FORUMS

OnePlus 2 Forums: Discuss Everything About The OP2!

Now that the OnePlus 2 has been officially unveiled and that we have had close-up … more

Intel & Micron Announce “Revolutionary” Storage Tech

Intel & Micron have announced 3D Xpoint technology—”the … more

Google Now Interfaces With Third-Party Messaging Apps

Google has announced that Ok Google voice commands can now be used to send … more

Make Your Lockscreen More Productive With Widgets

Are you running Android Lollipop? Do you miss the ability to add widgets to your lock … more

Remove webtop?

483 posts
Thanks Meter: 54
 
By jbuggydroid, Senior Member on 15th October 2011, 11:42 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hey guys I was just wondering if there was a way to completely our even partially remove webtop. I never use it nor care for it and wouldn't mind more room and hopefully more free memory.

Sent from my MOPHO using XDA App
 
 
15th October 2011, 05:25 PM |#2  
Lokifish Marz's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Recognized Developer
Flag Olympus Mons, Mars
Thanks Meter: 3,314
 
Donate to Me
More
Would you use it if it was more like UbunTop without having to unlock/root the phone?
15th October 2011, 05:32 PM |#3  
rohit3192's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 32
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lokifish Marz

Would you use it if it was more like UbunTop without having to unlock/root the phone?

If no rooting/unlocking required then ubuntop will be a big plus.
17th October 2011, 01:59 AM |#4  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 54
 
More
No not really I don't think. Never saw ubuntop in action tho

Sent from my MB855 using XDA App
17th October 2011, 05:05 PM |#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 177
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbuggydroid

Hey guys I was just wondering if there was a way to completely our even partially remove webtop. I never use it nor care for it and wouldn't mind more room and hopefully more free memory.

Sent from my MOPHO using XDA App

Yeah, I'd be interested in this as well. Repartition the internal storage. I don't need or use webtop and I'd much rather have that space for apps.

This will probably require the unlocked bootloader, but even with that, directions haven't been posted on how to do this.
17th October 2011, 05:08 PM |#6  
Kcarpenter's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Clinton, TN
Thanks Meter: 146
 
More
I worked a bit on adapting the FireRat partition mods, but haven't really had time to finish it up.

EDIT:
I should say that the reason it won't work at the moment is because I think we need some bootimg work- which isn't my best area, I really don't have a best area... anyways-
From what I can gather, we need to figure out how to do this:
Quote:

You can boot a kernel with a modified partition table using one of two methods;
the "-c" parameter to fastboot allows you to add kernel parameters. This is good for booting RECOVERY images and applying custom layouts.

The second method is to build the custom layout into your boot.img or recovery.img.
This can be done using the "--cmdline" parameter to mkbootimg.

And since I don't have a x64 box, I can't build ------------------------------yup thats about it...maybe I can get mrinhart or shabby to help, but I really don't have a lot of time right now between my sons football practices/games, daughters Cheer and Dance, and work.
Last edited by Kcarpenter; 17th October 2011 at 05:31 PM.
26th April 2012, 07:11 PM |#8  
cornelious2's Avatar
Senior Member
Saint Chuck
Thanks Meter: 173
 
Donate to Me
More
Go go gadget thread necromancer!


Sent from my mopho
27th April 2012, 02:56 AM |#9  
Lokifish Marz's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Recognized Developer
Flag Olympus Mons, Mars
Thanks Meter: 3,314
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by 21031980

Any Luck on this?

First. ZOMBIES!!! (haven't slept in going on 38hrs so bear with me)

The repartition is more headache than it's worth. The chance of bricking and I mean replace phone level of bricking, is very high. The only thing else I can figure is to format the osh partition and make it readable as storage for CWM/TWRP backups or fastboot accessible in case of recovery failure. This won't recover the space used but would at least repurpose it.

I'm still in the process of working on a number of personal projects as well as trying to get some issues with the next ROM and Webtop release fixed so everything is in a "No ETA's" status.

Oh and I need to update the All Things MoPho thread on multiple sites.
27th April 2012, 09:20 AM |#10  
hellot1M's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 352
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lokifish Marz

First. ZOMBIES!!! (haven't slept in going on 38hrs so bear with me)

The repartition is more headache than it's worth. The chance of bricking and I mean replace phone level of bricking, is very high. The only thing else I can figure is to format the osh partition and make it readable as storage for CWM/TWRP backups or fastboot accessible in case of recovery failure. This won't recover the space used but would at least repurpose it.

I'm still in the process of working on a number of personal projects as well as trying to get some issues with the next ROM and Webtop release fixed so everything is in a "No ETA's" status.

Oh and I need to update the All Things MoPho thread on multiple sites.

Is there a way to have a full desktop Linux emulated environment in its place? Like some type of emulator to emulate any desktop Linux distro with a higher resolution than webtop

Sent from my I9300 using XDA
27th April 2012, 02:49 PM |#11  
Lokifish Marz's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Recognized Developer
Flag Olympus Mons, Mars
Thanks Meter: 3,314
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tsdeaton

Is there a way to have a full desktop Linux emulated environment in its place? Like some type of emulator to emulate any desktop Linux distro with a higher resolution than webtop

Sent from my I9300 using XDA

You don't need to emulate as Android=ARMLinux with a java frontend. This is demonstrated by the number of (insert disto here) on your phone projects here on xda and elsewhere. They are really running Linux on top of Linux.
How high of a resolution are you looking for? With tweaks, folks have been able to get 1080 output out of Webtop however 1366x768 really is it's sweet spot external output.
If by full desktop environment you mean a full version of KDE or Gnome, then no. I was able to get Gnome crammed into webtop but it required that I build it off device and remove everything not Gnome. It left no room for anything else and would have forced users to use webtop2sd as it had less than 50MB free space after cleaning the partition. It was actually more limited than webtop. To help put Webtop in a category here how it stands up against actual distros.

Webtop= Lubuntu running Avant instead of the built-in LXDE and most preinstalled apps removed.
Webtop+= Webtop with LXDE as its default so Lubuntu lite.
Ubuntop= Xubuntu lite with a ton of common apps installed.
The Following User Says Thank You to Lokifish Marz For This Useful Post: [ View ]

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes