Stop Your Screen From Turning Off with KeepItOn

We all know the feeling of reading a news article orrather longdocument, when our screen … more

The XDA LG QPair Developer Challenge Voting Has Begun!

It seems like it was just yesterday that weannounced that we had paired up with LGto … more

Major Update for the Sony Smartwatch 2 Brings DND and More

With the wearables landscape now dominated by Android Wear and Pebble, its … more

How to Root Android Wear 5.0.1 Lollipop Devices – XDA TV

The Lollipop update for Android Wear devices has hit the market and people are … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Nandroid backup and restore with Amon-ra

OP Wendemixda

26th April 2012, 07:42 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 56
 
382 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
I am used to making backups and restoring with CWR on my EVO but now that I have the Rezound and CWR does not work, I make Nandroid backups with Amon-ra but am not able to restore them. I read somewhere that some things need to checked while on recovery mode but I am not sure what. What do I need to do to make a proper Nandroid Backup? And also do I need to flash anything else after I restore a backup?
26th April 2012, 09:26 PM   |  #2  
Snuzzo's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 6,332
 
5,291 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
If restoring an ics build coming from ics(or gb to gb) no additional flashing should be needed. Should only be needing to backup system data cache and boot. If you do s-off exploit, you can restore boot.IMG directly through the nandroid.

Sent from my ADR6425LVW using XDA
26th April 2012, 10:13 PM   |  #3  
Evocm7's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bakersfield
Thanks Meter: 351
 
1,415 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
Go to this thread and download the file
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1547496

I know for sure it works with amon ra. Flash it in recovery, I think it boots automatically afterwards into bootloader, flash the image, reboot and it will go back into recovery on its own then flash your nandroid. Then all should be well. Just flashing nandroid will not allow the phone to boot
Sent from my ADR6425LVW using xda premium
27th April 2012, 08:21 AM   |  #4  
rfarrah's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag OKC
Thanks Meter: 348
 
2,740 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
I've restored several times through Amon Ra backups. I back up the usual stuff and the Android secure file. So far no problems at all.
22nd September 2012, 06:07 PM   |  #5  
putney1477's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Concord, NH
Thanks Meter: 51
 
729 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
I recieved my CLNR from verizon yesterday. Made a nandroid last night.
Today I have unlocked, rooted and now I am trying to restore my nandroid.
This is what it looks like:

x boot
x system
x data
x cache
recovery
sd-ext
x android_secure
android_secure_internalsd

perform restore
return

I hit perform restore and this is what happens

oops....something went wrong. Please check the recovery log!

What does that mean and where do I go from here?

Thanks

Heather
1st November 2012, 01:57 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 55
 
380 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by putney1477

I recieved my CLNR from verizon yesterday. Made a nandroid last night.
Today I have unlocked, rooted and now I am trying to restore my nandroid.
This is what it looks like:

x boot
x system
x data
x cache
recovery
sd-ext
x android_secure
android_secure_internalsd

perform restore
return

I hit perform restore and this is what happens

oops....something went wrong. Please check the recovery log!

What does that mean and where do I go from here?

Thanks

Heather

I have the same problem..and it looks like no one knows the answer or is willing to give you the time to help you.
1st November 2012, 02:06 AM   |  #7  
darkghost568's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bethesda
Thanks Meter: 118
 
637 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanleyopar2000

I have the same problem..and it looks like no one knows the answer or is willing to give you the time to help you.

Same here. I switched to TWRP and no issues thus far.
The Following User Says Thank You to darkghost568 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
1st November 2012, 04:21 AM   |  #8  
Ƒłƴнαł205's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Recognized Developer
Flag Birmingham, AL
Thanks Meter: 6,315
 
4,219 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Donate to Me
More
Do any of you guys have the recovery log you could post. Might shed some light on the issue.

Sent from my ADR6425LVW using xda app-developers app
1st November 2012, 06:07 AM   |  #9  
darkghost568's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bethesda
Thanks Meter: 118
 
637 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flyhalf205

Do any of you guys have the recovery log you could post. Might shed some light on the issue.

Sent from my ADR6425LVW using xda app-developers app

Thanks for TWRP! LOVE IT!

The Following User Says Thank You to darkghost568 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes