Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,805,777 Members 41,723 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q]Help getting started with ROM developement

Tip us?
 
lkrasner
Old
(Last edited by lkrasner; 27th April 2012 at 09:23 PM.)
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 593
Posts: 1,087
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Brighton, MI

 
DONATE TO ME
Thumbs up [Q]Help getting started with ROM developement

Hi, I am interested in starting some custom ROM work for our device. I am just looking for a little bit of direction on where to start. I understand things are a bit more complicated with our locked bootloader, but I know there is still a lot to be done. What are some good places to start tweaking performance? How about graphics and theming? if there is anything else I should know that would be great. I am not an extremely experienced programmer, but I have some experience and I am fairly comfortable tweaking system stuff. Lastly, Is there any way to get an emulater going for the A2? this would be very helpful for development to save the pain of boot loops and errors on our real device. thanks for everyone's help! Hopefully our development will take off for this phone once we get the bootloader bypass working or get it fully unlocked.
Samsung Galaxy S4 i337- Stock, but working on it
Nexus 7- Changes all the time, but currently PACman

Old Devices:

Motorola Atrix 2- Touch screen broke, followed by a swim in a lake,
Acer Iconia Tab a500- replaced with N7

Like XDA? Click Here To Donate

Quote:
If your question doesn't get answered quickly, it was stupid. Use the search button and Google before posting.
 
tmease1
Old
#2  
tmease1's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 363
Posts: 1,408
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Indiana
This needs moved to general.

Sent from my MB865 using xda premium
 
lkrasner
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 593
Posts: 1,087
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Brighton, MI

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmease1 View Post
This needs moved to general.

Sent from my MB865 using xda premium
ok sorry
Samsung Galaxy S4 i337- Stock, but working on it
Nexus 7- Changes all the time, but currently PACman

Old Devices:

Motorola Atrix 2- Touch screen broke, followed by a swim in a lake,
Acer Iconia Tab a500- replaced with N7

Like XDA? Click Here To Donate

Quote:
If your question doesn't get answered quickly, it was stupid. Use the search button and Google before posting.
 
farshad525hou
Old
#4  
farshad525hou's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 434
Posts: 830
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Massachusetts

 
DONATE TO ME
I just want to get one thing out there. If you want to develop you will NEED Linux. It makes things a lot easier than using windows.
DON'T HAVE A DROPBOX? SIGN UP WITH THIS LINK AND WE BOTH GET 500MB EXTRA!: http://db.tt/UAXWgzXy

Current Devices:
HTC One running Android 4.4 KitKat/CM11 Beta builds from source!
Google Nexus 7 running AOSP 4.4 KitKat!
Backup Devices
Samsung Galaxy Nexus running CM10.2 nightlies.
Google (Asus) Nexus 7 running CM10.2 nightlies!
Motorola Atrix 2 running CM10
Previous Devices:
Samsung Infuse 4G,-HATED IT!
iPhone 3G-Sold it on Ebay!



 
prbassplayer
Old
#5  
prbassplayer's Avatar
Recognized Developer / Retired Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter 11,712
Posts: 9,508
Join Date: Mar 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
Moved to General to OP's request.
 
lkrasner
Old
#6  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 593
Posts: 1,087
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Brighton, MI

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by farshad525hou View Post
I just want to get one thing out there. If you want to develop you will NEED Linux. It makes things a lot easier than using windows.
I am currently quad booting Windows, my custom arch build, ubuntu, and debian, so I am set there! I prefer linux to windows anyways, i mostly use windows just for compatability, but I am in ubuntu right now
Samsung Galaxy S4 i337- Stock, but working on it
Nexus 7- Changes all the time, but currently PACman

Old Devices:

Motorola Atrix 2- Touch screen broke, followed by a swim in a lake,
Acer Iconia Tab a500- replaced with N7

Like XDA? Click Here To Donate

Quote:
If your question doesn't get answered quickly, it was stupid. Use the search button and Google before posting.
 
farshad525hou
Old
(Last edited by farshad525hou; 28th April 2012 at 01:26 AM.)
#7  
farshad525hou's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 434
Posts: 830
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Massachusetts

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by lkrasner View Post
I am currently quad booting Windows, my custom arch build, ubuntu, and debian, so I am set there! I prefer linux to windows anyways, i mostly use windows just for compatability, but I am in ubuntu right now
Wow impressive.. I just use Ubuntu on a virtual machine..
DON'T HAVE A DROPBOX? SIGN UP WITH THIS LINK AND WE BOTH GET 500MB EXTRA!: http://db.tt/UAXWgzXy

Current Devices:
HTC One running Android 4.4 KitKat/CM11 Beta builds from source!
Google Nexus 7 running AOSP 4.4 KitKat!
Backup Devices
Samsung Galaxy Nexus running CM10.2 nightlies.
Google (Asus) Nexus 7 running CM10.2 nightlies!
Motorola Atrix 2 running CM10
Previous Devices:
Samsung Infuse 4G,-HATED IT!
iPhone 3G-Sold it on Ebay!



 
lkrasner
Old
#8  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 593
Posts: 1,087
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Brighton, MI

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by farshad525hou View Post
Wow impressive.. I just use an Ubuntu virtual machine..
Arch is pretty awesome if you have the patience/time to set it up. It's not that hard, just takes some work to figure it out
Samsung Galaxy S4 i337- Stock, but working on it
Nexus 7- Changes all the time, but currently PACman

Old Devices:

Motorola Atrix 2- Touch screen broke, followed by a swim in a lake,
Acer Iconia Tab a500- replaced with N7

Like XDA? Click Here To Donate

Quote:
If your question doesn't get answered quickly, it was stupid. Use the search button and Google before posting.
 
farshad525hou
Old
#9  
farshad525hou's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 434
Posts: 830
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Massachusetts

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by lkrasner View Post
Arch is pretty awesome if you have the patience/time to set it up. It's not that hard, just takes some work to figure it out
You'll also need a ROM kitchen to decompile ROM's, or you could just extract the zip and rezip... only problem is that if you make any major changes you need to write a new updater-script...
DON'T HAVE A DROPBOX? SIGN UP WITH THIS LINK AND WE BOTH GET 500MB EXTRA!: http://db.tt/UAXWgzXy

Current Devices:
HTC One running Android 4.4 KitKat/CM11 Beta builds from source!
Google Nexus 7 running AOSP 4.4 KitKat!
Backup Devices
Samsung Galaxy Nexus running CM10.2 nightlies.
Google (Asus) Nexus 7 running CM10.2 nightlies!
Motorola Atrix 2 running CM10
Previous Devices:
Samsung Infuse 4G,-HATED IT!
iPhone 3G-Sold it on Ebay!




Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Google Play Services Updated to Version 6.1

In addition to Android operating system proper, Google is focusing hard on giving the developers … more

CyanogenMod 11 M10 Available for Supported Devices

Summer vacation isover for most students out there, and it’s the time to get back to … more

XDA Forums Added for the First Batch of Android One Devices!

Just yesterday, we talked about the highly anticipated launch of the first batch … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: DonkeyGuard, Don’t Be a Donkey, Control Your Device – XDA Developer TV

Some applications ask for the world … more