Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,779,990 Members 37,222 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

V21Y OTA update starting April 23rd

Tip us?
 
gpmartinson
Old
#31  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 35
Posts: 329
Join Date: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beggars1923 View Post
I am using weapons but get FC every time I try to check for an update. I assume the only solution is to flash stock and check?

---------- Post added at 03:56 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:24 PM ----------

OK next question - I reverted back to stock on downloaded the OTA. When I reboot to install it immediately boots up CWM - do I "apply update from sdcard"?
Stock is a nandroid backup. You'll need to unrar it and then put it in the correct folder on the sdcard. Last, choose backup and restore and then restore this folder...
 
Beggars1923
Old
#32  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 292
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by gpmartinson View Post
Stock is a nandroid backup. You'll need to unrar it and then put it in the correct folder on the sdcard. Last, choose backup and restore and then restore this folder...
Is there a link to exactly what I need to do, kind of lost. I may just update it manually via LG tool. Was trying to keep it easy.
 
gpmartinson
Old
#33  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 35
Posts: 329
Join Date: Feb 2010
Default how to

Quote:
Originally Posted by Beggars1923 View Post
Is there a link to exactly what I need to do, kind of lost. I may just update it manually via LG tool. Was trying to keep it easy.
http://theunlockr.com/2011/05/23/how...-t-mobile-g2x/
also has a video on how to do the whole process. http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1048274 is the actual ROM to restore.
The Following User Says Thank You to gpmartinson For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Beggars1923
Old
#34  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 292
Join Date: Apr 2011
I was under the impression I did not need to unroot to update, just flash stock.
 
gpmartinson
Old
#35  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 35
Posts: 329
Join Date: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beggars1923 View Post
I was under the impression I did not need to unroot to update, just flash stock.
I'm not sure, I just thought I would go clean to get the update.
 
jnralp00
Old
#36  
jnralp00's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 290
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: ATL, GA
Bionix had the check for update thingy removed, so I downloaded xboarders old stock 2.33 checked for update. Nothing. Says up to date.

Sent from my LG-P999 using XDA
 
jnralp00
Old
#37  
jnralp00's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 290
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: ATL, GA
Lg tool also says I am up to date

Sent from my LG-P999 using XDA
 
Scyth3
Old
#38  
Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 85
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by jnralp00 View Post
Lg tool also says I am up to date

Sent from my LG-P999 using XDA
You need to use the LG_KDZ_FW-Update_OfflineFix (OFFLINE INSTALLER DOWNLOAD)

Go back to the original install and follow the post on how to use it. There's an msxml thing to install, you run the VBS script which injects a line into your hosts file, etc...
 
RobBull69
Old
#39  
RobBull69's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 52
Posts: 463
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chicago
I've been running stock for about a week waiting for the update. I can't flash the KDZ file using Windows 7, XP through Virtual Box on my Windows 7 machine or my Linux box. The update starts and stalls out every time. I've been doing the Software update check and checking LG's update tool religiously and I still get the "Current version is the latest version" message. This is frustrating because I use my GPS quite a bit and it sucks with CM and stock ROMs. I'm hoping this OTA fixes the GPS issues for me or I will have to switch phones.
Current Devices: Nexus 7, WiFi Xoom, HTC One
Retired/Sold: G1, Vibrant, G2, G2x, Galaxy Nexus
 
wmm
Old
#40  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 65
Posts: 661
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Sudbury, MA
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobBull69 View Post
I use my GPS quite a bit and it sucks with CM and stock ROMs. I'm hoping this OTA fixes the GPS issues for me or I will have to switch phones.
I think there's a pretty good chance that you'll be happy with the GPS performance under V21y. I've seen a number of reports that it's better. My own experience is that it's better but not perfect. I have gotten a number of 15-second fixes, which happened only extremely rarely under other ROMs. However, it does occasionally take 2-3 minutes, which is just what I was seeing before I installed V21y.

The Following User Says Thank You to wmm For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes