FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

ics on a500

1 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By kennard@insyde.com, Junior Member on 25th April 2012, 03:03 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
27th April 2012, 09:34 AM |#61  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 41
 
More
my 3.2.1 GEN2 just updated to 4.0.3 PA_CUS1?!?! confuddled... :x

CA
 
 
27th April 2012, 10:14 AM |#62  
Junior Member
Flag Denver
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
Talking
Acer_AV041_A500_1.033.00_PA_CUS1 - ICS 4.0.3 fully upgraded

OTA hit mine in US Colorado about 2:30a mt...

Upgrade was painfree, so far no issues.
27th April 2012, 10:32 AM |#63  
Neoprimal's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Alexandria, VA
Thanks Meter: 60
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pfc.joker

Acer_AV041_A500_1.033.00_PA_CUS1 - ICS 4.0.3 fully upgraded

OTA hit mine in US Colorado about 2:30a mt...

Upgrade was painfree, so far no issues.

Same here,

No issues thus far. I made sure to do a factory reset after I updated to be absolutely sure because in my experience going to a major release pretty much always warrants one (there's always an app or a setting that just doesn't sit right with the new firmware).

After letting my apps all come back from Google Play (I haven't tested them all), I can say that I haven't experienced any issues yet and definitely nothing that some other folks are reporting. Time to go through and painstakingly re-install my Amazon store acquired apps.

Here's the pic I promised. I took this using ICS SS feature and then uploaded it to dropbox using the Gallery app:
Last edited by Neoprimal; 27th April 2012 at 11:12 AM. Reason: Uploaded ICS Screenshot
27th April 2012, 11:12 AM |#64  
Junior Member
Flag Wayne, NJ
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
GEN 2 N.J. installed with no issues.

Fonts nicer.
Camera a bit better.
App drawer tweak.
Settings page different.
No Lock Ring.
Smoother home screen.
Slight lag on app startups but seems to be getting better.

Not a drastic update but still better.

Sent from my SGH-T959 using Tapatalk 2
27th April 2012, 11:30 AM |#65  
gammaRascal's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag SoCal
Thanks Meter: 86
 
More
Checked and mine rolled in. New England USA. Going to dl it but I'm not going to install it if I can avoid it. Still lurking threads to see how it goes for those who do.
27th April 2012, 11:44 AM |#66  
MechaGen's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Fountain Inn, SC
Thanks Meter: 66
 
More
GEN_2 downloading now, South Carolina.

Sent from my NookColor using Tapatalk 2
27th April 2012, 01:34 PM |#67  
Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
3 am in Ohio but I'm just now downloading

Sent from my HTC Sensation 4G using xda premium
27th April 2012, 01:36 PM |#68  
epicnoob66's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 92
 
More
DL-ing the update now

Sent from my SPH-D700 using xda premium
27th April 2012, 02:03 PM |#69  
Senior Member
Austin, TX
Thanks Meter: 75
 
More
Got the update when I woke up this morning and installed. So far I am not seeing much difference. It feels a little smoother and it randomly vibrates for no apparent reason other than that I cannot see much difference in the controls and abilities as far as on the surface. Not sure exactly what new features it added minus a new look on the lock button on the lock screen and the native folder support which is a def. bonus.
27th April 2012, 02:53 PM |#70  
brutalpanda's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by snailium

I just can't wait, and found this update package in A500 Development forum.

http://cdn.acer.futuredial.com/Acer_...9_8ec8b991.zip

It is official ICS update, at least it is from Acer update server. But after update, the version become WW instead of COM

Before: Acer_A500_7.014.14_COM_GEN1
After: Acer_AV041_A500_1.031.00_WW_GEN1



Edit:

The file name is Acer_A500_7.014.14_041.203.01_COM_GEN1_1333444737199_8ec8b991.zip.
So, in my opinion, it is for Acer_A500_7.014.14_COM_GEN1.


Edit2:

After using this update package, the A500 system is rootable using blackthund3r's one-click root tool.
Link: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1520469

The 6.0 version of this rooting tool also brings Acer Ring!!!

Big thanks to blackthund3r!!!

I tried this method but unfortunately I always get a "installation aborted" error message in CQM. I'm using a rooted Acer_A500_7.014.14_COM_GEN1. Also decrypted the file. Any help?
27th April 2012, 03:03 PM |#71  
The_Monkey_King's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Interesting note:
I had the 3.2.1 GEN2 OS level (North Carolina). Last night and this morning I checked for updates and every time it said I had the latest level.

I had read about the Iconia Tab Update Enhancement application in the google catalog and immediately like many of you thought it suspect. However I did see the same thing on the Acer Support Site. Acer Support Link Go all the way to the A500 section and you'll notice two things. First, you have to select the application tab to see the link to this file and, you'll notice there is another link in the upper right hand corner that says "Hot!!! New Acer Updater v1.02.3502 ." And this file is an .exe and not an .apk.

Anyway...I changed the tablet profile to accept and install APKs that do not come from the Google Market and installed the APK from the support site. Installing it asks for pretty much all the permissions to the tablet so I went ahead anyway. (I can always uninstall it, right? ) As soon as I installed it, I got a notice that a GEN2 update was available and a pretty large one at that. So, did this installed file help get the update? It seems likely.

As for the .exe file, I tried to install it on my computer and it said it wasn't an Acer device. I wonder if you have the Iconia tethered to the computer through USB, will the application install then? I'm not in a position to try that now, but someone else can if they wish.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes