Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] How to Recover Ext2 Partition?

OP julie_bholu

26th April 2012, 04:10 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
25 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Hi,

I Created Ext2 Partition for Galaxy3, I inserted the SD Card into Plone and Use Link2SD , Work Fine

Now When I Unmount the Sd Card from Phone and Run the Minitool but there is Only Fat32 Partition Shows?
Why?

How to Convert or Recover It from Ext2 to Fat32? The Ext2 Partition Shows in My Stock Rom via Link2SD.

Thanks,
Last edited by julie_bholu; 27th April 2012 at 09:36 AM. Reason: Info Add
26th April 2012, 04:45 PM   |  #2  
Wiggierip's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Behind you...
Thanks Meter: 328
 
357 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by julie_bholu

Hi,

I Created Ext2 Partition for Galaxy3, Now How to Convert or Recover It from Ext2 to Fat32?

I tried MiniTool as I created from It. but it didnot Shows Me My Ext2 Partition, Why?

Thanks,

Try putting the card in a cardreader if you have one and look if you can see the partition appear on Partition wizard. If you don't have a card reader you could also try to connect the card to your pc by using a digital camera or something like that, although thats a bit riskier for your card.
The Following User Says Thank You to Wiggierip For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th April 2012, 07:29 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
25 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Question
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wiggierip

Try putting the card in a cardreader if you have one and look if you can see the partition appear on Partition wizard. If you don't have a card reader you could also try to connect the card to your pc by using a digital camera or something like that, although thats a bit riskier for your card.

I try same as you suggest but in mini tool , the ext2 partition not there, only fat32 displays in wizard.
26th April 2012, 07:42 PM   |  #4  
Wiggierip's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Behind you...
Thanks Meter: 328
 
357 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by julie_bholu

I try same as you suggest but in mini tool , the ext2 partition not there, only fat32 displays in wizard.

Well, this may sound stupid, but did you actually make a partition on your card? I mean, did you ever see the partition or got it working after you made it with Partition Wizard? I know I've made a mistake once, were I THOUGHT I made a partition allready, but DIDN'T because I didn't click the 'Apply' button in Partition Wizard and thats the only way the software acctually changes something.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Wiggierip For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th April 2012, 07:48 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
25 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Question
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wiggierip

Well, this may sound stupid, but did you actually make a partition on your card? I mean, did you ever see the partition or got it working after you made it with Partition Wizard? I know I've made a mistake once, were I THOUGHT I made a partition allready, but DIDN'T because I didn't click the 'Apply' button in Partition Wizard and thats the only way the software acctually changes something.

Yup, the ext 2 part shows in the phone and work nice.

I am confused why it not shows in partition wizard. I am also run mini tool as admin in windows 7
27th April 2012, 10:37 AM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
25 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Thumbs up
Quote:
Originally Posted by julie_bholu

Yup, the ext 2 part shows in the phone and work nice.

I am confused why it not shows in partition wizard. I am also run mini tool as admin in windows 7

GOT SOLUTION

Used Ubuntu , Get EXT2 Partition there and Recreate from Ubuntu and used again , Thanks all for Help....
27th April 2012, 12:14 PM   |  #7  
Wiggierip's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Behind you...
Thanks Meter: 328
 
357 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by julie_bholu

GOT SOLUTION

Used Ubuntu , Get EXT2 Partition there and Recreate from Ubuntu and used again , Thanks all for Help....

Glad you got it working
28th April 2012, 01:05 PM   |  #8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
25 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Thx for Help ,
2nd May 2012, 09:33 PM   |  #9  
Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
39 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by julie_bholu

GOT SOLUTION

Used Ubuntu , Get EXT2 Partition there and Recreate from Ubuntu and used again , Thanks all for Help....

If you are using windows OS you can use Easus Partition magic for formatting to ext2

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes