Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[HOW TO] Root, Install Busybox and SuperCharge your G9

OP Quinny899

28th April 2012, 03:06 AM   |  #291  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
41 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
101 9g 250gb hdd

---------- Post added at 01:06 AM ---------- Previous post was at 01:03 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by surdu_petru

Hi!

What is exactly your model ?

We can find a solution if we have more info of your device !

I just got the 101 g9 with the 4.0.5 from factory.
28th April 2012, 08:29 AM   |  #292  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
257 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
in the process of rooting and i've got to this point....

6. Download this file (THANKS surdu_petru!)
7a. If you downloaded the file to your computer:
With your tablet plugged into the pc, copy the file to the INTERNAL STORAGE of the drive, NOT IN ANY FOLDERS
7b. If you downloaded the file to your tablet:
Open "Files"
Go to download and copy the file archos_3.2.79.ext4 to the Internal Storage, NOT IN ANY FOLDERS
8. Download this and this and remember where they are
9. Turn off the device normally
10. Hold power + volume down until the archos logo appears and a recovery menu appears
11. Use Volume Up + Down and power to select Recovery Menu > Developer Edition menu

but when i use power and volume down, it takes me into archos a101s recovery,
BUT... my only options now are...
reboot
update firmware
repair system
format system

so what have i done wrong? i followed all the instructions correctly and completed them all,
only thing i can think of is... half way through the whole rooting process, my battery died and the tablet turned off, i turned it back on and continued.
would this of messed it up? or due to it turning off, would i of needed to restart the whole process?

---------- Post added at 07:29 AM ---------- Previous post was at 07:08 AM ----------

Someone please let me know if they know a solution to this? as i cant work it out.
I do know archos updated/changed their recovery but how do i get around this?
28th April 2012, 02:24 PM   |  #293  
surdu_petru's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Paris
Thanks Meter: 8,494
 
3,589 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrLarner

in the process of rooting and i've got to this point....

6. Download this file (THANKS surdu_petru!)
7a. If you downloaded the file to your computer:
With your tablet plugged into the pc, copy the file to the INTERNAL STORAGE of the drive, NOT IN ANY FOLDERS
7b. If you downloaded the file to your tablet:
Open "Files"
Go to download and copy the file archos_3.2.79.ext4 to the Internal Storage, NOT IN ANY FOLDERS
8. Download this and this and remember where they are
9. Turn off the device normally
10. Hold power + volume down until the archos logo appears and a recovery menu appears
11. Use Volume Up + Down and power to select Recovery Menu > Developer Edition menu

but when i use power and volume down, it takes me into archos a101s recovery,
BUT... my only options now are...
reboot
update firmware
repair system
format system

so what have i done wrong? i followed all the instructions correctly and completed them all,
only thing i can think of is... half way through the whole rooting process, my battery died and the tablet turned off, i turned it back on and continued.
would this of messed it up? or due to it turning off, would i of needed to restart the whole process?

---------- Post added at 07:29 AM ---------- Previous post was at 07:08 AM ----------

Someone please let me know if they know a solution to this? as i cant work it out.
I do know archos updated/changed their recovery but how do i get around this?

HI!

First you need to Enable SDE menu , take a look here => http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...560211&page=11 ( post # 107 )
The Following User Says Thank You to surdu_petru For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th April 2012, 07:00 PM   |  #294  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
257 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by surdu_petru

HI!

First you need to Enable SDE menu , take a look here => http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...560211&page=11 ( post # 107 )

What is SDE? first i've heard of it, and its not mentioned throughout all the tutorials
are you 100% sure this is the reason i cant get any further?
28th April 2012, 09:28 PM   |  #295  
Shano56's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 548
 
1,384 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrLarner

What is SDE? first i've heard of it, and its not mentioned throughout all the tutorials
are you 100% sure this is the reason i cant get any further?

SDE is mentioned everywhere in archos forums xD

try looking at the very first page of this guide..... "Enable SDE and Permanently root your tablet" if you cannot pay attention to something so simple, you will probably screw up your rooting. And SDE the way to install custom firmware.
29th April 2012, 08:50 PM   |  #296  
mackay508's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ness
Thanks Meter: 5
 
113 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Rooting help
For some reason i cant seem to get ADB to work. I have the 101 g9 turbo with 4.0.5 firmware. I have tried it on Ubuntu 12.04 and Windows 7 home edition but nothing seems to work. Any help as to what to do?
29th April 2012, 10:24 PM   |  #297  
Shano56's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 548
 
1,384 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mackay508

For some reason i cant seem to get ADB to work. I have the 101 g9 turbo with 4.0.5 firmware. I have tried it on Ubuntu 12.04 and Windows 7 home edition but nothing seems to work. Any help as to what to do?

try running a command prompt from the adb folder (probably c:/android/android-sdk, maybe /platform-tools
30th April 2012, 10:23 AM   |  #298  
Abryp's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quinny899

5. Download Step 1 and Step 2 Note: Don't open these links in a browser, not tapatalk or the xda app
Download them to your desktop

"All free download slots are in use. You can download this file immediately by upgrading to FileFactory Premium. Otherwise, please feel free to try again shortly."
Please can i have these files from another hosting service? Can't download from this one several hours (Also trying to saving link directly actually downloads only index.php)

By the way, does this method of enabling SDE works for 4.0.5 firmware?
30th April 2012, 02:06 PM   |  #299  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
257 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shano56

SDE is mentioned everywhere in archos forums xD

try looking at the very first page of this guide..... "Enable SDE and Permanently root your tablet" if you cannot pay attention to something so simple, you will probably screw up your rooting. And SDE the way to install custom firmware.

OK, so i've gone through the process again and done the SDE part and its still the same, when i go into recovery, i dont have the option, my only options are...
reboot
update firmware
repair system
format system

and before anyone asks, i followed everything step by step.
anyone???

---------- Post added at 12:16 PM ---------- Previous post was at 12:14 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Abryp

By the way, does this method of enabling SDE works for 4.0.5 firmware?

good point, as im currently on 4.0.5 and i also cant get SDE to work.
i can get to the recovery but my options are different to what their ment to be.

---------- Post added at 01:06 PM ---------- Previous post was at 12:16 PM ----------

also... when i download the ZImage and the initramfs.cpio... am i ment to save them on the computer or the tablet? if tablet, do i just save them on the internal storage?
30th April 2012, 02:15 PM   |  #300  
gen_scheisskopf's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Poznań
Thanks Meter: 245
 
1,087 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrLarner

OK, so i've gone through the process again and done the SDE part and its still the same, when i go into recovery, i dont have the option, my only options are...
reboot
update firmware
repair system
format system

and before anyone asks, i followed everything step by step.
anyone???

You didn't enable SDE. Please follow instructions in SDE thread.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrLarner

also... when i download the ZImage and the initramfs.cpio... am i ment to save them on the computer or the tablet? if tablet, do i just save them on the internal storage?

Tutorials (this one, in SDE thread and in custom firmware threads) say everything you need to know. Please read carefully.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes