Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,732,619 Members 52,084 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[SMS INCREASE] REMOVE the 160+ SMS Limit on WP7 for HTC Arrive GOLD_C

Tip us?
 
haramzee
Old
#41  
Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 60
Join Date: May 2009
Yes it works fine even without a reboot on my Arrive using Ansar's 8773 V1.
Huge thanks.
 
leadpoizon
Old
#42  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 160
Posts: 255
Join Date: May 2008

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Tower Issue

Ok, so I have now confirmed that the 160 character limit is dependent on the towers near you. I just tested texting while roaming on Verizon with the exact same setup as before. The tweak works. No wonder it wasn't working for me! It now makes sense why Sprint disabled this option!
The Following User Says Thank You to leadpoizon For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
turdsamich
Old
#43  
Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 54
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Bishopville, MD

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by leadpoizon View Post
Ok, so I have now confirmed that the 160 character limit is dependent on the towers near you. I just tested texting while roaming on Verizon with the exact same setup as before. The tweak works. No wonder it wasn't working for me! It now makes sense why Sprint disabled this option!
Now, if you get it working off of one tower does that mean once the fix is in it will work on the tower it previously did not work at or will texting be broken?
 
leadpoizon
Old
#44  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 160
Posts: 255
Join Date: May 2008

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by turdsamich View Post
Now, if you get it working off of one tower does that mean once the fix is in it will work on the tower it previously did not work at or will texting be broken?
I don't think so, though I have yet to find out for sure. I will try this once I am home. It wouldn't make any sense at all if it now worked at the previously non-working towers, because it doesn't have anything to do with the phone and just with the Sprint network towers. I'll post back just in case.
 
mapaz04
Old
#45  
mapaz04's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 83
Posts: 302
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Tennessee
Default hmmmm....

Quote:
Originally Posted by leadpoizon View Post
I don't think so, though I have yet to find out for sure. I will try this once I am home. It wouldn't make any sense at all if it now worked at the previously non-working towers, because it doesn't have anything to do with the phone and just with the Sprint network towers. I'll post back just in case.
This puzzles me a bit because I had issues when I first did it too... Thats how I came up with this procedure... When I would try it would never send and give me a response so I could retry send... When it finally worked, it has not stopped working, even after flashing other roms...

I know that as of now is just speculation but if this is true... then why did I get errors at first and then no errors now? hmmm... This is interesting... I hope that once you have experienced success it maintains that from then on...

Its also weird being that other phones (O/S's) seem to send the multiple "thread" message just fine... Anyways, I'll also be waiting on this so I can update the first post...
teaMJPx/mapaz04 - WP7 & Android - Hit "THANKS" if i've been able to help you
 
leadpoizon
Old
#46  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 160
Posts: 255
Join Date: May 2008

 
DONATE TO ME
MY FINAL RESULTS:

This method is dependent on the towers near you, because of the following*:

Some Mobile Phone Operating Systems are designed to split up texts whens they are sent over the 160 character limit before they are sent to the network (even dumb phones can do this). Windows Phone does not seem to have this capability, it sends your message in its' entirety to the network and hopes that the network can sort it out into split texts. The problem is, not all Sprint towers seem to support this. For that reason, Sprint completely disabled the option to send a text over 160 characters.

When you know this method will work**:

1. Make the registry Edit (Reboots is not really needed, WP dynamically monitors the registry, it seems.)
2. Send yourself a text over the 160 characters. (It should allow you to after the registry edit.)
3. The text will give you an error either instantly or in a few minutes.
4. Reboot, if you want (just to be sure.). Then, resend the same text.
5. It will send without errors and you should receive the content back in more than one text. Done.

When you know this method will NOT work**:

1. Make the registry Edit (Reboots is not really needed, WP dynamically monitors the registry, it seems.)
2. Send yourself a text over the 160 characters. (It should allow you to after the registry edit.)
3. The text will not give you an error. After a LONG time (an hour or so, you will get the error.)
4. During the time between you sending the text and receiving the error, your MMS and SMS will be broken and you most likely will not receive or be able to send texts.
5. Reboot your phone and things should be back to normal. Change the registry back to default value to avoid making an accidental text over 160 characters. Go yell at MS and Sprint.

* Only speculation after my trials
** YMMV
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to leadpoizon For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
mapaz04
Old
#47  
mapaz04's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 83
Posts: 302
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Tennessee
Quote:
Originally Posted by leadpoizon View Post
MY FINAL RESULTS:

This method is dependent on the towers near you, because of the following*:

Some Mobile Phone Operating Systems are designed to split up texts whens they are sent over the 160 character limit before they are sent to the network (even dumb phones can do this). Windows Phone does not seem to have this capability, it sends your message in its' entirety to the network and hopes that the network can sort it out into split texts. The problem is, not all Sprint towers seem to support this. For that reason, Sprint completely disabled the option to send a text over 160 characters.

When you know this method will work**:

1. Make the registry Edit (Reboots is not really needed, WP dynamically monitors the registry, it seems.)
2. Send yourself a text over the 160 characters. (It should allow you to after the registry edit.)
3. The text will give you an error either instantly or in a few minutes.
4. Reboot, if you want (just to be sure.). Then, resend the same text.
5. It will send without errors and you should receive the content back in more than one text. Done.

When you know this method will NOT work**:

1. Make the registry Edit (Reboots is not really needed, WP dynamically monitors the registry, it seems.)
2. Send yourself a text over the 160 characters. (It should allow you to after the registry edit.)
3. The text will not give you an error. After a LONG time (an hour or so, you will get the error.)
4. During the time between you sending the text and receiving the error, your MMS and SMS will be broken and you most likely will not receive or be able to send texts.
5. Reboot your phone and things should be back to normal. Change the registry back to default value to avoid making an accidental text over 160 characters. Go yell at MS and Sprint.

* Only speculation after my trials
** YMMV
Hope you dont mind, im adding this to the first post. Thanks man. that sucks though... again, I had issues at first and then they went away... maybe I was hitting an older tower at first??

Thanks for your help on this.
teaMJPx/mapaz04 - WP7 & Android - Hit "THANKS" if i've been able to help you
 
houdini13
Old
(Last edited by houdini13; 27th April 2012 at 07:46 PM.)
#48  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 27
Join Date: Jan 2007
seems everywhere I go has capable towers. No issues anywhere so far.
 
leadpoizon
Old
#49  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 160
Posts: 255
Join Date: May 2008

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by mapaz04 View Post
Hope you dont mind, im adding this to the first post. Thanks man. that sucks though... again, I had issues at first and then they went away... maybe I was hitting an older tower at first??

Thanks for your help on this.
Cool. Hopefully we can figure out a work-around for that issue as well.


Quote:
Originally Posted by houdini13 View Post
seems everyone I got has capable towers. No issues anywhere so far.
Just to be clear: The issue is with towers near the person sending the text (You), not towers near people you are texting.
 
purian23
Old
#50  
purian23's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 899
Posts: 410
Join Date: Jan 2009
Thank you tons! This worked perfectly for me! One error, then rebooted and resent..went through and so far so good!!!!!

Tags
160character, limit, sms, sprint
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes