FORUMS

Galaxy S6 & Edge get €100 Price Cut—New Models Incoming

Samsung has dropped the price of both the Galaxy S6 and S6 Edge by … more

How To Port Fully Featured Sony Xperia Z4 Camera

Xperia Z4’s hardware may not impress, but its software is definitely … more

Experimental TWRP Available For Moto G 2015

XDA Senior Member squid2 has posted experimental builds of TWRP for the Moto G … more

Sunday Debate: How Can We Get a No-Compromise Phone?

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on Compromises. Come with your opinions and … more

[Q] tethering and my htc and att?

202 posts
Thanks Meter: 6
 
By gage0727, Senior Member on 27th February 2012, 05:15 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
5th March 2012, 04:57 PM |#11  
tyler79durdan's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag 1:1.61803
Thanks Meter: 377
 
Donate to Me
More
Start by looking for a recovery like "cwm recovery"... within the Inspire forums. Follow the directions exactly and read them ALL first, then reread them before flashing. Once youve achieved a recovery, you'll have opened yourself up to try ROMS i.e.Try coredroid for a few days then perform a backup of coredroid, then flash AR and run that for a few days.

As it seems in your OP, youre kinda used to a stock ROM and both of those are based on stock, with enhancements, and bloatware removed... MUCH FASTER and responsive.

So just start with one thing at a time - Recovery Time!!!

p.s. once youve installed your recovery, you should backup your current config before going to the next step - ROM!!! Practice good backup skills, and you'll limit your headaches considerably.
 
 
14th April 2012, 04:41 AM |#12  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
hello, thank you all for your replies. I am really wanting to move up to custom roms. Prob is I do not know how to back up my current rom, and how to check it to make sure its good. I am looking for the info and what app to use to get the best back up file. i want to be sure I know how to back up and also how to go back to the back up if need be before I move forward. If someone knows of a guide to do that stuff or has any good information could you pm me please. thanks a bunch for the help.
14th April 2012, 12:12 PM |#13  
Member
Thanks Meter: 60
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gage0727

hello, thank you all for your replies. I am really wanting to move up to custom roms. Prob is I do not know how to back up my current rom, and how to check it to make sure its good. I am looking for the info and what app to use to get the best back up file. i want to be sure I know how to back up and also how to go back to the back up if need be before I move forward. If someone knows of a guide to do that stuff or has any good information could you pm me please. thanks a bunch for the help.


as for backup between ROMs the two major ones are Titanium Backup and MyBackup
23rd April 2012, 06:23 PM |#14  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darunion

a 30second search of putting 'free tether htc inspire' into google would have given you the answer you need. This has been asked over and over and over. You are technically breaching your agreement and if you get caught that is on you. Here is a link in the market for a simple to use app. Next time please search before making threads.

https://market.android.com/details?i...Ghlcl9iZXRhIl0.


I used the EasyTether app a few times around last Christmas. Today I got the email from AT&T about tethering. So I guess now we can't use EasyTether?
25th April 2012, 03:14 AM |#15  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I went to my local store yesterday and had a rep examine my phone to be sure there was no way I could tether. She noted it in my account. Today I got a txt msg saying I was tethering. So I called the 866 number in the msg and the phone rep told me they can now tell any time a computer or any other device is plugged into the phone and any time a tethering app is used. So according to her logic, we can't even use our computers to charge our phones.
25th April 2012, 03:41 AM |#16  
Darunion's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ohio
Thanks Meter: 881
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by struff

I went to my local store yesterday and had a rep examine my phone to be sure there was no way I could tether. She noted it in my account. Today I got a txt msg saying I was tethering. So I called the 866 number in the msg and the phone rep told me they can now tell any time a computer or any other device is plugged into the phone and any time a tethering app is used. So according to her logic, we can't even use our computers to charge our phones.

no, she means they can detect the tethering. not the connection itself. u can still charge and xfer files and sync lol
25th April 2012, 05:29 AM |#17  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darunion

no, she means they can detect the tethering. not the connection itself. u can still charge and xfer files and sync lol

*I* know that. But she apparently doesn't. She told me that ANY time ANYTHING is plugged into the phone now counts as tethering. Even if NO apps are being used. I know better than to believe that lol.

---------- Post added at 04:29 AM ---------- Previous post was at 04:28 AM ----------

Sucks for EasyTether and PDANet users
27th April 2012, 12:12 PM |#18  
Senior Member
Flag Chattanooga, TN
Thanks Meter: 30
 
More
This seems a good place to ask. Of course, the ref with whom I spoke claims that their system is flawless, but is there anyone here who kows AT&Ts systems that can speak as to the reliability of their inspection system?
The reason I ask, I was informed that "the data connection from your phone was opened to another device several times within the past 2 months." I used it once, I'm afraid that something looks like tethering to their system, and I'll end up with a more expensive capped plan rather than my unlimited plan (truth is that I've only gone over 3 GB once of which I'm aware, I just don't like the concept of caps.... or more cost).
27th April 2012, 01:22 PM |#19  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
I finaly put a custom rom on my phone and was able to hotspot and tether my phone to my laptop. Only used it to load one page of xda just to see if it worked or not. I never got a text meassage or phone call or anything. I also use a bunch of bandwidth on a daily bases. e-mail, web games and such. I had to re-lock my phone sending it to htc to get repaired, when i get it back it will be re rooted and custom rom and tethered again. Will let you know what happens then. lol
27th April 2012, 01:48 PM |#20  
Darunion's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ohio
Thanks Meter: 881
 
More
They will constantly improve the system. the more people that find ways around it the more they will invest in closing the holes. they didnt used to have the ability to see but more and more is pointing to packet inspection and TTL's on them to see if theres another device behind the phone. it's not just an apn setting anymore. it's best either to not tether and breach contract or just pay the $15 a month and use it. Getting around it now, could change next week or a month or tomorrow. companies will do what they can to protect their services from being taken advantage of, and with the number of users that are stealing tethering data, that is a considerable cost. do i think its fair that i need to pay $15 to connect my pc to phone for just a picture here and there, no, but the consumer always wants everything for free.
27th April 2012, 04:20 PM |#21  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I think their system is flawed. I hadn't used EasyTether in a LONG time when I got the email from them about tethering this week. I went to a store and had them inspect the phone to ensure that I don't have any way to tether so they added it in my notes.

Next day I got a txt saying that I am still tethering so I called the number in the txt and told the woman that I am not able to tether even if I want to and that the store verified that in my notes (which she did see). She claimed that ANY connection to a computer now (i.e. charging and file transferring) can be detected by the system and misconstrued as tethering, and I did charge off the computer the night before getting that txt so to me it almost seemed possible that their systems could be inaccurate like that. But then she said when I use bluetooth to stream audio from my phone to my car that is also counted as tethering and I don't buy that at all.

I asked her if they're just threatening me because I always use a ton of data and she said no because I am unlimited and I can use whatever I want as long as I am not connected to anything else.

And now yesterday I got snail-mail from them about tethering. Which I have not been doing. In any way whatsoever. Makes me wonder if they have access to my Market transactions and see that I once downloaded EasyTether last year. So frustrating.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes