Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

S-off is Official!!! With Instructions...

OP graymonkey44

27th April 2012, 09:02 PM   |  #1441  
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
38 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinb721

Been trying to find a quick answer to this, have s-off on gingerbread firmware and ENG hboot, says locked. would it be safe and would it be worth flashing to leaked ICS firmware? Not sure if its alright to do so or if it would brick, or if i need to unlock again or if it is even worth it. thanks

Been trying to figure out the same thing. I installed the hboot at the end if the GB s-off . What's needed to get to ics? Is there a better hboot? I don't need the engineering hboot. Everything is just so confusing with all the different versions of everything . Thanks

Sent from my somewhere I can't remember.
27th April 2012, 09:08 PM   |  #1442  
redbean25's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 95
 
368 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Demonhawk1313

Been trying to figure out the same thing. I installed the hboot at the end if the GB s-off . What's needed to get to ics? Is there a better hboot? I don't need the engineering hboot. Everything is just so confusing with all the different versions of everything . Thanks

Sent from my somewhere I can't remember.

It's a bootloader...there is no performance increase by installing a different bootloader, just more development functions in the engineering ones. If you aren't developing, then there is no need to flash bootloaders. Radios can give you performance increases, but they can also break your communications if you choose the wrong ones. If you are S-OFF on GB Hboot and GB Radio, you should stay that way. No good will come of mixing HBoot and radio versions. Quite frankly, if you need to ask the difference, you should stick with what you have, because you obviously do not have the need for the additional features in the modified engineering HBoot.

As for ICS, some people have issues with heat and battery life with the ICS Radios. So to avoid being one of those people, just flash an ICS ROM with the Old Firmware Fix. Run ICS Rom on GB firmware.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to redbean25 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th April 2012, 09:13 PM   |  #1443  
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
38 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by redbean25

It's a bootloader...there is no performance increase by installing a different bootloader, just more development functions in the engineering ones. If you aren't developing, then there is no need to flash bootloaders. Radios can give you performance increases, but they can also break your communications if you choose the wrong ones. If you are S-OFF on GB Hboot and GB Radio, you should stay that way. No good will come of mixing HBoot and radio versions. Quite frankly, if you need to ask the difference, you should stick with what you have, because you obviously do not have the need for the additional features in the modified engineering HBoot.

As for ICS, some people have issues with heat and battery life with the ICS Radios. So to avoid being one of those people, just flash an ICS ROM with the Old Firmware Fix. Run ICS Rom on GB firmware.

Thanks. The only reason I have the eng booloader is because I hit yes at the end if the s-off procedure. I'm quite fine with how everything is running at the moment, but would like to give ics a try. Can you nandrois back to GB after the patch and ics install?

Sent from somewhere, I can't remember.
27th April 2012, 09:37 PM   |  #1444  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by a.mcdear

Yes you can do that. but you may not want to if you're on a GB ROM. You may not want to on an ICS ROM if you have already installed the old firmware patch either.

I'm on cleanrom developer edition with firmware patch. is there any noticable differences between firmwares? do you think its even worth it?
27th April 2012, 09:41 PM   |  #1445  
redbean25's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 95
 
368 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Demonhawk1313

Thanks. The only reason I have the eng booloader is because I hit yes at the end if the s-off procedure. I'm quite fine with how everything is running at the moment, but would like to give ics a try. Can you nandrois back to GB after the patch and ics install?

Sent from somewhere, I can't remember.


If you stay on GB, do a nandroid backup, then apply an ICS ROM, and the patch, the nandroid should restore everything back to GB without the patch should you choose to revert to GB. So Yes.
27th April 2012, 09:57 PM   |  #1446  
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
38 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by redbean25

If you stay on GB, do a nandroid backup, then apply an ICS ROM, and the patch, the nandroid should restore everything back to GB without the patch should you choose to revert to GB. So Yes.

Thank you. That's what I was hoping for. With s-off, locked in hboot doesn't matter, correct?

Sent from somewhere, I can't remember.
27th April 2012, 10:01 PM   |  #1447  
redbean25's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 95
 
368 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Demonhawk1313

Thank you. That's what I was hoping for. With s-off, locked in hboot doesn't matter, correct?

Sent from somewhere, I can't remember.

No. "Locked" means you cannot run fastboot flash commands for installing boot images or recoveries, but you can just put your boot.img or recovery.img into a PH98IMG.zip file and it will install it that way when you boot into Hboot...or you can just install the boot.img in recovery instead of taking the extra step to do it in hboot.
27th April 2012, 10:21 PM   |  #1448  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 57
 
384 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Tried to do the wire trick but Controlbear said my adb file is out of date and then it said "second backup failed...press ENTER to exit". How can I fix this? I used the same adb file about a month ago to unlock my bootloader.
27th April 2012, 11:00 PM   |  #1449  
Junior Member
Houston
Thanks Meter: 5
 
22 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wendemixda

Tried to do the wire trick but Controlbear said my adb file is out of date and then it said "second backup failed...press ENTER to exit". How can I fix this? I used the same adb file about a month ago to unlock my bootloader.

For ControlBear, make sure you are running the new 0.4 release which is supposed to make the wire trick easier.

For adb, make sure you have run the SDK Manager and updated to latest files.

For error prompts, someones this is normal and you need to keep rerunning ControlBear if the reruns help. Make sure htcUPCTLoader and PDANet tasks are killed in Windows Task Manager (with 'Show processes from all users' selected).

Running a stock ROM or CleanROM makes the trick easier.
Last edited by DroidTemplar; 27th April 2012 at 11:08 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to DroidTemplar For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th April 2012, 11:33 PM   |  #1450  
hoovnick's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 57
 
688 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
Just got s-off'd!!!! Thanks again to the devs and all the help ppl have provided to each other. A little bit of reading goes a long way when it comes to knowing what to expect, and what to do when troubleshooting.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes