FORUMS

CloudPlayer: DIY HiFi Music Streaming Solution

In our Helpful Guide to Music Streaming Services, we mentioned several different services … more

Optimize Battery Life with This Useful App

Battery life is an important aspect of your smartphone, especially if you use it for more … more

The OnePlus 2 & The Year of Smartphone Compromises

We are very close to entering the last third of 2015, and we have now seen many of … more

OnePlus 2 Teardown, Major Android Vulnerability – XDA TV

The OnePlus 2 has been officially released. That and much more news is … more

Have I bricked my Desire S? [SOLVED]

29 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By GSR-James, Junior Member on 27th April 2012, 09:44 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I believe I may have bricked my Desire S also.


I rooted my Desire S through the official HTC method. (I have since relocked)

I then attempted to flash a custom ROM.

The custom ROM (Reaper 2.2) got stuck in (what I believe to be a boot loop) so I attempted to revert to the backup I made - that failed.

I did manage to get CyanogenMod 7 working but with missing functionality

Now I could not get beyond the white HTC screen (or the Black screen with the circle/number pattern on Reaper)

My desire S originally was on Vodafone (Ireland)

Whem I try to load the error is:

SD Checking
Loading...[PG88DIAG.zip]
No image!
Loading...[PG88DIAG.nbh]
No image or wrong image!
Loding...[PG88IMG.zip]
No image!
Loading...[PG88IMG.nbh]
No image or wrong image!

My phone was on 2.3.5 and Sense 3.0


Other details I obtained:

(bootloader) version: 0.5
(bootloader) version-bootloader: 2.00.0002
(bootloader) version-baseband: 3822.10.08.04_M
(bootloader) version-cpld: None
(bootloader) version-microp: None
(bootloader) version-main: 2.10.161.3
(bootloader) serialno: xxxxxxxxxxx
(bootloader) imei:xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
(bootloader) product: saga
(bootloader) platform: HBOOT-7230
(bootloader) modelid: PG8810000
(bootloader) cidnum: VODAP001
(bootloader) battery-status: good
(bootloader) battery-voltage: 4195mV
(bootloader) partition-layout: Generic
(bootloader) security: on
(bootloader) build-mode: SHIP
(bootloader) boot-mode: FASTBOOT
(bootloader) commitno-bootloader: ebd3df7d
(bootloader) hbootpreupdate: 12
(bootloader) gencheckpt: 0

I have spent hours upon hours trawling through forums, posts and guides but nothing has worked.

I have tried RUU_Saga_HTC_Europe_1.28.401.1_Radio_20.28b.30.080 5U_38.03.02.11_M_release_177977_signed.exe and got error [170]:device not detected and I have tried from the command line via fastboot....

I really need help here please.

OR is my Desire S totally bricked beyond repair
Last edited by sgt. slaughter; 29th April 2012 at 04:24 AM.
 
 
27th April 2012, 10:15 AM |#2  
eyahl's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag berlin
Thanks Meter: 339
 
More
If you unlock with htcdev, you need to extract the boot.img from your desired ROM and flash manually through adb after flashing the ROM. I'm 99% sure this will solve your problem. And you'll have to do this each time you flash a new ROM, or backup.
if you s-off your phone rather than using htcdev, you would not suffer from this procedure.

Don't be afraid, there is no brick :)


Sent by my fingers to your head.
The Following User Says Thank You to eyahl For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th April 2012, 12:13 PM |#3  
nenad_l's Avatar
Member
Flag Beograd
Thanks Meter: 20
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by eyahl

If you unlock with htcdev, you need to extract the boot.img from your desired ROM and flash manually through adb after flashing the ROM. I'm 99% sure this will solve your problem. And you'll have to do this each time you flash a new ROM, or backup.
if you s-off your phone rather than using htcdev, you would not suffer from this procedure.

Don't be afraid, there is no brick :)


Sent by my fingers to your head.

this and bootloader need to be ****unlocked**** in order to boot custom rom, and ***re-locked*** when installing RUU
27th April 2012, 08:17 PM |#4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Thanks for the reply's guys.

I managed to get the RUU working this evening but the phone was still ***unlocked***... I got some error (didn't make note of it)

I will re-read both posts when I am not so tired and try the suggestions

Thanks again

(I will post my results)
27th April 2012, 11:01 PM |#5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Ok, now I think I really have messed it up

I tried to flash RUU to the phone and now I cant get recovery to mount the sd card.

Can anyone suggest which RUU I should be using as the RUU app told me I was using the wrong image

I am totally at my wits end....I cannot even go back to the CyanogenMod rom

27th April 2012, 11:08 PM |#6  
eyahl's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag berlin
Thanks Meter: 339
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by GSR-James

Ok, now I think I really have messed it up

I tried to flash RUU to the phone and now I cant get recovery to mount the sd card.

Can anyone suggest which RUU I should be using as the RUU app told me I was using the wrong image

I am totally at my wits end....I cannot even go back to the CyanogenMod rom

Did you read what I wrote?? Do what I said or search forum about that if you need more information. It is definitely necessary, you won't succeed without flashing boot.img separately.

Sent by my fingers to your head.
27th April 2012, 11:41 PM |#7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I am so sorry, I did try to flash the boot.img but it didn't seem to work....

Am I right in my understanding: go to the .zip file >> open in win zip>> extract boot.img to the adb folder >> fastboot flash boot.img?
27th April 2012, 11:52 PM |#8  
eyahl's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag berlin
Thanks Meter: 339
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by GSR-James

I am so sorry, I did try to flash the boot.img but it didn't seem to work....

Am I right in my understanding: go to the .zip file >> open in win zip>> extract boot.img to the adb folder >> fastboot flash boot.img?

Yes, that's what I meant

Sent by my fingers to your head.
27th April 2012, 11:52 PM |#9  
ben_pyett's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag London, Colchester, Wivenhoe
Thanks Meter: 1,998
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by GSR-James

I am so sorry, I did try to flash the boot.img but it didn't seem to work....

Am I right in my understanding: go to the .zip file >> open in win zip>> extract boot.img to the adb folder >> fastboot flash boot.img?

YEs that sounds about right, although the full command is
Code:
fastboot flash boot boot.img
28th April 2012, 12:10 AM |#10  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Thank you both for the reply's.

I will try this when I sober up in the morning
28th April 2012, 10:36 AM |#11  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Now that I am sober I want to thank eyahl, nenad_l and ben_pyett for your input.

I managed to get the rom working last night (drunk and all as I was )

I am now running a MIUI rom

Baseband version: 20.4801.30.0822U_3822.10.08.04_M

I need to ask a couple more questions if I may?

The interface is not what I am used to and don't particularly like it. It reminds me of the UI I had on my old Galaxy I9000. Is this as a result of my kernel version?

Kernel version: 2.6.35.14-cyanogenmod+nexx@android-dev#1 Thur Oct 6 14:48:57 BST 2011

My understanding of what I have done by flashing the boot.img is that my kernel is that of the rom from where the boot.img was taken and the MIUI rom sits atop - is this correct?

So if I extract a boot.img from a different rom and then flash I will have a different kernel version and subsequently return my UI to (SENSE) that I'm more familiar to?

Sorry for the n00b questions but I am only learning about this at the moment

Thanks guys

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes