Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,740,943 Members 52,173 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Rogers ROM on AT&T HTC One XL

Tip us?
 
hexproject
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 104
Join Date: Jan 2007
Default Rogers ROM on AT&T HTC One XL

Was wondering if we can put Rogers ROM on AT&T for 2 reasons.

Turn off LTE and tethering.

Can anyone with Rogers confirm they have tethering ability. Also do you have to pay extra for tethering with Rogers.

I bet AT&T will block those.
 
krepler
Old
(Last edited by krepler; 28th April 2012 at 03:42 AM.)
#2  
krepler's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 45
Join Date: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by hexproject View Post
Was wondering if we can put Rogers ROM on AT&T for 2 reasons.

Turn off LTE and tethering.

Can anyone with Rogers confirm they have tethering ability. Also do you have to pay extra for tethering with Rogers.

I bet AT&T will block those.
Confirmed! We have tethering enabled(free) as well as the option to turn off LTE.

As for loading the Rogers rom onto the AT&T handset, I don't see why not other than maybe some differences in what 3G/4G LTE Bands are made available. Rogers and AT&T are very close in offerings though. Don't know if there's any relation nowadays, but they used to be partners a good 10 years ago here in Canada. I think Rogers bought them out of their wireless venture. Fun fact of the day. Minus the fun :P
The Following User Says Thank You to krepler For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
hexproject
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 104
Join Date: Jan 2007
Anyone has an unlocked rogers htc one xl phone that also has an att sim card can do a test if att sim card will get lte speed with rogers rom?
 
craig0r
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 59
Posts: 1,048
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
The Radio firmware is a separate image from the system rom. Once we have a Rogers RUU, you should be able to flash the boot.img and system.img from that without worrying about altering the way your radio connects to the AT&T network.
craig0r

Samsung Galaxy Note 8.0 N5110 Stock 4.2.2 rooted
Rogers HTC One
HP Touchpad with CM10
 
hexproject
Old
(Last edited by hexproject; 29th April 2012 at 10:06 PM.)
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 104
Join Date: Jan 2007
So what would be a better choice? Att handset with rogers rom or rogers handset stock rom. I just want to be able to tether sometimes without att giving me trouble and turn att off. Since i will be getting out of contract... Price for the handset should be the same.
The Following User Says Thank You to hexproject For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
~David
Old
#6  
~David's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 72
Posts: 317
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
The only difference between the AT&T model and Rogers model is the ROM, so it really wouldn't make a difference. Go with whichever option is easier for you.


(I accidentally thanked your post. Enjoy it lol)
HTC One [UL / Stock JB 4.1.2]
HTC One X [LTE X325a / Retired]
Asus Transformer [TF101-B1-B60 / Retired]
HTC Desire [GSM A8182 / Retired]
HTC Hero [GSM Black / Retired]
 
MEGABYTEPR
Old
#7  
Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 97
Join Date: Jan 2009
Just a quick question for you HOX Rogers owners out there, does the rogers version include any Rogers bloatware? or splash screens?
 
~David
Old
#8  
~David's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 72
Posts: 317
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Quote:
Originally Posted by MEGABYTEPR View Post
Just a quick question for you HOX Rogers owners out there, does the rogers version include any Rogers bloatware? or splash screens?
Yep...

1 Contacts
1 Number
Games
My Account
Ringbacks
Ringtones
Rogers Live
Shop
urMusic

And there's a Rogers splash screen when shutting off the phone, but not when turning it on.
HTC One [UL / Stock JB 4.1.2]
HTC One X [LTE X325a / Retired]
Asus Transformer [TF101-B1-B60 / Retired]
HTC Desire [GSM A8182 / Retired]
HTC Hero [GSM Black / Retired]
 
JSLEnterprises
Old
#9  
JSLEnterprises's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1342
Posts: 1,330
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Hamilton

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by ~David View Post
Yep...

1 Contacts
1 Number
Games
My Account
Ringbacks
Ringtones
Rogers Live
Shop
urMusic

And there's a Rogers splash screen when shutting off the phone, but not when turning it on.
The rogers spash screen is there when turning on the phone as well. It's part of the boot animation.
 
~David
Old
#10  
~David's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 72
Posts: 317
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Quote:
Originally Posted by JSLEnterprises View Post
The rogers spash screen is there when turning on the phone as well. It's part of the boot animation.
Oh hey, you're right. I never noticed.

It only appears for about a second or two before the "Quietly Brilliant" screen.
HTC One [UL / Stock JB 4.1.2]
HTC One X [LTE X325a / Retired]
Asus Transformer [TF101-B1-B60 / Retired]
HTC Desire [GSM A8182 / Retired]
HTC Hero [GSM Black / Retired]

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Android Wear App Review: Command Google Now with Commandr – XDA Developer TV

OK Google. Make Me a sandwich. How many times have you … more

Play Your Hits and Learn the Lyrics with NextGen Music Player

There are plenty of music players for Android available in Play Store. They … more

Control Your Toast Notifications with SlicedToasts

Toasts are delicious, even in their Android flavor. In Android, toast doesn’t lead … more

Rotation Lets You Take Full Control of Your Device’s Orientation Settings

To be brutally honest, the native options for screen … more