MultiImagePicker Library for Multiple Image Selection

App developmentcan be done in more than a handful of ways. You can write every single … more

Shoot Troubles, Not Users w/ Alex Boag-Munroe – XDA:DevCon 2014

In presenting the various sessions from XDA:DevCon 2014, weve mainly … more

Oppo Releases ColorOS for the Find 5… Poorly

Almost every OEM has taken the liberty of creating its own incarnation of the Android OS. … more

XDA LG Development Challenge Winners

Almost 3months ago, we set out with LGto findtwo amazing apps that developers could put together … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] V6 Supercharger Script

OP smithchipz

27th April 2012, 09:55 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 84
 
245 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
Hi,
I saw this script the other day and was wondering if it was able to be installed onto the Legend. I tried to run it in Terminal Emulator but the only thing it said was "Note: Busybox v1.16.2 or Higher is Recommended!" leading me to believe it doesn't work on the Legend. Has anyone else been able to use this script?
Thanks
27th April 2012, 11:25 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 447
 
1,458 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
What rom you trying to install it to? The busy box just needs an update, go to market and get busy box update app and use it to update, then try it again, I have used it successfully on the legendary legend fuse rom. Too lazy to try it on the ics I'm using

P.s. I think you need s-off or unlocked bootloader 1.02 to use it.

sent from my legend, currently using zeubea ics beta0
27th April 2012, 12:41 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 84
 
245 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
I'm running ExtremeLegendFuse. I've tried 2 BusyBox updater apps from the Play Store and they just dont load or sit at one step. I have 1.02 unlocked bootloader as well. I'm really stumped by this problem. Is the V6 Script worth it?

Sent from my Legend using XDA
27th April 2012, 01:41 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 447
 
1,458 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by smithchipz

I'm running ExtremeLegendFuse. I've tried 2 BusyBox updater apps from the Play Store and they just dont load or sit at one step. I have 1.02 unlocked bootloader as well. I'm really stumped by this problem. Is the V6 Script worth it?

Sent from my Legend using XDA

OK
I believe that busy box can be installed in different locations, not sure what circumstances this is, either in /system/bin or /system/xbin, well that's the options given by the version of busy box installer I've got, the one by Stephen sericson
Try both locations and see which works for you.

The other question "is it worth it" well I can't personally say I noticed any real speed increase or any other benefits, however, others may do themselves.

sent from my legend, currently using zeubea ics beta0
Last edited by ranger4740; 27th April 2012 at 01:44 PM.
27th April 2012, 02:01 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
16 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
More
I've used the script back then with extreme legend fuse rom. Try download Busybox installer from the market and choose busybox version 1.82.xx.
Bout is it worth it questions i thinks its worth it. Less lag and buttery smooth for me

Sent from my Legend using XDA
27th April 2012, 04:08 PM   |  #6  
Member
Flag The Hague area
Thanks Meter: 20
 
73 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
Yes, it's worth it. I used it on the Gingerbread Sense ROM. No more Sense redraws and better multitasking. Though after a few days, things tended to get sluggish, so I would let it reboot and everything feels snappy again. The engine flush option didn't do much here.

Busybox
I used Stericsons' Busybox from the market, works perfectly. 1.19.something. (Or use the attached busybox in the script's topic)

S-off / Unlocked
Ranger4740 is right about the need to have write access to the system partition: you need either s-off or an unlocked 1.02 bootloader.

Scrolling speed in script
Personally I hate Script Manager, Terminal Emulator works just fine. Make sure you set the scrolling speed to fast. There is plenty of time to see what's going on, so no need to set it to slow or medium unless you have a serious form of dyslexia

V6 Supercharger on ICS
The script is not usable on ICS in a way it was on GB. "ICS doesn't read ADJ values from build.prop or local.prop - they are hardcoded into services.jar"
This services.jar can be modded, but your ROM has to be deodexed. 99,9% of Legend users on ICS use Zeubea's ROM, which is odexed. Instructions to mod the services.jar in odexed ROMs can be found here:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...44&postcount=2
Last edited by dahwe; 27th April 2012 at 04:10 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to dahwe For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th April 2012, 04:50 AM   |  #7  
OP Senior Member
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 84
 
245 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
I have a problem. When I open BusyBox Free by Stericson, after it does initial checks, it comes up with a message that says:
Quote:

I am unable to verify whether or not certain utilities needed for this application to run are present and functional on your device. You can try to install Busybox regardless, but it may fail. This problem could be caused by a device that is not properly rooted or by superuser settings that are misconfigured

(Note: I do have unlocked hboot 1.02)

Also, when I try to open Script Manager, it just gives me a black screen. I think I might just reflash the ROM as my Wifi isn't working either :/

EDIT: I reflashed Fuse and everythings working, Wifi and the V6 script.
Last edited by smithchipz; 28th April 2012 at 07:28 AM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes