Backup+ Lets You Backup Your App Data on Android Lollipop

Even though Android 5.0 Lollipop hasn’t yet seen its official release, quite … more

TechTalk Compiles All the Android News You Need in One App

If you’re as obsessed with mobile devices as the vast majority of our forum … more

Android App Review: Google Inbox to Improve Your Life – XDA TV

Recently, Google+ exploded with the announcement of Google Inbox, as … more

Damp the LG G3 Thermal Throttling

As our mobile devices grow thinner and more powerfulwith each passing generation, it’s inevitable … more
Post Reply

[Q] tethering and my htc and att?

OP gage0727

5th March 2012, 04:57 PM   |  #11  
tyler79durdan's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag 1:1.61803
Thanks Meter: 378
 
698 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Donate to Me
More
Start by looking for a recovery like "cwm recovery"... within the Inspire forums. Follow the directions exactly and read them ALL first, then reread them before flashing. Once youve achieved a recovery, you'll have opened yourself up to try ROMS i.e.Try coredroid for a few days then perform a backup of coredroid, then flash AR and run that for a few days.

As it seems in your OP, youre kinda used to a stock ROM and both of those are based on stock, with enhancements, and bloatware removed... MUCH FASTER and responsive.

So just start with one thing at a time - Recovery Time!!!

p.s. once youve installed your recovery, you should backup your current config before going to the next step - ROM!!! Practice good backup skills, and you'll limit your headaches considerably.
14th April 2012, 04:41 AM   |  #12  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
202 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
hello, thank you all for your replies. I am really wanting to move up to custom roms. Prob is I do not know how to back up my current rom, and how to check it to make sure its good. I am looking for the info and what app to use to get the best back up file. i want to be sure I know how to back up and also how to go back to the back up if need be before I move forward. If someone knows of a guide to do that stuff or has any good information could you pm me please. thanks a bunch for the help.
14th April 2012, 12:12 PM   |  #13  
Member
Thanks Meter: 60
 
84 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by gage0727

hello, thank you all for your replies. I am really wanting to move up to custom roms. Prob is I do not know how to back up my current rom, and how to check it to make sure its good. I am looking for the info and what app to use to get the best back up file. i want to be sure I know how to back up and also how to go back to the back up if need be before I move forward. If someone knows of a guide to do that stuff or has any good information could you pm me please. thanks a bunch for the help.


as for backup between ROMs the two major ones are Titanium Backup and MyBackup
23rd April 2012, 06:23 PM   |  #14  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
144 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darunion

a 30second search of putting 'free tether htc inspire' into google would have given you the answer you need. This has been asked over and over and over. You are technically breaching your agreement and if you get caught that is on you. Here is a link in the market for a simple to use app. Next time please search before making threads.

https://market.android.com/details?i...Ghlcl9iZXRhIl0.


I used the EasyTether app a few times around last Christmas. Today I got the email from AT&T about tethering. So I guess now we can't use EasyTether?
25th April 2012, 03:14 AM   |  #15  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
144 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2007
I went to my local store yesterday and had a rep examine my phone to be sure there was no way I could tether. She noted it in my account. Today I got a txt msg saying I was tethering. So I called the 866 number in the msg and the phone rep told me they can now tell any time a computer or any other device is plugged into the phone and any time a tethering app is used. So according to her logic, we can't even use our computers to charge our phones.
25th April 2012, 03:41 AM   |  #16  
Darunion's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ohio
Thanks Meter: 881
 
1,142 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by struff

I went to my local store yesterday and had a rep examine my phone to be sure there was no way I could tether. She noted it in my account. Today I got a txt msg saying I was tethering. So I called the 866 number in the msg and the phone rep told me they can now tell any time a computer or any other device is plugged into the phone and any time a tethering app is used. So according to her logic, we can't even use our computers to charge our phones.

no, she means they can detect the tethering. not the connection itself. u can still charge and xfer files and sync lol
25th April 2012, 05:29 AM   |  #17  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
144 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darunion

no, she means they can detect the tethering. not the connection itself. u can still charge and xfer files and sync lol

*I* know that. But she apparently doesn't. She told me that ANY time ANYTHING is plugged into the phone now counts as tethering. Even if NO apps are being used. I know better than to believe that lol.

---------- Post added at 04:29 AM ---------- Previous post was at 04:28 AM ----------

Sucks for EasyTether and PDANet users
27th April 2012, 12:12 PM   |  #18  
Senior Member
Flag Chattanooga, TN
Thanks Meter: 30
 
330 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
This seems a good place to ask. Of course, the ref with whom I spoke claims that their system is flawless, but is there anyone here who kows AT&Ts systems that can speak as to the reliability of their inspection system?
The reason I ask, I was informed that "the data connection from your phone was opened to another device several times within the past 2 months." I used it once, I'm afraid that something looks like tethering to their system, and I'll end up with a more expensive capped plan rather than my unlimited plan (truth is that I've only gone over 3 GB once of which I'm aware, I just don't like the concept of caps.... or more cost).
27th April 2012, 01:22 PM   |  #19  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
202 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
I finaly put a custom rom on my phone and was able to hotspot and tether my phone to my laptop. Only used it to load one page of xda just to see if it worked or not. I never got a text meassage or phone call or anything. I also use a bunch of bandwidth on a daily bases. e-mail, web games and such. I had to re-lock my phone sending it to htc to get repaired, when i get it back it will be re rooted and custom rom and tethered again. Will let you know what happens then. lol
27th April 2012, 01:48 PM   |  #20  
Darunion's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ohio
Thanks Meter: 881
 
1,142 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
They will constantly improve the system. the more people that find ways around it the more they will invest in closing the holes. they didnt used to have the ability to see but more and more is pointing to packet inspection and TTL's on them to see if theres another device behind the phone. it's not just an apn setting anymore. it's best either to not tether and breach contract or just pay the $15 a month and use it. Getting around it now, could change next week or a month or tomorrow. companies will do what they can to protect their services from being taken advantage of, and with the number of users that are stealing tethering data, that is a considerable cost. do i think its fair that i need to pay $15 to connect my pc to phone for just a picture here and there, no, but the consumer always wants everything for free.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes