5,606,151 Members 34,384 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

WPA Supplicant full compatible with 2.3.5 and ad hoc networks

Tip us?
 
zorainz
Old
#11  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 3
Join Date: Apr 2011
Unhappy please help

Quote:
Originally Posted by tapioco2000 View Post
NEEDS ROOT!

Here it is a compatible wpa_supplicant for 2.3.5
tested and working with yp g70 2.3.5 and x10 mini 2.1 with barnacle.
Probably it works with symbian (joikuspot) and windows 6.5 wifi tethering

donít forgot to backup your original wpa_supplicant file!!!

Transfer the wpa_supplicant file to your phone SD card.
Now copy wpa_supplicant file to /system/bin folder using root explorer (select R/W read and write)
reboot and test it!

i placed this file in the bin folder accidently deleted the original file.. i didnt realize my android version is gingerbread 2.3.6 not 2.3.5.. now my wifi doesnt even scan non adhoc networks. it just keeps scanning for networks.. my cell is galaxy Y 5360.ive tried hard reset and everything.. i dont know what to do now.. can anyone help me .. post the original wpa_supplicant for my device.. i would be thankful.. kindly help me out. as i bought my cell only yesterday n not looking forward to pay extra cash to get it fixed..
 
xeuzan
Old
(Last edited by xeuzan; 1st February 2012 at 10:10 AM.)
#12  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by wacottin View Post
great!
It works very well with (G70 - 2.3.5 - root) and (C6 Nokia - JoikuSpot).
thanks tapioco2000
hye, im using samsung galaxy W rooted 2.3.5 n try to connect it with my Nokia E71 Joikuspot. can u help me ? coz i try everything but it still not connecting. Btw, i already place the wpa but still didnt work. Help please?


Edit - Nvm. Its working now. Thank u!!!!!!!!!
 
OoliteFlight
Old
#13  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Apr 2012
Unhappy Please help!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by tapioco2000 View Post
NEEDS ROOT!

Here it is a compatible wpa_supplicant for 2.3.5
tested and working with yp g70 2.3.5 and x10 mini 2.1 with barnacle.
Probably it works with symbian (joikuspot) and windows 6.5 wifi tethering

donít forgot to backup your original wpa_supplicant file!!!

Transfer the wpa_supplicant file to your phone SD card.
Now copy wpa_supplicant file to /system/bin folder using root explorer (select R/W read and write)
reboot and test it!

I tried it and my device still can't to wifi

I tried to use the original file and it still doesnt work!

Please help!
 
tapioco2000
Old
#14  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 33
Posts: 149
Join Date: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by OoliteFlight View Post
I tried it and my device still can't to wifi

I tried to use the original file and it still doesnt work!

Please help!
If the original file isn't working I think you have wifi problem not depending on wpa_supplicant
 
PhunkyPunk
Old
#15  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Apr 2012
Default Huawei Ideos x3

Just to let you know, I am desperately seeking a solution to adhoc connectivity, so I tried your supplicant file on my rooted Huawei (U8510) Ideos X3 (gingerbread 2.3.5) with high hopes...

Unfortunately - no joy (wifi scanning finds no access points and shuts itself off after a few seconds)... Any idea why please?

(I haven't "broken" anything, it was no problem to restore a backup of the wpa file... so - no panic!)

How do I go about tweaking this wpa_supplicant file myself? (I may be a n00b on this forum, but i'm a chap with 30 years in the industry.... C++, HTML, PHP, Vis. Basic etc... ALL the usual suspects )

I greatly appreciate ANY light anyone can shed on this issue (in advance)...
 
ZaIINN
Old
#16  
ZaIINN's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 23
Posts: 127
Join Date: Dec 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhunkyPunk View Post
Just to let you know, I am desperately seeking a solution to adhoc connectivity, so I tried your supplicant file on my rooted Huawei (U8510) Ideos X3 (gingerbread 2.3.5) with high hopes...

Unfortunately - no joy (wifi scanning finds no access points and shuts itself off after a few seconds)... Any idea why please?

(I haven't "broken" anything, it was no problem to restore a backup of the wpa file... so - no panic!)

How do I go about tweaking this wpa_supplicant file myself? (I may be a n00b on this forum, but i'm a chap with 30 years in the industry.... C++, HTML, PHP, Vis. Basic etc... ALL the usual suspects )

I greatly appreciate ANY light anyone can shed on this issue (in advance)...
I'm going to assume this is the problem...

Click on your wpa_supplicant file, go to properties (I'd suggest doing this on the device itself) and enable R/W/X for the file. Make sure ALL of them are enabled. (Read, Write, Executable).

Let me know if this solves your issue!
___________________________________________
- iPod Touch 2G/3G/White 4G (4th running 5.0.1 Redsn0w JB)
- MSi GT683R i7-2630 [16GB RAM] [1080p FHD] [Nvidia GTX 560M] [OC'D]
- Samsung Galaxy Player 5' (USA) 1.5GHz (1.6GHz testing...) + Chainfire3d GPU changes (4x MSAA + Tegra NVIDIA plugin)
- Samsung Mythic (Awful dumbphone, but makes calls)

The Following User Says Thank You to ZaIINN For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
PhunkyPunk
Old
#17  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZaIINN View Post
I'm going to assume this is the problem...

Click on your wpa_supplicant file, go to properties (I'd suggest doing this on the device itself) and enable R/W/X for the file. Make sure ALL of them are enabled. (Read, Write, Executable).

Let me know if this solves your issue!
I had already tried CHMODing the file, but followed your advice anyway and recopied the file applying a CHMOD 777 (ALL), to no avail - same result as before...

(but thanks anyway)
 
ZaIINN
Old
#18  
ZaIINN's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 23
Posts: 127
Join Date: Dec 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhunkyPunk View Post
I had already tried CHMODing the file, but followed your advice anyway and recopied the file applying a CHMOD 777 (ALL), to no avail - same result as before...

(but thanks anyway)
If you haven't modified anything else... using the original file + allowing R/W/X should fix it 100%. I even "broke it" to where it wouldn't stay enabled for more than like 5 seconds to test it. Try editing it with ES Explorer and make sure your in the right directory as there are multiple wpa_supplicant files throughout the root of the device.
___________________________________________
- iPod Touch 2G/3G/White 4G (4th running 5.0.1 Redsn0w JB)
- MSi GT683R i7-2630 [16GB RAM] [1080p FHD] [Nvidia GTX 560M] [OC'D]
- Samsung Galaxy Player 5' (USA) 1.5GHz (1.6GHz testing...) + Chainfire3d GPU changes (4x MSAA + Tegra NVIDIA plugin)
- Samsung Mythic (Awful dumbphone, but makes calls)

 
PhunkyPunk
Old
#19  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZaIINN View Post
If you haven't modified anything else... using the original file + allowing R/W/X should fix it 100%. I even "broke it" to where it wouldn't stay enabled for more than like 5 seconds to test it. Try editing it with ES Explorer and make sure your in the right directory as there are multiple wpa_supplicant files throughout the root of the device.
I find it is no problem to replace my original wpa_supplicant file over these modified ones, restoring my original functionality, making nearby protected hotspots visible again...

Furthermore, this file should be going to /system/bin/ I believe?

I use ES explorer (nice) but couldn't edit either the original supplicant file, nor subsequent versions on my handset.... maybe on a pc? But - what am I looking for within the file?

What to edit?
 
Tcollins412
Old
#20  
Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 63
Join Date: Jan 2012
this works on my galaxy s also

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...