Lean Mean Battery Power Saving App Review

We talk a lot about battery topics here at XDA TV. We talk about everything from Power Banks to USB … more

Android 5.1 Possibly Coming February 2015

Google released Android 5.0 just over a month ago, and since then Lollipop has been trying to … more

Double Tap to Wake on the Nexus 6 Without Root

A few weeks ago, we featured an app which allowed the Nexus 6 to regain the double tap to wake … more

Make Your Own Heat Sink for the LG Optimus 4X HD

Its not a rare occurrence that performing a resource heavy task on your Android device (e.g. … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Have I bricked my Desire S? [SOLVED]

OP GSR-James

27th April 2012, 10:44 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
29 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
I believe I may have bricked my Desire S also.


I rooted my Desire S through the official HTC method. (I have since relocked)

I then attempted to flash a custom ROM.

The custom ROM (Reaper 2.2) got stuck in (what I believe to be a boot loop) so I attempted to revert to the backup I made - that failed.

I did manage to get CyanogenMod 7 working but with missing functionality

Now I could not get beyond the white HTC screen (or the Black screen with the circle/number pattern on Reaper)

My desire S originally was on Vodafone (Ireland)

Whem I try to load the error is:

SD Checking
Loading...[PG88DIAG.zip]
No image!
Loading...[PG88DIAG.nbh]
No image or wrong image!
Loding...[PG88IMG.zip]
No image!
Loading...[PG88IMG.nbh]
No image or wrong image!

My phone was on 2.3.5 and Sense 3.0


Other details I obtained:

(bootloader) version: 0.5
(bootloader) version-bootloader: 2.00.0002
(bootloader) version-baseband: 3822.10.08.04_M
(bootloader) version-cpld: None
(bootloader) version-microp: None
(bootloader) version-main: 2.10.161.3
(bootloader) serialno: xxxxxxxxxxx
(bootloader) imei:xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
(bootloader) product: saga
(bootloader) platform: HBOOT-7230
(bootloader) modelid: PG8810000
(bootloader) cidnum: VODAP001
(bootloader) battery-status: good
(bootloader) battery-voltage: 4195mV
(bootloader) partition-layout: Generic
(bootloader) security: on
(bootloader) build-mode: SHIP
(bootloader) boot-mode: FASTBOOT
(bootloader) commitno-bootloader: ebd3df7d
(bootloader) hbootpreupdate: 12
(bootloader) gencheckpt: 0

I have spent hours upon hours trawling through forums, posts and guides but nothing has worked.

I have tried RUU_Saga_HTC_Europe_1.28.401.1_Radio_20.28b.30.080 5U_38.03.02.11_M_release_177977_signed.exe and got error [170]:device not detected and I have tried from the command line via fastboot....

I really need help here please.

OR is my Desire S totally bricked beyond repair
Last edited by sgt. slaughter; 29th April 2012 at 05:24 AM.
27th April 2012, 11:15 AM   |  #2  
eyahl's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag berlin
Thanks Meter: 339
 
1,072 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
If you unlock with htcdev, you need to extract the boot.img from your desired ROM and flash manually through adb after flashing the ROM. I'm 99% sure this will solve your problem. And you'll have to do this each time you flash a new ROM, or backup.
if you s-off your phone rather than using htcdev, you would not suffer from this procedure.

Don't be afraid, there is no brick :)


Sent by my fingers to your head.
The Following User Says Thank You to eyahl For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th April 2012, 01:13 PM   |  #3  
nenad_l's Avatar
Member
Flag Beograd
Thanks Meter: 20
 
69 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by eyahl

If you unlock with htcdev, you need to extract the boot.img from your desired ROM and flash manually through adb after flashing the ROM. I'm 99% sure this will solve your problem. And you'll have to do this each time you flash a new ROM, or backup.
if you s-off your phone rather than using htcdev, you would not suffer from this procedure.

Don't be afraid, there is no brick :)


Sent by my fingers to your head.

this and bootloader need to be ****unlocked**** in order to boot custom rom, and ***re-locked*** when installing RUU
27th April 2012, 09:17 PM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
29 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Thanks for the reply's guys.

I managed to get the RUU working this evening but the phone was still ***unlocked***... I got some error (didn't make note of it)

I will re-read both posts when I am not so tired and try the suggestions

Thanks again

(I will post my results)
28th April 2012, 12:01 AM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
29 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Ok, now I think I really have messed it up

I tried to flash RUU to the phone and now I cant get recovery to mount the sd card.

Can anyone suggest which RUU I should be using as the RUU app told me I was using the wrong image

I am totally at my wits end....I cannot even go back to the CyanogenMod rom

28th April 2012, 12:08 AM   |  #6  
eyahl's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag berlin
Thanks Meter: 339
 
1,072 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by GSR-James

Ok, now I think I really have messed it up

I tried to flash RUU to the phone and now I cant get recovery to mount the sd card.

Can anyone suggest which RUU I should be using as the RUU app told me I was using the wrong image

I am totally at my wits end....I cannot even go back to the CyanogenMod rom

Did you read what I wrote?? Do what I said or search forum about that if you need more information. It is definitely necessary, you won't succeed without flashing boot.img separately.

Sent by my fingers to your head.
28th April 2012, 12:41 AM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
29 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
I am so sorry, I did try to flash the boot.img but it didn't seem to work....

Am I right in my understanding: go to the .zip file >> open in win zip>> extract boot.img to the adb folder >> fastboot flash boot.img?
28th April 2012, 12:52 AM   |  #8  
eyahl's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag berlin
Thanks Meter: 339
 
1,072 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by GSR-James

I am so sorry, I did try to flash the boot.img but it didn't seem to work....

Am I right in my understanding: go to the .zip file >> open in win zip>> extract boot.img to the adb folder >> fastboot flash boot.img?

Yes, that's what I meant

Sent by my fingers to your head.
28th April 2012, 12:52 AM   |  #9  
ben_pyett's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag London, Colchester, Wivenhoe
Thanks Meter: 1,938
 
5,001 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by GSR-James

I am so sorry, I did try to flash the boot.img but it didn't seem to work....

Am I right in my understanding: go to the .zip file >> open in win zip>> extract boot.img to the adb folder >> fastboot flash boot.img?

YEs that sounds about right, although the full command is
Code:
fastboot flash boot boot.img
28th April 2012, 01:10 AM   |  #10  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
29 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Thank you both for the reply's.

I will try this when I sober up in the morning

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes