FORUMS

XeroAsh Theme for CM12

This theme by XDA Senior Member balrajs99 features a black and slate gray UI that gives your phone a … more

Samsung Galaxy S6 To Receive Major Camera Update

When the Samsung Galaxy S6 and S6 Edge were launched, they became the prime focus for … more

Tactile: An Addicting Game with Beautiful Material Design

The game industry has been around for decades, catering to a wide … more

Android’s Consistency and The User Experience

This is a site of power users, and it is fair to say that most of us are more … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q]Help getting started with ROM developement

27th April 2012, 09:09 PM |#1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Brighton, MI
Thanks Meter: 593
 
Donate to Me
More
Hi, I am interested in starting some custom ROM work for our device. I am just looking for a little bit of direction on where to start. I understand things are a bit more complicated with our locked bootloader, but I know there is still a lot to be done. What are some good places to start tweaking performance? How about graphics and theming? if there is anything else I should know that would be great. I am not an extremely experienced programmer, but I have some experience and I am fairly comfortable tweaking system stuff. Lastly, Is there any way to get an emulater going for the A2? this would be very helpful for development to save the pain of boot loops and errors on our real device. thanks for everyone's help! Hopefully our development will take off for this phone once we get the bootloader bypass working or get it fully unlocked.
Last edited by lkrasner; 27th April 2012 at 09:23 PM.
 
 
27th April 2012, 10:02 PM |#2  
tmease1's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Indiana
Thanks Meter: 369
 
More
This needs moved to general.

Sent from my MB865 using xda premium
27th April 2012, 11:39 PM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Flag Brighton, MI
Thanks Meter: 593
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmease1

This needs moved to general.

Sent from my MB865 using xda premium

ok sorry
27th April 2012, 11:44 PM |#4  
farshad525hou's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Massachusetts
Thanks Meter: 436
 
Donate to Me
More
I just want to get one thing out there. If you want to develop you will NEED Linux. It makes things a lot easier than using windows.
28th April 2012, 12:17 AM |#5  
prbassplayer's Avatar
Recognized Developer / Retired Forum Moderator
Flag MayagŁez
Thanks Meter: 12,466
 
Donate to Me
More
Moved to General to OP's request.
28th April 2012, 12:57 AM |#6  
OP Senior Member
Flag Brighton, MI
Thanks Meter: 593
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by farshad525hou

I just want to get one thing out there. If you want to develop you will NEED Linux. It makes things a lot easier than using windows.

I am currently quad booting Windows, my custom arch build, ubuntu, and debian, so I am set there! I prefer linux to windows anyways, i mostly use windows just for compatability, but I am in ubuntu right now
28th April 2012, 01:04 AM |#7  
farshad525hou's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Massachusetts
Thanks Meter: 436
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lkrasner

I am currently quad booting Windows, my custom arch build, ubuntu, and debian, so I am set there! I prefer linux to windows anyways, i mostly use windows just for compatability, but I am in ubuntu right now

Wow impressive.. I just use Ubuntu on a virtual machine..
Last edited by farshad525hou; 28th April 2012 at 01:26 AM.
28th April 2012, 01:21 AM |#8  
OP Senior Member
Flag Brighton, MI
Thanks Meter: 593
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by farshad525hou

Wow impressive.. I just use an Ubuntu virtual machine..

Arch is pretty awesome if you have the patience/time to set it up. It's not that hard, just takes some work to figure it out
28th April 2012, 01:28 AM |#9  
farshad525hou's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Massachusetts
Thanks Meter: 436
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lkrasner

Arch is pretty awesome if you have the patience/time to set it up. It's not that hard, just takes some work to figure it out

You'll also need a ROM kitchen to decompile ROM's, or you could just extract the zip and rezip... only problem is that if you make any major changes you need to write a new updater-script...
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes