5,598,542 Members 44,580 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Just got a touchpad - Questions

Tip us?
 
Rekzer
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 31
Posts: 572
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Default Just got a touchpad - Questions

Hey, Just got a 32gb touchpad

I want to run Android 4 on it, but i see multiple roms there. Was wondering which one has the least bugs. Im hoping for a fully functional one, but not sure whats there. CM9 seems fairly broken.

Im looking for a fully functional non WEbOS if someone could poitn me to one

Thanks!
Phone: Galaxy S II T989D Cyanogen 9
Laptop: MSI GT60: Intel® Core™ i7-3610QM, 2.3GHz, 12GB 1600MHz DDR3, GeForce® GTX 670M, 15.6" Anti-Reflective LCD Screen, Full HD 1920 x 1080, 2 x 500GB 2.5" 7200RPM HDDs in RAID0
Desktop:Intel Core i7 930, 12 GB Ram, Radeon 5870 1GB, Cooler Master Haf 932 Full Tower Black, Seasonic 850W PSU, 2x Western Digital Caviar Black 640GB Raid0
Dropbox/Spideroak Referral: http://db.tt/rkyZbPac,https://spideroak.com/signup/referra...406ff74925463/
 
mountaindewmi
Old
#2  
mountaindewmi's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 29
Posts: 131
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Miami, FL
I'm not one to complain, but there have been quite a few of these threads started recently... such as:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1618380

As far as CM9 goes, I have been running the Alpha 2 version and have absolutely no problems with it besides the camera and mic not working, and the sound issue while the screen is off. ClassicNerd and AOKP are some good alternatives and they have a lot of support, but there are more. Best place to start is the great sticky post by MindSplit : http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1552196
MyTouch 4g - SyN_aospX ICS
HP Touch pad - webOS 3.0.5/O.a.T. LnT CM9 JB 4.1.2
The Following User Says Thank You to mountaindewmi For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
jsgraphicart
Old
#3  
jsgraphicart's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1238
Posts: 4,474
Join Date: Nov 2011
If you see CM9 as "broken" then dont bother with Android on your TouchPad. All CM9 ROMs are about the same as far as how stable they are. And all CM9 ROMs just about have the same issues. They are all built from the same source.
The Following User Says Thank You to jsgraphicart For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Rekzer
Old
#4  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 31
Posts: 572
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Winnipeg
It multiboots tho, so i assume i can install as many things as i want..
Phone: Galaxy S II T989D Cyanogen 9
Laptop: MSI GT60: Intel® Core™ i7-3610QM, 2.3GHz, 12GB 1600MHz DDR3, GeForce® GTX 670M, 15.6" Anti-Reflective LCD Screen, Full HD 1920 x 1080, 2 x 500GB 2.5" 7200RPM HDDs in RAID0
Desktop:Intel Core i7 930, 12 GB Ram, Radeon 5870 1GB, Cooler Master Haf 932 Full Tower Black, Seasonic 850W PSU, 2x Western Digital Caviar Black 640GB Raid0
Dropbox/Spideroak Referral: http://db.tt/rkyZbPac,https://spideroak.com/signup/referra...406ff74925463/
 
jsgraphicart
Old
#5  
jsgraphicart's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1238
Posts: 4,474
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rekzer View Post
It multiboots tho, so i assume i can install as many things as i want..
You can only install one version of android.
The Following User Says Thank You to jsgraphicart For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
takylo
Old
#6  
Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 43
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Raleigh

 
DONATE TO ME
I currently use ClassicNerd Rom and love it. Yes, like stated earlier they all are still a little buggy. However it is very cool to multi-boot(moboot) between webOS and android . On the Android side I'm able to download apps from the market and play a load of games. PM me and I will point you to the instructions I used.
Current
AT&T Note 3 ROM:[STOCK].
LG G Pad 8.3 ROM:[STOCK].
Moto Atrix HD rooted (damaged LCD)


Retired
sold LG Optimus G Pro
sold Oppo Find 5
sold LG G2
sold Nexus 5
sold Nexus 4
sold Galaxy Note 2
sold Nexus 7
sold HTC One X (Str8Talk)
sold S3 I9300 (Str8Talk)
sold Galaxy S2 on (T-Mo)
sold Galaxy Nexus on (Big Red)
The Following User Says Thank You to takylo For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Rekzer
Old
#7  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 31
Posts: 572
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Im running CM9 now! THis thing FLIES, only bug i really care about is the audio distortion when the screen is off one, but nbd really!

Question: If i want to Update CM, i just place it on the SD and install via CWM right. How does Moboot know its CM? If i installed another rom via CWM would Moboot properly boot into it?

AND

Is the storage shared? As in, if i boot into WebOS, will it see all the files on the 32gig storage that android sees?
Phone: Galaxy S II T989D Cyanogen 9
Laptop: MSI GT60: Intel® Core™ i7-3610QM, 2.3GHz, 12GB 1600MHz DDR3, GeForce® GTX 670M, 15.6" Anti-Reflective LCD Screen, Full HD 1920 x 1080, 2 x 500GB 2.5" 7200RPM HDDs in RAID0
Desktop:Intel Core i7 930, 12 GB Ram, Radeon 5870 1GB, Cooler Master Haf 932 Full Tower Black, Seasonic 850W PSU, 2x Western Digital Caviar Black 640GB Raid0
Dropbox/Spideroak Referral: http://db.tt/rkyZbPac,https://spideroak.com/signup/referra...406ff74925463/
 
jsgraphicart
Old
#8  
jsgraphicart's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1238
Posts: 4,474
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rekzer View Post
Im running CM9 now! THis thing FLIES, only bug i really care about is the audio distortion when the screen is off one, but nbd really!

Question: If i want to Update CM, i just place it on the SD and install via CWM right. How does Moboot know its CM? If i installed another rom via CWM would Moboot properly boot into it?

AND

Is the storage shared? As in, if i boot into WebOS, will it see all the files on the 32gig storage that android sees?
Yes. just place it on your sd card and install in clockwork. It's wise to wipe cache and dalvik before you flash. There may be times when you get more than one android version show up on moboot if it is two completely different ROMs but you just need to delete the other listing. there are tutorials on how to do that. and your sd card is shared. it's structured a little differently in each OS but it all shares the same storage.
The Following User Says Thank You to jsgraphicart For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Rekzer
Old
#9  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 31
Posts: 572
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Thanks a bunch guys!

One last question
I have a bunch of apps backed up via Titanium off my GSII, can those be restored safely onto the touchpad(non system apps ofc)
Phone: Galaxy S II T989D Cyanogen 9
Laptop: MSI GT60: Intel® Core™ i7-3610QM, 2.3GHz, 12GB 1600MHz DDR3, GeForce® GTX 670M, 15.6" Anti-Reflective LCD Screen, Full HD 1920 x 1080, 2 x 500GB 2.5" 7200RPM HDDs in RAID0
Desktop:Intel Core i7 930, 12 GB Ram, Radeon 5870 1GB, Cooler Master Haf 932 Full Tower Black, Seasonic 850W PSU, 2x Western Digital Caviar Black 640GB Raid0
Dropbox/Spideroak Referral: http://db.tt/rkyZbPac,https://spideroak.com/signup/referra...406ff74925463/

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes