Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,778,486 Members 42,049 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Blaze 4g Modem

Tip us?
 
Manumission
Old
#11  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 49
Posts: 114
Join Date: Mar 2012
Someone over on the Sidekick 4G forum modified the Blaze's modem so that it works with the SK4G.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1610449

Since the stock Sidekick modems work with our phone, any ideas as to whether this modified Blaze modem will too?
 
mikhail777
Old
(Last edited by mikhail777; 26th April 2012 at 08:12 PM.)
#12  
mikhail777's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 123
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manumission View Post
Someone over on the Sidekick 4G forum modified the Blaze's modem so that it works with the SK4G.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1610449

Since the stock Sidekick modems work with our phone, any ideas as to whether this modified Blaze modem will too?
Try it out and report back :P might be a headache or work great! I'd be hesitant with original modem removing information giving the "insert Sim".. Also I flashed a modem a while back (infuse kk3 modem) it worked, but my clock time was off many hours. It didn't matter what modem I used after. I ended up doing a hard reset using gps aids to fix issue an fyi.

Sent from my SGH-T959V using xda premium
 
icy56
Old
#13  
icy56's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 36
Posts: 451
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Nashville
Yeah, someone who is willing to do it. Try it out! I'm interested in how much of an improvement this would make

Sent from my SGH-T959V using XDA
Device: Samsung Galaxy S 4g
Rom: Ultragen v1.0.1
Battery: Anker 1800mah
 
eb13
Old
#14  
eb13's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 67
Posts: 208
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Denver
I just flashed it and so far it is fine. My upload & download speeds are a little higher for being at home and have 3 bars instead of 2.



Sent from my SGH-T959V using xda premium
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1335513999215.jpg
Views:	118
Size:	87.3 KB
ID:	1027061  
 
itzik2sh
Old
(Last edited by itzik2sh; 27th April 2012 at 12:26 PM.)
#15  
itzik2sh's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 737
Posts: 1,505
Join Date: Sep 2011
Hi eb13

Please track battery life as well.
I'm using the sidekick KD1 modem, which gave me better receptions, but I was told it costs some battery drain.

Also, can you please post modem here? I don't want to sign up just to download it. 10x!

Sent from my SGH-T959V using XDA
SGS4G ROMs:
HebMIUI | HebSlim | HebBareBone | HebValhalla | CM10 NLS |
SGS4G Guides:
Battery life 4 ICS | Create localized ROM | GB RTL Support | Hebrew Voice Recognition

If I helped, press this button.
 
Manumission
Old
#16  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 49
Posts: 114
Join Date: Mar 2012
I also flashed it last night. No problems whatsoever, and I got the fastest upload and download speeds I've ever gotten (max. 9100 kbps download, 3400 kbps upload). Battery usage seems fine - I left the mobile network on overnight, and the battery only went down a couple of percentage points.

I think we have a winner here, but obviously individual results will vary. I'll try to post this in a separate post to make it more visible and include a download site that doesn't require a sign-up.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2012-04-27_06.35.58.jpg
Views:	101
Size:	115.1 KB
ID:	1027411  
 
QUIETLYloud
Old
#17  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 165
Posts: 887
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Holyoke
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChadBFlores View Post
just out of curiosity does the Blaze 4g modem work on our phone, I heard the sgs II got a 4mbps+ increase from flashing it on theirs???


EDIT- Here is the post w/ download links for it
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...light=blaze+4g

Considering it does not work wouldn't it be considerate to remove the link, just to avoid the risk of someone messing up their phone?




Quote:
Originally Posted by eb13 View Post
I just flashed it and so far it is fine...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Manumission View Post
I also flashed it...
Which files did you two download?

Sent from my SGH-T959V using xda premium
 
Manumission
Old
#18  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 49
Posts: 114
Join Date: Mar 2012
@Quietly: The file that is at the link in my post at the top of this page.
 
itzik2sh
Old
#19  
itzik2sh's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 737
Posts: 1,505
Join Date: Sep 2011
Yeah I lost you regarding the download link.
LB7 is not the port suggested (that was kj2) and it's also 20MB instead of 9MB...

Sent from my SGH-T959V using XDA
SGS4G ROMs:
HebMIUI | HebSlim | HebBareBone | HebValhalla | CM10 NLS |
SGS4G Guides:
Battery life 4 ICS | Create localized ROM | GB RTL Support | Hebrew Voice Recognition

If I helped, press this button.
 
Manumission
Old
#20  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 49
Posts: 114
Join Date: Mar 2012
@itzik2sh: LB7 doesn't show up in the baseband version area in the Settings menu - people also reported this in the SK4G forum. But as I was flashing it in CWM, the phone reported that it flashed both the mdm.bin and amss.bin files. And I'm getting much better speeds. So you can take it or leave it.

The reason the file is so large is due to the presence of both .bins.

For reference, here is a link to the LB7 modem file that I uploaded to mediafire:

http://www.mediafire.com/?7rt7z4p5hd1os1p

The Following User Says Thank You to Manumission For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes