, 06:42 AM   |  #4  
Thing O Doom's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Phoenix
Thanks Meter: 725
 
1,530 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
Donate to Me
More
Linux ADB: (Extract the Tar-Gz, contains the adb drivers you need, no need for ASUS Sync) http://developer.android.com/sdk/index.html (shouldn't need for razorclaw)

Root:
Razorclaw: (All can be done on your TF, gotta downgrade firmware then use this to gain root) http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1345049
Vipermod (Use Option-1 I think):
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1427125
26th April 2012, 01:54 AM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thing O Doom

Linux ADB: (Extract the Tar-Gz, contains the adb drivers you need, no need for ASUS Sync) http://developer.android.com/sdk/index.html (shouldn't need for razorclaw)

Root:
Razorclaw: (All can be done on your TF, gotta downgrade firmware then use this to gain root) http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1345049
Vipermod (Use Option-1 I think):
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1427125

the vipermod link for linux will not work. how do i downgrade?
26th April 2012, 01:59 AM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
adb push nachoroot.bin /data/local/
adb shell chmod 777 /data/local/nachoroot.bin
adb shell /data/local/nachoroot.bin --stage1
adb reboot
<wait for boot>
adb shell /data/local/nachoroot.bin --stage2
adb reboot
<wait for boot>
adb shell id
<if id is 0 / root then continue, else start over>
adb remount
adb push su /system/xbin/su
adb shell chown 0.0 /system/xbin/su
adb shell chmod 06755 /system/xbin/su
adb shell /data/local/nachoroot.bin --undo
adb reboot

can i run these commands on terminal if im on .21? I wont brick right? I know the nacho root doest work for me. and vipermod is just a bunch of scipt to auto root right?
26th April 2012, 02:06 AM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
sorry for back-to-back -back responses. I type adb devices in terminal and get..

charlie@charlie-EP43-UD3L:~/android/tools$ '/home/charlie/android/tools/adb' devices
* daemon not running. starting it now on port 5037 *
* daemon started successfully *
List of devices attached
???????????? no permissions

I cant see the slider??? Why
26th April 2012, 01:41 PM   |  #8  
Thing O Doom's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Phoenix
Thanks Meter: 725
 
1,530 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
Donate to Me
More
http://wiki.cyanogenmod.com/wiki/Udev <-- Did you do this when setting up ADB on your ubuntu? its easy to miss and important.
The Following User Says Thank You to Thing O Doom For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th April 2012, 06:27 AM   |  #9  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
pperho Thn
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thing O Doom

http://wiki.cyanogenmod.com/wiki/Udev <-- Did you do this when setting up ADB on your ubuntu? its easy to miss and important.

Thanks so much man! That worked great!

Here is a helpful link along with yours, gave some more clarification.
http://www.joescat.com/linux/android_rules.html
Rock and Rooted!
Last edited by charliefowle; 27th April 2012 at 06:29 AM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes